Old 10th September 2020, 18:50   #646

re: My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha : Stage 3 Wolf (~200 HP / 420 NM). EDIT : 5 years & 72,000 km up!

Hit the roads again after 6 months / 60k Kms service done

Kerala has finally opened up the borders and I didn't miss this chance to meet my S-Cross .

I drove to Kasaragod in my SX4 with all the parts needed to service S-Cross. I had missed only engine coolant which I decided to get from Maruti haha.

Put everything in S-Cross and left for Service!!
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_181220.jpg

Observations / Repairs / Replacements:

Dixcel slotted rotors are getting transformed into plain rotors
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_112435.jpg

The slots could be hardly felt now, disc thickness has reduced. I have driven less than 20k kms with these rotors and they cost a bomb, around 33k. Not really happy with dixcel products. EBC brakes are much much better for a reason. Anyways I will use these rotors for some more time.

Left lower arm needs to be replaced soon
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_122416.jpg

The bush has cracked, it will give up fully anytime. Part was not in stock, will source it ASAP.

Engine oil leak detected
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_113939_1.jpg

Nothing major as per the mechanic. It was from engine oil dipstick area, sealed the leak using glue.

EBC Ultimax-2 rear pads after 10k Kms
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_110742.jpg

Pads were taken out for inspection and cleaning. I am happy to see there was more than 50 % life left unlike dixcel rear pads which had uneven wear and done in just 8k Kms.

EBC Yellow stuff installed at Front
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_125328.jpg

Turbo to IC hose damage
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_120245_1.jpg

This is a well known issue in S-Cross 1.6, Maruti engineers should have provided some kind of protection as this hose keeps hitting the AC pipe at 2 locations and gets damaged on long term.

I had a spare hose and used it. Mechanic got a good idea and he cut open the old hose and wrapped it around new hose securing it with zip ties which will prevent this long term damage.

My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_120746.jpg

We did few WOT high speed runs and this fix stayed intact. Leoshashi has shared a brilliant idea too to use a part from Maruti 800, details are posted on this same thread before. We didn't have that part in stock and used this Jugaad!!

Didn't click pics of other jobs. Changed all fluids and filters. All brake calipers pins were greased with Toyota caliper grease.

How much did I pay at Maruti?

I paid for PMS + Hygiene Charge + Coolant. 3000 + 250 + 550 = Rs. 3800

Happy with the service done but Maruti has increased the labour charges a lot in last 5 years. This is the first time I am paying 3k+ for PMS in a rural tier C city.

Had clicked this pic when I saw the car today after 6 months!!!!
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200910_184838.jpg

Shall update on new brakes, engine oil etc after a week!!
Dr.Naren is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 12th September 2020, 17:54   #647

re: My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha : Stage 3 Wolf (~200 HP / 420 NM). EDIT : 5 years & 72,000 km up!

Due to sudden change of plans, I got to drive the car for more than 300 Kms in last 2 days and I am back to Manipal in S-Cross

Mobil 1 0W40

I didn't notice much difference immediately after oil change. The engine felt smoother after driving for around 50 Kms. I can say it's better than Maruti 0W30 engine oil.

Liqui Moly Oil Treatment

I wanted to get Ceratec as I was happy with the results in my SX4. But, I came across this much cheaper product from Liqui Moly and wanted to give it a try.

My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200911_170446_1.jpg

I had driven around 150 kms with new engine oil and then used the oil treatment to check if it makes any difference. Yes it does, engine is much smoother at higher revvs. I am happy!!

EBC Yellow stuff pads + Liqui Moly Dot 5.1 brake fluid

I am very impressed with the results. Pedal feel is just amazing and the initial bite is kickass. I didn't do aggressive braking as the pads are still in bedding in period.

Turbo to IC hose jugaad

It's working fine. No issues. I will anyways source the part from Maruti 800 and get it fixed properly.

