|
Search this Thread | 451,531 views |
7th August 2024, 13:58 | #361 |
Distinguished - BHPian | re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! Got the car back on Saturday evening, after sorting out the key fob issue and post repairs. 10 hours later, the car was back on the road for a day trip to Jog falls. My first view of Jog falls was in Nov 2020. It was massive but the flow of water was very less, as expected. Naturally, I was curious to see it at it's full glory. With Karnataka receiving a lot of rains, all it's dams are full and releasing water, including the Linganamakki reservoir. For the previous Sunday (the day of accident), me and wife were torn between Mallalli and Jog until wife suggested we choose the nearer one - Mallalli. And the rest is history. As the car was back in time, Jog Falls was back on cards for this Sunday. Started around 4:30AM, picked up my brother and family, off we went. With most of the ORR being closed during night, we went via the city till Yeswantpur. All BHPians had unanimously voted the Chitradurga - Shimoga - Sagara - Jog falls route and I stuck to it. Apart from a very small section with some uneven road and stray potholes between Sira and Nelamangala, the road was flawless through. I was telling others how the roads within Chitradurga or Shimoga or even Sagara were several times better than what we have here in Bangalore! Breakfast break was at the newly opened A2B. Reached at 6:45AM and they already had all the items ready. And we were not among their first customers of the day, 6-7 cars had already been serviced and left before us. Clean place, tasty food, clean washrooms, ample parking and right next to an exit on the highway. Blooming sunflower fields are a must stop for the ladies and non-negotiable. Vast stretches of yellow with windmills in the background make quite a view. It started raining as we crossed Sagara. Reached Jog by around 12PM. As expected, lot of tourists and their cars and umbrella/poncho sellers kept the place busy. Found some parking eventually, put on our ponchos and waded through the crowd to get a glimpse of the mighty falls. The waterfalls were covered completely with fog and so we waited. After good 20 mins, the fog lifted slightly and the fury of falls were a sight to witness. The fog kept coming back for close to 2 hours that we there. Had our lunch at the Mayura hotel on site - average food and below average ambience. Left around 2:30PM and proceeded to the other end where one can view the falls from the Jog British Bungalow premises. Again some struggle with parking, ponchos on and we spent some time there as the falls played hide and seek behind the fog. Around 3:30PM, we started the return leg. One stop to enjoy some juicy Shimoga pineapples, stopped at a few fresh grown fields, one tea break post Shimoga and a dinner break at Paakashala (Chitradurga). Food was good but the place isn't too tidy. Refueled after Tumkur, took the NICE road and reached home 1AM. ~900 km day trip in ~20 hrs. Last edited by ashis89 : 7th August 2024 at 14:02. |
(10) Thanks |
The following 10 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | CentreOfGravity, chanz2015, Col Mehta, dailydriver, Dr.AD, guyfrmblr, RavenAvi, RJ2285, srvm, subie_socal |
|
12th August 2024, 23:40 | #362 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2020 Location: WB66
| re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! Ashis, I am sorry to ask a completely unrelated question. Do you face any issues with the local police, driving an out of state vehicle in Bengaluru? Thanks in advance. |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank RoadAtlas for this useful post: | ashis89, subie_socal |
21st August 2024, 18:47 | #363 |
Distinguished - BHPian | re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! BLR - HYD - GOA - BLRDid a trip to Goa over the Independence day weekend, my third one in a row (2022 and 2023). But this one was different in many ways. 1. It was a boys trip, just 4 old friends (later 5). 2. A different route taken: Bangalore -> Hyderabad -> Goa. Even there, we chose the unexplored Solapur - Sangli - Amboli route. Total distance of exactly 2000 kms. 3. Two legs of the trip were done at night. 4. Stayed in North Goa and didn't get to see Salaulim dam unlike the previous 3 trips! The whole trip was without an itinerary except for the travel dates. 