Old 3rd September 2007, 12:08   #91

, I can only laugh at this, can it take almost a decade to refine a vehicle, although I am aware that the engines changed jobs inbetween, but still.

I will too keep my fingers crossed and pray daily for Safari to come up to a respectable level of quality, right from the assembly lines to its owners.

Originally Posted by doctorkats View Post
someday my pal you will..... (i'm keeping my fingers crossed).
Old 3rd September 2007, 15:51   #92

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
he say i can get another innova :(
Ha ha ha... And my dad says - Get a pre-owned Qualis :( Yet to convince him for a Safari.
Old 3rd September 2007, 19:33   #93

all right 15500 km service is due soon any time now. Have already crossed 15k mark with my dicor.. Everything is normal now except few rattles here and there. Driver side glass window is due for warranty replacement due to some manufacturing defect in it, nothing to do with daily use but hell who cares as long as its under warranty.

I am really tired of the lousy OVRMS which is a pain to look at in rains. Next rains i am going to put rainx on them.
Swift/indicas ovrms are much better as they have a nice broad and deep shelter which doesnt allow water to directly drop on the mirror surface(if anyone owns then, they'll understand what i mean )

Mileage holding steady with pure adulterated diesels of Pune @11kmpl 60:40%AC and terrible city traffic. Planning to get the fuel tank and fuel filter cleaned this service.

Damn autos and bikers have made theirs minor logos on the front bumper, so a carry boy guard or a steel bull bar is in planning. ( i hate minor scratches/dents on the bumper though nothing much can be done about them but this bar may reduce them)

So far so good..Will update this (Dicor LX 4x2 (Passion Red) Finally ) thread as soon as i get over with 3rd service.

PS: any pointers i need to take notice of in third service LongTerm Dicor Owners ?

Last edited by Rahulk76 : 3rd September 2007 at 19:37.
Old 3rd September 2007, 23:12   #94

Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
I am really tired of the lousy OVRMS which is a pain to look at in rains. Next rains i am going to put rainx on them.
Swift/indicas ovrms are much better ...

PS: any pointers i need to take notice of in third service LongTerm Dicor Owners ?
You're right about the ORVMs. They can get painful in the rain. I sometimes switch on the rear defogger which also heats the mirrors - does help.

Pointers - nope, except for any specific issues that you may have.
Old 4th September 2007, 09:17   #95

Originally Posted by dicorex4x4 View Post
You're right about the ORVMs. They can get painful in the rain. I sometimes switch on the rear defogger which also heats the mirrors - does help.
Lucky you guys who have EX..LX doesnt come with RearDefogger and Heated OVRMS
Old 4th September 2007, 09:26   #96

@rahul:just curious, what went wrong with the driver side glass?
Old 4th September 2007, 10:40   #97

Originally Posted by doctorkats View Post
@rahul:just curious, what went wrong with the driver side glass?
its chipped from the inside side on the top. Its there from day1. I had asked them to replace it, but there werent in stock. So it just got delayed and delayed. Its scrubbing the interior linings. Initially I had a tough time explaining that to the dealer, then they agreed to replace it. Took some pics for warranty claim and sent it to TATA. Then Tata also agreed to manufacturing defect. Therefore the replacement.
Old 15th September 2007, 08:14   #98

MODS: Please update the title of the thread to Dicor LX 4x2 (Passion Red) @15000KM

Allright the SUV is back from its third service & it costed approx 100/- only

All things done @15K service. Major rattling and sqeaks have gone now.

At every service, they grease the idler arm and oil the release bearings of the clutch

Chargables were only brakefluid and coolant topup. I wonder why y the hose clip of the water pump gets loosened again and again

Few things were changed U.W like,
  • Rubber bush bottm link and bushing for lowerlink. They were showing excessive wear therefore replaced. It feels more tauter now.
  • The RHS Headlamp assembly had some moisture accumulated and was replaced U.W. on my insistance though not a showstopper.
  • & finally a new OEM window glass on the driver side.
Everything else is ok except that i am worried about the clutch thing. I guess I need to take second opinion on that from someone else.

Overall I am satisfied with its performance than before

Will update this thread soon with more details

Last edited by normally_crazy : 15th September 2007 at 11:11. Reason: Not more than 2 smilie allowed
Old 17th September 2007, 09:51   #99

Great going, Rahulk76! Update from my side: 18000 km done, no issues. I repeat, on the highway, sticking to 2000 rpm in 5th (115 kph) yields the best results. This speed is very relaxed cruising for the Safari. 14 kpl with A/C on.
Old 17th September 2007, 22:34   #100

Hi dicorex4x4:

Thats really wonderfull milege you are extracting from it

Yaar yeha pune ke traffic mein 115kmph to nahi but phir bhi 15kmph @2nd gear 70% time with 50% a/c mein dus-gyarah milege manage ho jata hai... Nov is time i am contemplating some good long runs.. Lonavla/mahabaleshwar etc etc. I would like to see how this thing behaves. BTW Havent seen your LTR on your EX.

After the engine bay wash, The engine oil Light is acting up, sometimes its comes on and then slowly dims away.Possible the oil pressure switch needs a compressed air whack. Need to visit the service station to take care about this. (engine oil is holding steady at the upper mark of the dipstick.)

Rahul

Last edited by Rahulk76 : 17th September 2007 at 22:46. Reason: EDIT
Old 3rd October 2007, 14:04   #101

Update: 19500 km, no issues. Due for 4th (20K km) service in a week's time. Will definitely get around to putting up an LTR.
Old 18th October 2007, 11:58   #102

Update: 20900 km, no issues except for a blown 10A fuse (reverse and stop lamps). Am having to wait till the end of the month for a service appointment - works manager doesn't have a problem if the vehicle comes in for the 20K service with 21 - 22K on the clock.
Old 5th November 2007, 11:49   #103

Update: 21400 km, 4th service carried out last week - had complained about the clutch pedal becoming very hard of late - clutch slave cylinder replaced under warranty. Oh, and the usual centre pin greasing for noise when the steering is turned full lock (not for extended periods, during routine tight turns).

Funny situation wrt service: No booking for Indica / Indigo. Waiting period for Safari / Sumo is huge. This is for the service appointment.
Old 5th November 2007, 12:52   #104

Originally Posted by dicorex4x4 View Post
Update: 21400 km, 4th service carried out last week - had complained about the clutch pedal becoming very hard of late - clutch slave cylinder replaced under warranty. Oh, and the usual centre pin greasing for noise when the steering is turned full lock (not for extended periods, during routine tight turns).

Funny situation wrt service: No booking for Indica / Indigo. Waiting period for Safari / Sumo is huge. This is for the service appointment.
Excellent.. Can you care to share the details of the 20k service carried out as well as the costs involved
Old 9th November 2007, 15:52   #105

Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
Excellent.. Can you care to share the details of the 20k service carried out as well as the costs involved
Why not?

Fevi Bond 38.22
Engine Oil 7l 1132.46
Power Steering Oil 1.5l 224.00
Differential Oil 2.2l 348.08
Oil Filter 213.97
Air Filter 446.83
Wheel Weights 233.33
Clutch Slave cylinder 0.00 (Warranty)
Brake Oil 0.25l 65.78
Super Glue 38.22
Emery Sheet 15.06