Clicked this pic few minutes back
My Maruti S-Cross 1.6L Alpha | Stage 3 Wolf (202 HP / 438 Nm) | EDIT : Sold - Pg 61-img_20200912_160358_1.jpg  

Dr.Naren is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 12th September 2020, 18:19   #648

Looking forward to an extensive review of the EBC Yellow stuff!

Do share the price you paid and it's performance after consecutive hard stops and whether it out performs the MRF Perfinzas during hard braking. I've been eyeing these for some time. It was twice the price of the OEM pads and was wondering whether it's worth it.
Old 12th September 2020, 18:39   #649

Originally Posted by Turbohead View Post
Looking forward to an extensive review of the EBC Yellow stuff!
Sure thing!!

Do share the price you paid and it's performance after consecutive hard stops and whether it out performs the MRF Perfinzas during hard braking. I've been eyeing these for some time. It was twice the price of the OEM pads and was wondering whether it's worth it.
I paid around 12k for these pads. Yellow stuff doesn't cost this much for other cars in this segment. These pads were meant for 350Z, I guess that's why the price is high.
Dr.Naren is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th September 2020, 12:09   #650

I think your ownership thread is undoubtedly one of the best reference materials for S-Cross owners ranging from parts, its quality, issues, solutions to the car and its performance itself. Great work here man!
sudeepg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2020, 12:31   #651

Originally Posted by sudeepg View Post
I think your ownership thread is undoubtedly one of the best reference materials for S-Cross owners ranging from parts, its quality, issues, solutions to the car and its performance itself. Great work here man!
Thank you

Few more mods are pending, thanks to Covid-19 and I had not driven the car for 6 months. S-Cross is my daily drive now and loving it
Old 20th September 2020, 15:50   #652

What a detailed thread for S-Cross owners!!!
Had a question Naren, I want to carry my own engine oil during the PMS. But the MASS says that if they open a PMS job then they have to replace oil and that should be procured there itself.
Are they right or are they bluffing? Because I can see you carried your own oil but yet you had a PMS job.
Old 20th September 2020, 16:39   #653

Originally Posted by puneetakhouri View Post
Are they right or are they bluffing? Because I can see you carried your own oil but yet you had a PMS job.
It depends on your rapport with service center guys. I had given them most of the parts and the same was mentioned on the bill as supplied by customer.

I would say dealer is right if they don't agree to install non Maruti parts, you can't force them to as it's officially not allowed.
Dr.Naren is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th September 2020, 19:46   #654

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
Happy Diwali from SX4 and SX4 S-Cross!!
When I read the above post and saw the pic, I was planning to suggest something. However I saw in the below post you already did that.

It took some time to swap. Dad helped me with this. SX4 has 205/60 R16 Falken tyres and they have more than 70 percent tread left. My SX4 is not even used, gearbox synchro has gone kaput again. This will be fixed only after few months.

The outcome has exceeded my expectations. Both the cars are looking nice .
Attachment 1741693
Attachment 1741692

SX4 and S-Cross are siblings. Most of the parts are shared. The tyre specs are same too. I can drive peacefully in my S-Cross now. It just took little time and energy, totally worth it!
The car is back to Continental MC5 and Machine finished alloy wheels of Brezza.
You should have kept the SX4 Alloys.

Mission Fail

We faced only one issue and that is the major one as the steering won't be functional

XL6 steering has larger hole and doesn't fit tight on S-Cross column.

Attachment 1950068

All the functions like audio, call buttons and cruise were working. There was no issue with airbag too as both XL6 and S-Cross have similar units from Nippon Japan.

The steering did look very good , you can also see the cruise light on

Attachment 1950069

Hope it fits in my Baleno
Didn't you have a similar experience trying to fit a Dzire steering on the Baleno?

I have been following all your threads. However I read the entire thread today as I came across a stock 15K run S-Cross 1.6 Zeta for sale today.
pedrolourenco is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2020, 19:51   #655

Originally Posted by pedrolourenco View Post
You should have kept the SX4 Alloys.
I agree . Might do it again!!