5. Five full size adults traveled together in one car While the plan had been brewing since the past several months, it was finally acted upon in July when we booked a place to stay and unanimously decided, it had to be a road trip in one car. Later, a friend's BIL was visiting him in August and he too tagged along. On August 13th, I finished my office work and started off around 8:30PM. Picked up my friend and then we were off towards Hyderabad. Around 11PM near Chikkaballapur, we stopped by the road for some homemade aloo paratha that I got and some prawns that he got. Topped up some diesel into Coyote and resumed the journey. It was 6:30AM when we reached Lingampally. Slept for few hours, worked for next few hours and then we were ready for the next leg. While the plan was to start by 8PM, one of us was stuck at office for long. Finally all 5 of us got together and started by 10:30PM. It was late and so we look the ORR and stopped at Patancheru for dinner. After some garlic naans, biryani and shawarmas were devoured, I topped up some diesel and then we were off towards Calangute. The roads are not bad. But they are not good too. Broken patches, uneven concrete roads, unmarked roads and unmarked barricades don't make it a pleasant experience to drive on, especially at night. Switched drivers every couple of hours and took some breaks. Also 3 in the back seat isn't comfortable at all, all thanks to the contoured seats. One isn't comfortable unless you get one contour to yourself (SCross, Kicks and Thar - other cars in group wouldn't have fared any better). It was 6AM by the time we had crossed Sangola and 8 when we crossed Chikodi. Spotted a beautiful lake near a hill top after crossing Chikodi and stopped there briefly Had breakfast near Sulgaon - vada pav, misal pav, dosa, poha and chaha! And then it started pouring heavily. As we neared Amboli, the visibility also came down Another stop at Amboli falls which is right next to the road And reached the resort in Calangute by 1PM, August 15th! 700 kms/12 hrs drive from Hyderabad Given the long drive, we decided not to step out that day and spent time at the resort only. Morning coffee with a view! The next morning, after a healthy dose of Mangalore buns, Ross omlette, and vada pav at Cafe Anand, some of us retired to work. Others jumped in the pool. Around 3PM, all of us drove to Querim beach, a rather calm and secluded beach. After a tasty lunch at a shack, we spent the evening at beach enjoying the sunset hues. It was so peaceful that we never realized it was 8PM (late sunset on the west coast). Lone vehicle at the Querim beach when we left (shacks still had their owners to give us company) Dinner was at Sungta by the Road, Morjim before driving back to the resort. It was 11:30PM already and one of us was too tired. So we left him to retire and rest 4 walked off to Baga beach which was 2 kms away. Even at midnight, we struggled to find space to walk. Traffic had piled up all through that 2km stretch, probably to get to Tito's. Spent few hours and had another dinner before walking back to the resort and retiring by 3:30AM. Next day had to be lazy. So we ordered our breakfast to our rooms and enjoyed it on the grass lawns outside. After several hours of fooling around in the pool, we were hungry again. So got ready and walked off to Britto's. It was 5:30PM and they were setting up the outdoor seating which we took up. By 9PM, tummies full, we were wondering what next? It was then that one of us remembered the deck of UNO cards that we had brought along. So we hurried but not missing out on some ice creams on the walk back. Ordered some more dinner and then started our war of cards. It was well past 1AM when we decided to call it a day. Next morning, we checked out by 9:30AM. That was an end to the wonderful Goa trip. After some breakfast nearby, fueled the car and headed to the Mopa airport to drop one of us who was flying back to Hyderabad. The other two had booked bus tickets for the ride back to Hyd and were supposed to board from Panaji in the evening. They had a lot of time to kill and hence, got off at Panaji junction to explore the markets in the area until 5:30PM boarding. And the last two of us, took the Mollen - Anmod - Hubli route to Bangalore. Lunch break was at Ramnagar, at the exact same place that we visited in 2022 during the then Goa trip. I knew the traffic would be high given most people returning home after the long weekend but I had underestimated it. Anmod ghat is beautiful and the roads are very much driveable for any kind of car. Beautiful coffee breaks! It was 12PM when we left Panaji. I felt the tide was not in our favor on the return leg. Two of the railway crossing were down and we had to wait for the train to cross. In half of the toll gates we crossed, our lane had delays of few to several