Old 11th March 2008, 10:55   #46
SUV

Originally Posted by bIte tHe bulLet View Post

this is an lx version right? where did you get the fog lights put in from and did you need to change the entire panel of switches on the inside? the guys at my dealership are giving me some bulls**t about the fogs costing about 1400 each and then the relays and switch panel a further 3 k odd.

would appreciate a heads up as i get mine delivered on the 12th so need to take a call now...

cheers.

Yes the OEM Fog's are that expensive, If am right the relay and the switch cost about 1K...
Old 11th March 2008, 11:17   #47

Originally Posted by SUV View Post
Yes the OEM Fog's are that expensive, If am right the relay and the switch cost about 1K...
thanks suv - 1k sounds about right.

what these twits have told me is that the entire panel of switches needs to be changed inside the dash since the switch doesn't exist at the moment...

really confused whether i should have the work done pre delivery or wait and see if it can be done cheaper from another dealer/auth serv stn.

cheers...
Old 11th March 2008, 12:01   #48

Sorry i got confused.

Thanks for correcting me.

These fog lamps came along with the vehicle, i've used HID kit on them. Somehow they dont seem to work now,

You'll get these fitted for LX models at Rs 1800-2500 and is avlble as after market fitments.

The same lights are also fitted for top end indica's also.
Old 18th March 2009, 13:45   #49

Long time no updates, similarly long time no long drives.

As on date the Safari 3 L Dicor is nearing 3 yrs of successful completion.

I dont know how to call it a Long Time Report, Yes by period, its a long time but the ODO still shows 18000 kms.

Actually the beast is only used for our long drive holidays. and 2008 we had only 3 holidays.

Still 18000 kms of pure highway journeys, its done 3 forest safaris, been through lot of tough trials, done midnight forest safari's and yes this Beast has come out without any trouble unscathed.

This Beast is a 3000 cc of pure rush of torque. We could not ask for more from a car that costed us close to 10 lacs. Everyone at family is happy that we made a right decision.

Even though this fellow rests most of the time at home, it only comes out every sunday for a small drive, everyone says, Diesel gaadi, kindly use it regularly". With other cars around you hardly get a chance to take this fellow out.

So far so good,The Beast is still mainitained like a showroom car.

The 3L Safari Dicor has given us peaceful ownership for 3 long years and we are awaiting many more years of trouble free ownership.

It takes little to reclaim life.
Old 18th March 2009, 13:50   #50

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Long time no updates, similarly long time no long drives.

As on date the Safari 3 L Dicor is nearing 3 yrs of successful completion.

I dont know how to call it a Long Time Report, Yes by period, its a long time but the ODO still shows 18000 kms.

Actually the beast is only used for our long drive holidays. and 2008 we had only 3 holidays.

Still 18000 kms of pure highway journeys, its done 3 forest safaris, been through lot of tough trials, done midnight forest safari's and yes this Beast has come out without any trouble unscathed.

This Beast is a 3000 cc of pure rush of torque. We could not ask for more from a car that costed us close to 10 lacs. Everyone at family is happy that we made a right decision.

Even though this fellow rests most of the time at home, it only comes out every sunday for a small drive, everyone says, Diesel gaadi, kindly use it regularly". With other cars around you hardly get a chance to take this fellow out.

So far so good,The Beast is still mainitained like a showroom car.

The 3L Safari Dicor has given us peaceful ownership for 3 long years and we are awaiting many more years of trouble free ownership.

It takes little to reclaim life.

Wow, you reclaimed life in 18000kms.
I looking for that to happen over 4yrs/150000kms, whichever comes earlier.
Old 18th March 2009, 14:12   #51

Originally Posted by jaysmokesleaves View Post
I looking for that to happen over 4yrs/150000kms, whichever comes earlier.
Good one .

What does one remember at the end of the day - how many months / km left on that extended warranty?

everyone says, Diesel gaadi, kindly use it regularly
Well, I say that too.

Last edited by hrag : 18th March 2009 at 14:14.
Old 18th March 2009, 14:17   #52

Man! I thought I was using my beast less (12500 kms in 14 months)- but you beat me to it Pavan.

great to hear that you and your family are enjoying this truck- i recently did a hyd-blr-hyd (1250 kms) trip over a span of 48 hours, and my wife commented that she would not have been so comfortable even in a Rajdhani ! Truly awesome.

wishing you many more miles of happy motoring!
Old 18th March 2009, 14:42   #53

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post

Man! I thought I was using my beast less (12500 kms in 14 months)- but you beat me to it Pavan.

wishing you many more miles of happy motoring!
Thanks for the compliment or was it a comment.

Our First year of ownership the Beast had covered 10000 kms, we were on a holidaying spree in 2006, later lot of other family related functions kept our priority different.

We again started holidaying in 2008 but still could only do around 6000 kms that year.

Eagerly awaiting for our travel plans for 2009
3L Safari Beast- 3 Years of Ownership-dsc05814.jpg  

3L Safari Beast- 3 Years of Ownership-dsc05815.jpg  

Old 18th March 2009, 14:44   #54

What is wrong with you gents? One with 18000 km in 36 months, the other with 12500 km in 14 months?

Edit: Damn, I miss my spare wheel cover!
Old 18th March 2009, 14:48   #55

Originally Posted by hrag View Post
What is wrong with you gents? One with 18000 km in 36 months, the other with 12500 km in 14 months?
They must be reading Tanvir's threads, waiting for him to discover the next 'manufacturing defect' before venturing out.
Old 18th March 2009, 15:06   #56

Originally Posted by hrag View Post

Edit: Damn, I miss my spare wheel cover!
Cool spare wheel cover are'nt they.

Not everyone is lucky enough to keep travelling .

Hoping for a great travelogue year with the Safari in 2009

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
They must be reading Tanvir's threads, waiting for him to discover the next 'manufacturing defect' before venturing out.

Steer you saying this for a 3 L Dicor. C'mon ( Cant use one more smiley) not ironcal : )

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 18th March 2009 at 15:10.
Old 18th March 2009, 15:08   #57

Steer you saying this for a 3 L Dicor. C'mon
You obviously lack a sense of humour. Or irony.
Old 18th March 2009, 15:12   #58

Pavan 3yrs for your 3.0L Safari and you have just done 18,000kms that's really bad, you need to do more long trips on this vehicle.

Pavan i think you should start planning your trips for 2009.

Steeroid there is no other word to say other than Tsk has got a Lemon

Last edited by gowda79 : 18th March 2009 at 15:14.
Old 18th March 2009, 15:18   #59

Originally Posted by gowda79 View Post
Steeroid there is no other word to say other than Tsk has got a Lemon
You may need to reword that slightly, but I'd get kicked out if I were to put that out here.

Out of interest, how are you so sure he has a lemon?
Old 18th March 2009, 15:22   #60

Pavan, maybe you and I should do a joint south India tour to rake up some mile and that way dodge some of the brickbats coming our way from messers hrag and steeroid