Old 12th March 2021, 21:41   #436

re: My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!

Originally Posted by kavesh55 View Post
Following observations-
The idling rpm has increased
There is sm vibration in the gear lever
FE has decreased slightly
There is a harmonic/cylical vibration coming through.
Check if all four cylinders are firing in order. Sounds like a missing firing order issue. Is the engine dancing around, vibrating excessively when idling? Are RPMs getting erratic suddenly?

Although oil grade change wouldn't cause such issues in your car, oil sludge dislocation might cause oil channel disruption or oil sieve blockage. This wouldn't catastrophically damage your engine if you keep an eye on check engine light though. Remove the oil cap cover, shine a light in, if the condition looks kinda slick inside, probably oil wouldn't be a headache.

Edit: Also check and clean air filter, throttle body, mass air flow sensor with carb cleaning spray(don't spray air filter).

Last edited by stallmaster : 12th March 2021 at 21:49.
stallmaster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2021, 00:43   #437

Originally Posted by stallmaster View Post
Check if all four cylinders are firing in order. Sounds like a missing firing order issue. Is the engine dancing around, vibrating excessively when idling? Are RPMs getting erratic suddenly?

Although oil grade change wouldn't cause such issues in your car, oil sludge dislocation might cause oil channel disruption or oil sieve blockage. This wouldn't catastrophically damage your engine if you keep an eye on check engine light though. Remove the oil cap cover, shine a light in, if the condition looks kinda slick inside, probably oil wouldn't be a headache.

Edit: Also check and clean air filter, throttle body, mass air flow sensor with carb cleaning spray(don't spray air filter).
Will check the firing order of the cylinders.
It is not vibrating excessively, just that vibration is slightly more and now coming through the gear lever. Also, the idle rpm has become more pronounced.

The RPM is not getting erratic.

I suspected that there would be sludge dislocation, mostly happens around the oil pump mesh, but on opening the oil cap a good spray comes out. So no oil starvation.

The oil level and condition is quite good.

Completed a good 100 kms post the oil change.
Positives are- 4th gear can be slotted at speed of 25, no stalling, no stalling when taking off in the first gear inspite of less acceleration, car leaps forward, better pick up.
Negative- vibration, higher idling.

Last edited by kavesh55 : 14th March 2021 at 00:44.
Old 14th March 2021, 01:08   #438

Originally Posted by kavesh55 View Post
The RPM is not getting erratic.
Yeah, then definitely a dirty throttle body/MAF/injector issue.

Do this yourself and see if the issue resolves. Injector/MAF cleaning can be done after that if the issue persists.
stallmaster is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th March 2021, 12:51   #439

Re: My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 13 years, 247,000 km & major service update

Battery Positive terminal
The positive terminal of the battery had become old and risky to use due to oxidation caused from the 2nd battery. When the 3rd Battery was replaced last year, I had bought a basic terminal costing 30 bucks and fixed it and wanted to still have a proper terminal in future. Checked with the MGP store for the part number that leoshashi provided but that was unavailable. The SA at the FNG then suggested to use a part from Maruti Van as below.

Hi Parag, I'm also looking to replace the battery terminals in 2007 Maruti Alto. Could you please guide me with respect to the part number and the parts to buy for the same? TIA!
Old 6th July 2021, 15:08   #440

Re: Door damping and DIY Aux-In Connector for my ICE

Reviving a old thread, but need help! During the cleaning of my car, the original Pio IP bus cable has gone lost. Can you please give a brief on the connectivity part of the wires at the back to the RC cords in the front?

Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
Yoga mats came in handy through a friend of mine and hence damped all the doors today. Here are the pics:

Also, Since I am happy with my current ICE with a HU (Pioneer DEH 4750) that comes 'Aux Input Ready', A few team-bhp links helped me get the pin diagram to create my own connector for AUX Input.