minutes. A shunt/pileup of 4 cars between Dharwad and Hubli had created a long queue of vehicles which took time to cross. I thought the worst was over when we hit Hubbali. But NO! ETA of 11:55PM (which had further gone down to 11:30 before striking back with vengeance) Nearing Chitradurga, we saw the ETA kept on increasing and that too significantly. Scrolled through the map and saw a big congestion before Sira. So I suggested we prepone our dinner break which might give time for the congestion to clear up. Stopped at a small dhaba a few kms before Sira. As we resumed, Google still showed a +9 min congestion. And it took us good 35 mins to crawl through that congestion. Turned out to be a diversion due to bridge work which created a bottleneck on the road. An hour later and just before Tumkur, Google announced another congestion. This time it was more frank and claimed +47 min wait! And actually, it took us 68 mins to clear that spot. Again another diversion due to bridge work. In all, we must have idled for 2.5 hours waiting at various spots during the return trip. Dropped my friend and reached home by 2:30AM. Never had I seen a double digit mins congestion until that day. ETA reached 2AM Exactly an hour later, I was yet to hit the service road for diversion. Took me another 10 mins to finally make it across Odo crossed 85k on the way. Exactly 2k kms from start to finish. 13 hrs 40 mins of drive time for 660 kms Coyote badly needed a wash and I got it done at a FNG nearby Last edited by ashis89 : 21st August 2024 at 18:49. |
(8) Thanks |
The following 8 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | abhi_tjet, arun_josie, Col Mehta, digitalnirvana, FlashMustang, guyfrmblr, naveen.raju, sagarpadaki |
11th October 2024, 12:51 | #364 |
Distinguished - BHPian | re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! No news is no news. Close to two months since Goa trip, Coyote has seen very little activity. Two airport runs, one dinner drive and several short trips around the city transpired in between weeks of inactivity. But it proved itself very useful as we were shifting houses. And gives me those happy breaks of a short drive around the neighborhood after a long day. Airport runs between 12AM and 5AM are still fun And frugal too Multiple trips like these were done to transport sundry items as were shifting houses Also short trips and lot of idling burnt diesel copiously I had done a quick wash and cover routine before I flew to Bhubaneswar for 2 weeks and hence the car remained protected 2 weeks later One day, both me and wife were bored. It had been months since we had been towards Hoskote. And it was the perfect evening too. So we went on a short drive with a plan to get some dinner on the way. What was a perfect sunset in Bangalore, turned into torrential rains once we crossed Hoskote. So we skipped STRR and kept on going. We were not hungry when we crossed Empire or even McD Kolar or even Woody's Mulbagal. Chatting, enjoying rains and the drive, never realized we had reached the border. So I turned back. Crossed Terminal Cafe again but we were still not hungry. Eventually we came home and had dinner after an evening well spent!. The only pic clicked that day The five year anniversary is coming up and another service is due. It also needs a good wash and few pending work which I hope to take up once I am back in town. Odo is a few kms short of the 86k mark. |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | abhi_tjet, arun_josie, digitalnirvana, guyfrmblr, naveen.raju, Phantom 510 |
17th October 2024, 14:29 | #365 |
BANNED Join Date: May 2021 Location: Mangaldai
| re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! I would like to know if you had faced dpf clogging up. As you have mentioned that you drive through infamous Blr traffic snarls regularly (during your commutes) in your previous posts. I am quite curious about the whole dpf thing. And if you have not faced it till now, do you adhere to certain driving style which might have helped?! |
() Thanks |
18th October 2024, 13:53 | #366 | |
Distinguished - BHPian | re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! Quote:
I don't use my car daily. But there are weeks at a time when the car hasn't seen the highway and has done 500-1000 kms just in the city(which is always crawling or stuck!). No special routine on my part but I love driving with a heavy right foot with short bursts of acceleration when possible. Maybe that helps... I loved the DPF meter which Toyota provides. This should be available in all diesel cars which have a DPF. Also provide a manual regen button. On this Toyota, the regen starts whenever the meter reaches the 4bar mark. | |
