Old 9th December 2019, 05:52   #76

re: Scarlett comes home - My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4. EDIT: 1 year & 42,186 kms up!

Originally Posted by arun_josie View Post
Here is a pic of the oil level. This was 5 minutes after turning off the engine.(warmed up engine)
Thanks Arun for taking the picture and replying. The oil level looks full..From this what I have concluded is that after taking out the dipstick you have to check by seeing it horizontally and if we see by holding the dipstick in semi horizontal position like we hold it casually the oil quickly goes to bottom level. But Jeep has introduced this strange method to check oil level as people usually check oil in the morning on a cold engine and then as it doesn't show any oil on dipstick as a result one gets worried and confronts the service center. To avoid such confrontation or due to their own ignorance they have started filling more quantity of oil then specified.
Sad to see your windscreen glass crack expanding.Hope you have not pressed the area around it as it usually settles if we don't touch or press it for some days.

Last edited by Sandeep500 : 9th December 2019 at 05:54.
Sandeep500 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2019, 09:23   #77

re: Scarlett comes home - My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4. EDIT: 1 year & 42,186 kms up!

Hi Arun, I see in one of the pics the Petronas windshield washer fluid concentrate. How much does it cost? Is it available over the counter if a non-jeep owner wants to purchase it?
Old 10th December 2019, 08:49   #78

Meanwhile the crack on the front windshield has started expanding. This was after parking the car under sunlight, probably I should have lowered the windows a little. Now I have no other option but to get this replaced.

Attachment 1943963
You can consider visiting Asahi windshield experts. They claim they can make it make it look as new.
Old 10th December 2019, 16:31   #79

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Hi Arun, I see in one of the pics the Petronas windshield washer fluid concentrate. How much does it cost? Is it available over the counter if a non-jeep owner wants to purchase it?
Its around 300/- I am not sure on whether they sell it to non-jeep owners.

Originally Posted by bharatbits View Post
You can consider visiting Asahi windshield experts. They claim they can make it make it look as new.
The crack has expanded a lot. So not sure if workarounds will help.
Old 24th December 2019, 20:56   #80

The ODO has hit the 33,333 milestone.

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-33333.png

No issues as such except for the windscreen replacement. I was supposed to get this replaced last week, however the one that was ordered was delivered at PPS/MPS motors with some damages. Right now, they have recieved one more but I am out of station. So, will get it replaced once I am back to Bangalore.

A much needed water wash after 4K Kms/40 days (@Carzspa, Nagercoil)

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-img_20191222_131209924.jpg

Somewhere on the highway (Trichy - Madurai) stretch.

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-img_20191223_142319286_hdr.jpg

Wishing everyone a wonderful holiday season. Merry Christmas Everyone!

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-whatsapp-image-20191224-8.39.55-pm.jpeg

Last edited by arun_josie : 24th December 2019 at 20:57.
arun_josie is online now   (18) Thanks
Old 25th December 2019, 01:27   #81

Nice to see you enjoying your drive in your lovingly kept beautifull car. Seeing your blog I think few more persons will jump on the jeep bandwagon. Awesome pics as usual.
Sandeep500 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2019, 12:31   #82

No issues as such except for the windscreen replacement. I was supposed to get this replaced last week, however the one that was ordered was delivered at PPS/MPS motors with some damages. Right now, they have recieved one more but I am out of station. So, will get it replaced once I am back to Bangalore.
Are you certain this is caused by external damage and not manufacturing defect? I had a similar incident with my Ecosport. The car was at service center and had it back in the evening, it was all clear. Next day I see a crack and there is absolutely no external damage/chipping around. After a brief argument with service center and Ford, they agreed to replace under warranty.
PrideRed is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 28th December 2019, 11:32   #83

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
Are you certain this is caused by external damage and not manufacturing defect? I had a similar incident with my Ecosport. The car was at service center and had it back in the evening, it was all clear. Next day I see a crack and there is absolutely no external damage/chipping around. After a brief argument with service center and Ford, they agreed to replace under warranty.
There is a impact as seen in the below pic. I noticed this while returning from Mumbai. So, in my opinion this doesn't look to be a manufacturing defect and hence I didn't push for warranty replacement.
Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-16.jpeg  

arun_josie is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 31st December 2019, 17:17   #84

A regulation drive to home town and back to bangalore. This trip also included some drives to Trichy, Kanyakumari beach and Trivandrum. Overall, 2567.6 Kms of happy driving.

