Old 15th June 2019, 20:48   #1411
GRV

re: The First Grand Vitara on Team-BHP [14 years & 150000kms]

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
The following link has been posted by a senior distinguished member of the forum.
Thanks a lot. But reviews for cooldays are mixed in nature. I have identified one in Khan market. will check both

Last edited by ampere : 17th July 2019 at 08:41. Reason: trimmed quoted post
Old 16th June 2019, 10:34   #1412

In March the car had experienced a sudden loss of cooling in the air conditioner. I got the gas refilled and set off on a trip to Bengaluru.

The vehicle was not used after returning from the trip. In the second half of May I used the air conditioner and found it had lost cooling power.

My FNG diagnosed it as a leakage in the pipe leading from the condenser to the evaporator. As the leak was near the pressure switch socket it could not be repaired by brazing. So the pipe was ordered and after a few days the repair was carried out.

Total cost was Rs. 8658, of which the pipe (95731-64J00 Hose Liquid) cost 3610.
sridhar-v is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 20:19   #1413
GRV

Got Diagnosis confirmed for my Vitara A/C problem. The mechanic says compressor is not working. He suggests to change clutch plate of compressor (if available) and condensor.

Is it possible or advisable to get compressor rectified ? will this Jugaad last ? If this is not advisable then is there any after market compressor available that works with GV 2007 model ?

Old 17th June 2019, 20:48   #1414

Originally Posted by GRV View Post
Got Diagnosis confirmed for my Vitara A/C problem.
Aftermarket Compressor will not work with GV , Message Sudev on the forum , he had a AC compressor with him from his ex GV which was broken up for parts.

Last edited by ampere : 17th July 2019 at 08:41. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
wbd8779 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 21:06   #1415

No compressor anymore
Old 18th June 2019, 08:32   #1416
GRV

Originally Posted by sudev View Post
No compressor anymore
Sudev Sir
Can you direct me to any garage or workshop, where I can try to get original Second hand Compressor ?

Or it is possible to get the compressor repaired as the mechanic is suggesting (if he can get the clutch)

Old 18th June 2019, 10:05   #1417

Not that I know of.

Some discussion was going on the NCR GV thread on WhatsApp the following was posted by Prateek Swarup:
Magnetic clutch repaired and seems to be working fine, but now compressor has stopped functioning. As per Manjit of Cooldays, compressor needs replacement. ��

Options -
A. Find a used compressor and install
B. Replace compressor with another new unit of some other car with modifications fittings - Manjit to do (17-18k)
C. Buy new from Maruti (36k)
D. But same unit from ali Express (17k)

Any inputs/suggestions?
Old 30th June 2019, 15:19   #1418

Hi folks
Long time since I was on here
My GV’s AC blower got jammed and the motor burnt out. Had it taken out from the dashboard and have been told it can’t be repaired

Any suggestions where I can get a second hand motor or any other advise on repairing this would be highly appreciated it.

Manu
Old 30th June 2019, 16:22   #1419

Originally Posted by ManuKohli View Post
My GV’s AC blower got jammed and the motor burnt out. Had it taken out from the dashboard and have been told it can’t be repaired
You mean they can't get the part from Maruti? Why are you looking for used part?
Old 30th June 2019, 16:25   #1420

The mechanic said it would take a long time to be come and was going to be 8k plus
Thought if I could get a used part from somewhere it would be better. Can’t drive without the AC in Delhi heat
Old 1st July 2019, 13:31   #1421

Just got the actual figure from Motorcraft
It’s 15k for the blower motor only
Yikes
Need to look for a second hand part or some jugaad to fix this
Old 4th July 2019, 12:56   #1422

Re: Need help

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
The part which was available in other dealership is also same as the wrong part we found. The pulley wheel is large sized which would not fit. Similarly there is a difference in the body also.
This is what we need for 2.4L AT engine, i can see this in ebay et all. Funny thing, it is same part number. Smaller dia pulley with tapered insides, and that black hook thingie on the side.

OEM compatible: 1754054L00
Part Type: Drive Belt Tensioner Assembly
Position: Accessory Drive
Quantity Required: 1
2010 Suzuki Grand Vitara Limited Sport Utility 4-Door 2.4L 2393CC l4 GAS OHC Naturally Aspirated
A very late clarification, but nevertheless, here goes.

The first part that you got was clearly a case of shoving the 2.0GV tensioner assembly part no.17540-77E10 into the box meant for the 2.4GV tensioner part no. 17540-54L00

The 2.0GV tensioner pulley has no reinforcements along the circumference of the pulley wheel, while the 2.4GV has.

Just reiterating the differences for the benefit of owners.

Posting both pics again as attachments

2.0 GV Tensioner 17540-77E10

Name:  2.0GVTensionerPulley.png
Views: 1287
Size:  182.6 KB

2.4 GV Tensioner 17540-54L00

The First Grand Vitara on Team-BHP-2.4gvtensioner.jpg

Last edited by ampere : 17th July 2019 at 08:40. Reason: Removed dead links from quoted post
vigsom is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th July 2019, 09:31   #1423

Finally managed to source the hydraulic control unit (HCU) of a dead Grand Vitara, mate it to my existing ABS ECU and the pedal travel returned to normal.

The journey to excess pedal travel started in post #1160 here.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-...am-bhp-78.html (The First Grand Vitara on Team-BHP)

The problem surfaced in Jan2018, brake components were all checked individually and found normal.

Leaky ABS HCU was the culprit - discovered that in Nov2018.

The First Grand Vitara on Team-BHP-screenshot_20190715091348_1.jpg

Then came this ABS unit from a dead Grand Vitara

The First Grand Vitara on Team-BHP-p_20190713_110306.jpg

Here is my car's old ECU and HCU. The HCU in my car was leaking while the ECU was fine.

The First Grand Vitara on Team-BHP-p_20190713_121905.jpg

The First Grand Vitara on Team-BHP-p_20190713_121915.jpg

And with the new HCU mated to the old ECU, the ABS is back to its old ways; no ABS warning and no excess pedal travel.

If the new ABS unit (with a new ECU) is fitted , the ABS light would stay on because the engine ECM won't recognise the new ABS ECU number. The ECM needs to be re-programmed in this case to store the new ABS ECU bar code/unit number.

This is an ATE ABS unit and is a rare item.

There have been failures reported on ATE's MK60 model HCU and that is why ATE sells the HCUs for this model which is found in some BMWs, Fords, Skodas, VWs, Audis and Mazdas.But not sure if this model is the one used on the Grand Vitara.

Anyways, the story ended well after a long wait.
vigsom is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th July 2019, 08:35   #1424

Great to see the car back to working effectively.

By any chance the "dead" GV has any more salvage parts? Looking for AT gearbox as the one in my GV has hum. Probably the previous owner ran it for with low gear oil levels.
Old 17th July 2019, 08:58   #1425

^^ The dead GV is an MT.

In any case, the hum is not because of low oil, but due to wear. Is the hum heard in no.4 gear, and is it irritatingly loud?

If the hum is not that loud, kindly ignore it. I've experienced hums in top gear even in some MT cars that have done less than 40k.

I've endured a medium frequency hum in my first Corolla AT which also had an Aisin gear box. That one was apparently a well run car.

Last edited by vigsom : 17th July 2019 at 09:05. Reason: mods