(4) Thanks |
The following 4 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | arun_josie, Col Mehta, digitalnirvana, Dr.AD |
25th October 2024, 13:06 | #367 |
Newbie Join Date: Oct 2024 Location: Vadodara
| re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! Hello Ashish, Now that I'm a team bhp, I would like to express my immense gratitude towards your efforts in maintaining this thread sharing your experience, knowledge and wisdom. It was 2021 and we were on the lookout for an upgrade to our hyundai i10 which had done 130k kms in 12 years of her service and after scouring through your thread day and night, brainwashing my mom to side with me( a funny story on which we still laugh today) and explaining my dad why Seltos was better instead of sonet we decided to go for HTX diesel MT. The car was an immense pleasure to drive, covering 60k+ kms in just 2.5 years. It had pampered us to such an extent that when we had to let go of it as it was declared as a total loss in the recent floods in our city, no car in the same price range seemed to be an equal to the Seltos. We decided to go with the seltos again, HTX again but some improvements and l look forward to many such memorable drives with this one. This one is already due to for first service of 1000km in just 2 weeks. I'll definitely be sharing my ownership review with the forum as I get some breather from work and upcoming exams. Looking forward to your updates! Last edited by KarthikK : 25th October 2024 at 13:21. Reason: Edited out non-team-bhp emojis which don’t render correctly :) |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks ViRaSh for this useful post: | ashis89 |
25th October 2024, 19:23 | #368 |
Distinguished - BHPian | re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! So Coyote was left dormant again for 3 weeks as I was traveling. He was already soiled so I couldn't put him under covers. After I returned and saw the writing on the hood, I knew it was time for a nice bath. Insurance is renewed for the 6th year - all the covers from last years but sans any NCB. Paid Rs.24,136. And the next service is booked for tomorrow at Epitome Kia, last one before the extended warranty expires |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | arun_josie, digitalnirvana, Dr.AD, guyfrmblr, RJ2285, srvm |
31st October 2024, 18:36 | #369 |
Distinguished - BHPian | re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! 5 years and 86,000 kms update Coyote turned 5 today. Insurance was already renewed few weeks ago. I took him for 110k general service over the weekend and while at it, I raised a few observations to see if they will be covered under extended warranty (which expired today). On Saturday, I reached Epitome Kia by 7:30AM as per the appointment and work started by 8. By 10, the general service was over and work started on the complaints I had. 1. Rear seat lock was not working at times and seat back would tumble forward. This was found be a slightly misaligned and the folks at Epitome Kia were able to fix it back. 2. Steering mounted volume button needed a firm push to increase the volume. Every other button worked fine. The service advisor checked for himself, agreed and got it replaced under warranty. 3. Both the headlight DRLs had started turning yellow from the inner end and very slightly. DRL, indicator and the whole projector headlight is one single unit. When the LHS light was replaced post the minor accident, the old headlight DRL felt mismatched. The advisor took my cue and raised a request for replacement. By 12PM, #1 and #2 were over. The headlight replacement proved tough as the warranty team was struggling to capture the "yellow"ing of the DRL on their phones. Then there was a new problem, HID wiring in the bay which they wanted to remove before taking videos of it. After spending couple of hours trying different options and even checking with all their technicians, the service advisor came to me apologetically that they can't change the headlight under warranty. They are unable to figure out the HID setup and hence, can't remove it. So I offered to get it removed, put back the original halogen bulbs and get it back to them. He checked with the warranty team and readily agreed. Warranty billing took some more time and I was finally out by 2:30PM. Next I called up Anton to see if I could come back his shop to get the HID kit removed. With the kit removed and the stock halogens (which I had retained safely) back in the place, I went back to Epitome on Monday