Didn't you have a similar experience trying to fit a Dzire steering on the Baleno?
It was a successful swap in Baleno

I have been following all your threads. However I read the entire thread today as I came across a stock 15K run S-Cross 1.6 Zeta for sale today.
Rare find it is, 15k kms run in 5 years!!
Dr.Naren is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th September 2020, 19:56   #656

I agree . Might do it again!!
Great

It was a successful swap in Baleno
I need to read the thread again

Rare find it is, 15k kms run in 5 years!!
True. First time seeing one on sale. I messaged the guy. Will check it out one of these days. Now that I know what all you have done to it, it's looking interesting.
Sorry it's 18 K Kms.

Last edited by pedrolourenco : 20th September 2020 at 19:59.
Old 21st September 2020, 08:17   #657

Superb updates Naren. My car is due for it's 35k (1-year service) and I couldn't have been happier to see all updates in one thread. Thank you for that!

A few questions:

I have stuck to Amsoil's 5W30 so far. Do you think it's safer to switch to Mobil1 or Amsoil is good enough?

What's the interval for Gearbox oil, coolant and diesel filter replacement? Shall I do it this time around? What's the grade for the gearbox oil?

I had picked up Ceratec around a year ago. Plan to dump it in the engine this time around.

Could you please help me with the source for EBC brake pads, diesel and engine oil filters that you procured. Sounds like VFM stuff. Is it as reliable as OEM?

Plan to service the car at home itself, any precautions to take?

Too many questions.
moralfibre is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2020, 09:39   #658

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
I have stuck to Amsoil's 5W30 so far. Do you think it's safer to switch to Mobil1 or Amsoil is good enough?
I would say there is no need to switch if you are happy with the current engine oil. Amsoil is pretty good too.

What's the interval for Gearbox oil, coolant and diesel filter replacement? Shall I do it this time around? What's the grade for the gearbox oil?
20,000 Km / 2 years for coolant and diesel filter.

Gear oil change is recommended by Maruti at 1.6 lakhs km / 10 years. The grade is 75W-80 and the capacity is 2.1 litres. I am planning to change at 80k kms. I don't think it's necessary for your 35k Kms run car. It's Suzuki gear oil imported from Japan.

Could you please help me with the source for EBC brake pads, diesel and engine oil filters that you procured. Sounds like VFM stuff. Is it as reliable as OEM?
I got the Zip filters from Boodmo. They are a decent local brand and in business for many years, I expect them to be as reliable as OEM. EBC Pads were procured from GT Motorwerks. You can DM them on Instagram.

Plan to service the car at home itself, any precautions to take?
Engine oil filter removal and installation is not very easy thanks to the location. Lot of oil gets spilled on drive shaft boots and it needs to be cleaned immediately.

Cheers!!
Dr.Naren is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st September 2020, 16:16   #659

Mission Fail

XL6 steering has larger hole and doesn't fit tight on S-Cross column.

The steering did look very good , you can also see the cruise light on
Hello Sir,
Firstly thank you for being the guiding light for S-cross owners like me.
I own 1.3 alpha 1st Gen. Current ODO reading stands at ~97,000 kms. It's currently used by my father for his home-office-home commute. It's in stock form as of now.
Recently got it's synchronizer rings and clutch plate changed just like your SX4. Regular servicing at FNG has kept the mechanicals in decent shape. There are scratches and dents that needs to be taken care of. Then there are rattles inside that need attention. Other than that leather wrapping on Steering wheel has shown its true colors literally .

So, now that XL6 steering isn't a direct fit on our S-cross, other than the OEM part replacement or an after market leather-wrap on top of this damaged one, what options do we have?

Chirag.
Old 21st September 2020, 18:25   #660

Originally Posted by chintu_91 View Post
So, now that XL6 steering isn't a direct fit on our S-cross, other than the OEM part replacement or an after market leather-wrap on top of this damaged one, what options do we have?
After market leather wrap is the best available option. Many S-Cross owners have done that. I don't have a good shop to do that perfectly in my area. I will get it done when I drive to Bangalore or Kochi.
Dr.Naren is offline   (2) Thanks