Old 6th June 2016, 09:55   #16

Re: 2005 Toyota Innova 2.5L - 11 years & 2,40,000 km

This is the way a Toyota is supposed to be used. Odos on Toyotas need to be in the five digit figures. The ending was very nice, with how the Crysta is replacing the workhorse you already own. Adipoli!
Old 6th June 2016, 11:34   #17

Dear Philip Mathew, this is a very touching post indeed.
I am sure, your dad will be proud of you.
Old 6th June 2016, 18:53   #18

Touching review this one Philip. Excellent write up. Duly rated your thread 5 stars.
It is absolutely thrilling to see a car maintained brilliantly over 10-11 years and in such a pristine condition. This Innova of yours is good to go for another 240k.
Keep mile munching.
Old 7th June 2016, 09:40   #19

Excellent review. Am not surprised to find the Innova going strong even after 10 years. My employer too has couple of Innovas (run more than 4 lac on the odo) strictly maintained and driven only by trained drivers. I am still to hear a breakdown or a rattle considering their age. Am sure the car will serve you again for another 10 years without any issues. Congrats for the new Crysta.
Old 7th June 2016, 10:16   #20

Amazing write up Philip.Mathew!, a nice review about your car and it’s modification. Sad that you are planning to sell your old Innova.

Congratulations on your new car . Hoping to see the Initial ownership thread of your new Crysta soon.

abhayankara
Old 7th June 2016, 13:59   #21

Lovely write up Philip. Great to see that you have inherited the love of cars from your dad. Rated 5 stars!
Ashok
Old 7th June 2016, 15:02   #22

Dear Philip,

Congratulations for such a nice writeup. Your Beloved father seems to be our age, and fortunately, had bought the same vehicle, same model, same colour, same year 2005, but in different location, that is Jaipur, Rajasthan.
I also had upgraded from indica v2 (still with me, 1,80,000 km.) due to my long distance travel from Delhi to Jaipur on regular basis. When i saw your fathers photo in the "condolences" page, put up by fellow BRETHREN "STEEROID" on 7th Nov, 2005, it reminded me of my eldest son who, is no more with us. (it seems you, in the lap, and cottage seems the one among the many in the homestays).

In 2005, Innova was the "in thing" and mostly bought by rich people, (Seniors will agree), but a few; 'young, and self made' did buy the innova, bypassing the rage of the country, 'Scorpio' and the 'Chevrolet badge'. A very very wise decision, in retrospect, indeed, when you see those horror stories of the initial mark 1 Scorpio, and the vanishing tribes of the Tavera. All equally priced though.

Can you enlighten all innova gold class owners (2005 - 2007), what else did you change or encounter other than the a.c. , v belts, timing chain, suspension, bulbs, brakes & tyres.

Any clutch, gear related, brake master cylinders, brake linings, rubber hose pipes, wheel bearings, pumps etc. I too am facing the ac cooling problem, but my service station, is unable to pinpoint the leakage, and gives a enormous bill for opening the whole ac system. perhaps a copy of the bill will, which i am sure is kept at your office will do the trick.

Once again, congratulations to BRAVE - HEARTS (you, your Mom, Grandmother and the family).

Thanx in advance.

dr. sen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2016, 20:36   #23

A lovely thread and car, Philip.Mathew! This is deeper than a regular review, it is straight from the heart.

Sudden demise of your father must have been tough on your family and I applaud you guys kicking back after such heavy loss. Heartening to see you carry forward your father's love towards automobiles.

No wonder about odo reading on your Innova. Your family have got a thing for getting the max mileage from your cars and it's good to see you utilizing them to fullest. Toyotas seem to be leading the pack.

Great choice of wheels in your garage. Hope you are enjoying the Crysta and TSi power as well now! Wish you million happy miles with both.

PS. will keep your homestay in my list next time I am travelling in God's Own Country.
Old 7th June 2016, 22:29   #24

I had always wondered what this famous 'Toyota reliability' was all about, especially when I read about it on tbhp and on other forums online. None of it made sense, until I drove my grandad's Altis, which has run about 1.8 lakh km in about five years. I can say nothing more about it than that it still felt near brand new to drive, with near no rattles, nothing.

Now suddenly posts like yours and so many others make so so much sense to me! beautifully written review, this, and good luck with both your Crysta and the homestay, Philip!
AbelAFC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2016, 12:27   #25

Absolutely well written.
For once seemed as long as the ODO reading but later it was fun reading it all.

Just curious looking at that garage, are those Automated garage door (similar to ones in US that people have )
Really loved them, except safety can be a concern.
Old 8th June 2016, 13:46   #26

Originally Posted by FIAT3031 View Post
Just curious looking at that garage, are those Automated garage door (similar to ones in US that people have )
Really loved them, except safety can be a concern.
OT :

Here's the thread for these doors.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/other-...rs-cochin.html
biggrin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2016, 16:36   #27

Dear Philip,

As some members already mentioned, I met your dad ,as well as, the Innova during the 1st team BHP meet in Kerala ( at Metropolitan Hotel - kochi).

I am very happy to see that you have inherited your dad's love for cars.

Your post is special to me and Steeroid , which I am sure Steeroid will explain to you when he gets in touch with you.
artofzen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th June 2016, 22:03   #28

Hi philip, it was just awesome reading your thread. You have maintained your dad's car in pristine condition. It's amazing to see that you have so many miles on the odo but the problems after that are negligible. That's what Toyota car are famous for. I am hoping you will be adding many more miles with it.
Loved the pic of the two beast standing together. Would love to see a comparison of both the cars. Would be waiting for it.
Old 13th June 2016, 11:16   #29

Hi Philip,

That was indeed am emotionally well written long term review, something which people like me, who have an Innova, would always love to read. As other members have suggested, please do write a review on the new one too. Hoping you achieve another milestone on your Innova. Cheers Mate!!!
Old 25th July 2016, 11:44   #30

Originally Posted by AbelAFC View Post
I had always wondered what this famous 'Toyota reliability' was all about, especially when I read about it on tbhp and on other forums online. None of it made sense, until I drove my grandad's Altis, which has run about 1.8 lakh km in about five years. I can say nothing more about it than that it still felt near brand new to drive, with near no rattles, nothing.

Now suddenly posts like yours and so many others make so so much sense to me! beautifully written review, this, and good luck with both your Crysta and the homestay, Philip!
August 2010 Innova. Done 285,000 Kilometers in the last 6 years. Looks and drives not more than a couple of years old.

I probably drove about 50% of the total and the other half having driven by the drivers.

None of the other cars I've had before this managed to go over 100,000 and still remain a decent drive.

To be honest, I didn't think it was possible to put this much mileage on a car in India and still have it in reasonable shape. Especially the suspension, which hasn't required even a look up yet.

Totally in awe of Toyota. The quality of product and servicing is beyong compare. Makes me want to own atleast one Toyota vehicle throughout the rest of my driving life.
Getafix is offline   (1) Thanks