morning at 8:30AM. By 12PM, Coyote was delivered with a new headlight. Got a bunch of pictures on the WA group which the SA had created but sharing a few I had got the car washed before the service so opted out of the waterless wash Clicked a few while I was waiting in the lounge They were trying hard to click pictures of the DRL. Moved the car around three different places, turned off the bay lights, shadowed it, to see if they could get a better capture Coyote was already dusty when I took him back again on Monday Paid 7.7k for the 110k service Somewhere along the way, I crossed the 86k mark. Also tanked up that day and Fuelio reminded that I was refueling the car after good 2.5 months! Currently the car is sporting the halogen bulbs only and I am yet to fit the HIDs back. One of the halogen was misaligned as it was not seated properly. Fixed it myself today and now, the cutoff seems good. A small thought in my mind says I should try LEDs, now that they have gotten very superior and come in warmer temp options. Will do some research before deciding. Overall, the year was uneventful except for a proactive OEM battery change and a minor accident repair. I was expecting tyre replacement but they will go on for some more time. Have been thinking of a paint correction and deep cleaning but need to figure out some time to get it done. Also thinking what could be a good update for the car as a 5 year gift Last edited by ashis89 : 31st October 2024 at 18:51. |
(15) Thanks |
The following 15 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | abhi_tjet, anivy, arun_josie, Col Mehta, dailydriver, dhruvagarwal, digitalnirvana, guyfrmblr, knrn, Nakshatra, naveen.raju, sanjayrozario, turbowhistle, vivek_saha1304, Yuvuz |
1st November 2024, 15:40 | #370 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2017 Location: Delhi-Dehradun
| Re: Update for Test Drives and Coyote! Quote:
Regarding the mild sound that you mentioned, were you able to figure out what it was/is? Our new Seltos D AT also makes similiar sound while accelerating (doesn't do that at standstill or at slow speeds). Another Seltos (a D MT) that we checked also made the same sound in similiar driving conditions. A dear member mentioned it could be the VVT which lifts the valves during acceleration and hence producing that sound (a normal behaviour). Just curious if you could identify anything different. Apologies if you have documented your findings in the thread - haven't gone through all of it yet, but will finish reading it soon . Last edited by Col Mehta : 1st November 2024 at 15:45. | |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Col Mehta for this useful post: | ashis89, knrn |
1st November 2024, 21:07 | #371 |
BHPian | Re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! Hi Ashis How time flies. Seems just like yesterday when you began penning down your ownership thoughts about coyote. And now it has covered and been driven so much. Yours is a satisfying ownership thread to read. I recently changed my headlamps in the projectors of my Scross to LED. Osram’s H7 warm white 4200 k. I am still testing it out so haven’t put it up on my thread. But the led’s in projectors have a wonderful throw and spread with a beautiful cut off. 4200k colour temp is warm enough and it’s a 50 watt led so quite bright. I would advise you to kindly look into it as an option for your projectors. Do give it a thought. Rest wishing you many more miles on the coyote. Cheers. Last edited by knrn : 1st November 2024 at 21:10. Reason: Added Led wattage |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks knrn for this useful post: | ashis89 |
|
6th November 2024, 18:01 | #372 | ||
Distinguished - BHPian | Re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! Unplanned TripMe and Mrs.A were busy preparing for Diwali. The inventory list was complete and arrangements were in progress. LED Lights - check Diyas - check Flowers - check Sparklers - check Poori and Kheer - check What next? While we both were decorating the house on the 31st evening, I had this thought. We had 3 more days of holiday and no plans for it. Should we go somewhere? The ever supportive partner in crime didn't question my sanity.....yet. Next question - where? We must have discussed and explored a dozen options at least - Coorg, Wayanad, Karur, Rameshwaram, Kochi, Gandikota, Hampi, Nagarhole, Kabini, Belgaum, Pondicherry, Gopinatham, Madurai, Kodai, Sakleshpur and then, a few more probably. My sanity was checked on hearing some of the suggestions, others were considered. There was always a different reason for choosing each of