FE of 14.1, this is good considering the overall traffic conditions. Lot of idling too. Also, ODO inching towards 35,000 Kms

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-img_20191230_202453927.jpg

Some random clicks during this trip

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-1.jpg

Near Kanyakumari

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-2.jpg

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-3.jpg

The man and the machine

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-4.jpg

Wishing everyone a happy new year 2020 and many more happy and safe miles!

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-whatsapp-image-20191231-2.15.39-pm.jpeg
arun_josie is online now   (25) Thanks
Old 1st January 2020, 21:07   #85

Nice car. The scarlet colour of FCA is leagues ahead of the competition. Sturdy ride and handling and robust build quality is synonymous with brand name 'Jeep'. Kindly elucidate on the 4x4 drive and engine refinement.
ritedhawan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2020, 20:01   #86

Originally Posted by ritedhawan View Post
Nice car. The scarlet colour of FCA is leagues ahead of the competition. Sturdy ride and handling and robust build quality is synonymous with brand name 'Jeep'. Kindly elucidate on the 4x4 drive and engine refinement.

I own a Compass 4x4 too and thanks largely to Arun for expediting my buying and also to inspire me to buy a 4x4.

2.0 L Multijet engine continues its legacy like the 1.3 MJD which will undoubtedly be crowned as the National Engine once again in the BS6 era.
I enjoy driving it everywhere be it on the tarmac or off the tarmac.

In this post i will focus largely on the hits and misses of the 4x4 Compass.
As mentioned in the Team BHP review , this 4x4 is not suitable for hardcore offroading mainly for 3 reasons.
>Approach and Departure Angle
> No Hill Descent Control
> Not Trail Rated

When there are so many misses , Should we still try to prove that we can do proper off-roading ? The answer is a strict NO

Then what can we do with this particular variant in the line up.
1) Mild Slush
2) Snow
3) Sand
4) Gradual Hill Climbs ( read not steep )

I am awaiting more questions from you so that we can better understand your requirements in case you planning to buy one.
laddz1121 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th January 2020, 21:19   #87

Windscreen replacement has been done and all is fine so for. Overall, it took less than 24 hours to get the car back including the insurance process. I hold the insurance from Royal Sundaram.

The cost of the Windscreen is 20K including the labor charges. For Limited Plus variant, it costs another 5-6K.

I had to pay 2K from my pocket.

Before replacement the crack got extended further. It was getting extended due to heat when parked under sun.

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-img_20200102_145729565.jpg

A clean view after replacement

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-img_20200104_132902915_hdr.jpg

2019 windscreen has this nice touch of Jeep decal

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-jeep-decal.png

I also got the Wheel Alignment/Balancing done from Madhus Tyre Centre - Wilson Garden. Their new place is very spacious with more pits for Wheel alignment and more wheel balancing machines.

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-wab1.png

Scarlett comes home | My Jeep Compass Limited (O) 4x4 | EDIT: 1,40,000 km up!-wab3.png

Originally Posted by laddz1121 View Post
I own a Compass 4x4 too and thanks largely to Arun for expediting my buying and also to inspire me to buy a 4x4.
Thanks for sharing your feedback, Pradeep. Our drive is still pending :-).
arun_josie is online now   (13) Thanks
Old 12th January 2020, 21:56   #88

Planning to complete 1 lakh kms within the first year?

For Limited Plus variant, it costs another 5-6K.
Why so?

Also, the windshield looks a little thin in the first picture. Is that the case or the crack was rather unfortunate?

2019 windscreen has this nice touch of Jeep decal
Nice touch.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th January 2020, 22:06   #89

Why so?
Auto headlamp and Rain sensors.
DRIV3R is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th January 2020, 22:06   #90

Why so?
Rain sensors for the auto wipers.

Also, the windshield looks a little thin in the first picture. Is that the case or the crack was rather unfortunate?
How can you make out it is thin from pic? Looks like a normal windshield.
Vid6639 is offline   (5) Thanks