those places for a trip even though most of them would have been a repeat visit. After checking feasibility and then availability of stay at reasonable price at all of those places, we zeroed in on Mangalore. Why? Foodies trip. The one time I went to Mangalore (while staying at Kundapura), I loved the food. Over time, we have explored the cuisine at other places as well and grown fond of some of the dishes. Also we never stayed in Mangalore and explored much of the city. Would be a perfect leisure getaway to explore some of the beaches, have a look at the city and while at it, enjoy some good food. When and how? I booked the hotel at 5PM in the evening for next day checkin. Plan was to start early, drive and reach Mangalore for late lunch. Did a quick check of the Mangalore - BLR routes thread and this video (The art of travelling between Bangalore - Mangalore/Udupi) by Samurai san gave me an idea about the Shiradi ghat, the one ghat that I hadn't explored yet. It was the shortest too. The other option was longer Madikeri route but was supposed to have better avg.speeds. Next day, an early start could not be. Started around 9AM from home and decided to go slow. By 11:40AM, we were at A2B Udayapura. Decided to have early brunch and proceed from there to Mangalore, non-stop. Road work is in progress. And there are diversions. These can create small traffic jams at times. Got good rains before Sakleshpur which continued till almost Dharmastala. Speeds of 30-50 kmph were best for the broken sections as the car soaked up the bumps happily. A couple of waterfalls, streams and the Netravati river had a lot of muddy water under the bridge. Some patches were good and empty Some were broken and busy And some were simply stuck So we focused on the rain One such waterfall which was in full flow Entered Mangalore around 4:30PM. Some banana pakoda, chai, chicken cutlet later, we reached the hotel Vivanta. Had dinner at the hotel and discovered a new favorite Mangalore - Mangalore Tawa chicken! That along prawn pullimunchi and neer dosa. We were hungry and the food was tasty. The phone was forgotten and the mouth devoured the food. Next morning, woke up at 7 and headed to the Tannirbhavi beach. I saw the Mangalore port area from close quarters and also went till the end where the Gurupura river and Netravati river meet the sea. Saw these fishing trawlers go about their business Also spotted few peacocks, pea hen, kites, sun birds and flocks of bee eaters. Spotted a blue tailed bee eater as well, supposed to be a migratory species And a cargo ship entering the port area Being a leisure trip, we were not carrying the binoculars or camera so all the pictures were clicked on phone only, whatever it could manage. Returned and had breakfast at hotel. I searched through the list of restaurant suggestions that Ninjatalli shared a couple of years ago. Chose Hotel Maharaja this time. We were used to Chicken roast. But here we discovered a new dish - chicken green roast, a slightly less spicy but equally tasty option. Anjal fish masala fry is must do for Mrs.A. We went on to order the chicken ghee roast as well and combined them with neer dosa and kerala parotas. Over done and no space for desserts, we drove to Someshwara beach to spend an hour. Birding continued. Among others we spotted a white bellied sea eagle as well And then to Surathkal beach to watch the sunset. Took some time crossing the Nanthoor junction each time. Truth be told, I was missing the desserts. I was missing Falooda Nation (nearest one was 57 kms away at Kasargoad and we were almost about to drive down there until I decided against it). Pabbas was too crowded this time and a little underwhelming during the last visit. This travelogue (Foodies' Monsoon Drive to Mangalore)by KarthikK informed about another Pabbas outlet at Bharat Mall. Mall means parking should be easy and place might not be as crowded at the original store in the vicinity. After round in circles, I found the entry to the parking and 10 mins later, we got a table in the cafe. I realized this cafe had very few options for dessert and was more of a food cafe. Ordered a Special Gudbud and a Royal Falooda. Gudbud was very good, falooda was very bad. Retired for the day. Next morning, had breakfast and checked out around 10AM. Mrs.A got some Byadagi chilli on the way. The car still had half tank fuel after all this time and I felt it would be enough for the return leg. Since she didn't like the broken roads on the Shiradi route, we chose the Madikeri - Mysore route for return. Next 11.5 hours felt like going in a convoy. Every time I overtook a bunch of cars, I would find around convoy. And a tourist bus struggling to climb the ghat. And fender benders and this repeated until we reached Mysore by 6PM. Up until then, I was averaging much less than 40 kmph. Lunch was at Hotel Tibet after Kushalnagar where we reached by 3PM. Plan was to visit the monastery as well but skipped it as we were tired from all the traffic. Due to my own foolishness, I hadn't refueled until I took the expressway (knowing fully well that the e-way doesn't have bunks). Took an exit near Maddur and refueled at MRPL before rejoining the e-way. The FE was 17.5 kmpl for the 790 kms. As expected, there was a 2.5 km long queue after the Mysore e-way toll. The people skipping the toll and taking the service road and the people paying toll and continuing on the main highway, were merging the single road into the city which had led to the pile up on both roads. Took 30-40 mins for us to clear this stretch. At one point, an unmindful Creta driver didn't realize his car was rolling back. I honked and flashed and yet his car rolled back a good 4-5 ft to bump into my car before he moved ahead. He acknowledged his mistake and I didn't press on (Mrs.A was already angry due to the traffic and then this driver irked her further so someone was to stay cool). Reached home by 9:30PM after covering 910 kms. Oh, and the driving with stock halogens made me feel handicapped. I was going much slower than I could have, all thanks to those lights. Need to fit back those HIDs ASAP. Quote:
Also thank you for the suggestions of Osram 4200k LED. They seem to be the best bet but some pictures show they might be less bright than my HID. As next steps, I am planning to get a set and install it on my father's Brezza first. After using it for some time, I will repeat it on my Seltos. Last edited by ashis89 : 6th November 2024 at 18:04. | ||
(10) Thanks |
The following 10 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | Arun.K, Col Mehta, Credited_Siren, Dr.AD, graaja, knrn, LakeWalker, naveen.raju, Shonith, srvm |
8th November 2024, 17:30 | #373 |
Distinguished - BHPian | Re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! The HIDs are back in action but the alignment seem to have been over corrected the team. This is low beam and at the lowest setting! Definitely needs to be more humble. Will try to fix it myself over some weekend. The 87k mark was also breached today. |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank ashis89 for this useful post: | Chaman K, srvm |
9th November 2024, 20:13 | #374 |
BHPian Join Date: Mar 2022 Location: Mangalore
| Re: Ownership Review | My Kia Seltos HTK+ 1.5L Diesel MT (Coyote) | EDIT: 5 years, 86,000 km up! Nice to see you enjoyed your trip to namma Kudla (Mangaluru). By the way even I have some off brand (Geesonic) 4300k 55W LEDs in my polo on the low beam and the colour is just right. Got them at a local shop here in Puttur and to be honest they really seem to be of good quality in terms of fit and finish. I think they costed 2600₹ for the pair. The 6000/6500 W bulbs don't even light up the road in the rain. By the way there's an alternative route to Mangaluru from Shiradi ghat by taking the way towards Subrahmanya and then continuing through the Kadaba Uppinangadi road or taking diversion back to Puttur Subrahmanya road and joining Mani back into NH 75. I have no idea how the Gundya to Mani stretch is since I've been using this alternative route just cause I usually stop at Puttur. The Madikeri route is a pain to drive or travel. Charmadi seems to be the better one. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks Chaman K for this useful post: | ashis89 |
11th November 2024, 09:40 | #375 | |
BHPian Join Date: Mar 2016 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: Ozone car spa, Bangalore - Bad experience Quote:
Finally, I took my Zest to Ozone Car Spa for the first time on Saturday (9th Nov 2024). Usually I do the cleaning myself. But my car needed thorough underbody cleaning after my recent visit to Bhadrachalam (lots of animal dung on the road). They did a decent job. Cost was Rs.650 for Zest (for exterior cleaning and vacuuming inside). I did not go for deep cleaning this time since I was running late for some errands. Thanks for the suggestion. Its pretty close to where I live as well. Ashis - since you are regular on the Bangalore-Hyderabad route, I need your inputs/feedback on my first experience on this route which I posted here. Would be happy to hear your suggestions. | |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks srvm for this useful post: | ashis89 |