Last edited by Sheel : 1st September 2021 at 09:12. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks!
Old 7th July 2021, 13:40   #441

Re: Door damping and DIY Aux-In Connector for my ICE

Originally Posted by ard1955 View Post
Hi Parag, I'm also looking to replace the battery terminals in 2007 Maruti Alto. Could you please guide me with respect to the part number and the parts to buy for the same? TIA!
For my WagonR, the positive cable is part of the overall harness and is not independently available due to which we had to put one from that of Maruti Omni.

I suspect the same with the Alto too but just to be sure, you may want to post this query on this thread and expect the right answer from our Maruti Parts expert Leoshashi.

Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post
Reviving a old thread, but need help! During the cleaning of my car, the original Pio IP bus cable has gone lost. Can you please give a brief on the connectivity part of the wires at the back to the RC cords in the front?
You can refer to the pin out for the IP bus in this post.
paragsachania is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2021, 15:44   #442

Glad to see WagonR being driven with much passion. My wishes to you all.

I am planning to buy a used car less than 2 laks; and have shortlisted a 2008 Wagon R Duo LXI LPG from Cars24; it has run 69,982 km. The condition seems to be good, I have requested a test drive which I am yet to get; the asking price is 1.72 laks in Chennai.

May I know the opinion from people who own WagonR Duo/ WagonR please? Please dind below the link of the car listing https://www.cars24.com/buy-used-Maru...ai-1136619349/
architect_santo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2022, 15:01   #443

Farewell to the faithful - 257,841 Km:

Decisions are not always easy to make. Then there are tougher decisions that are hardest. This one was the latter. Ultimately, the time had come to let go our beloved, faithful, reliable and a practical WagonR Lxi F10D after more than 16 years of ownership in the month of July 2022. So, this post is to summarize the updates on this ownership thread.

The WagonR was serving us absolutely well, without any complaints or issues to zip around through the urban thoroughfares after Ertiga was bought in 2013. It was predominantly used by my better half for office commutes during the pre-covid era and then for intra city runs for shopping, social visits and other chores. Then came one day where a casual conversation at home with wife led to a decision to simply upgrade as it was 16 long years and how smaller cars have transformed significantly since yesteryears. Something that is modern, has decent features and looks better too. Plus, her organization was planning to start asking their employees to work from office twice a week. This was the why part; the how part will be something that I can do justice only when I pen the ownership thread, with more details.

AN INSEPARABLE COMPANION FOR OUR DRIVES SPANNING THE LENGTH AND BREADTH OF THE COUNTRY:

To me it was no brainer. The car that I owned back then was the car that I would drive – City or Highways. There was no deep thinking or assessment that went it before planning any such drives in this car, solo or with family and thankfully, we had some of the most amazing experiences through the road travel we took up on our WagonR. The WagonR showed us India by road and we are thankful to that for serving us without a hiccup during every journey that we ventured on. The car had seen it all – Started with single carriageway highways & ghats to GQ runs during our regular Pune, Mumbai, Aurangabad, Ahmedabad & Rajkot trips, many times in a year, including a drive circumventing the entire Golden Quadrilateral in 2012 in the hot summer of May! These drives will always serve me and my family as memories for lifetime:
My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-278736_10150239069244998_4897061_o.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-295062_10150816752214998_631609322_n.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-562540_10150816780779998_1018888176_n.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-557709_10151097213214998_2077976163_n.jpg

Loaded for an enchanting and exhilarating run on the Golden Quadrilateral in 2012:
Name:  579953_10150816740859998_705492741_n.jpg
Views: 865
Size:  48.3 KB

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-74770_10150816741474998_271548758_n.jpg

Innumerable breakfast drives with a group of friends:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-133673_10151069359926537_558960646_o.jpg

Some amazing moments captured while driving to Hesarghatta grasslands was a regular affair:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-223997_10151153424734998_1509344961_n.jpg
My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-537945_10151686830919998_1871044297_n.jpg

2000 km round trip for the annual Monsoon drives was a ritual:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1074745_10152081953887598_1853050871_o.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1078580_10152081954327598_2027062726_o.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1014161_10151566626249998_183888443_n.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1097193_10151618944869998_1896469027_o.jpg

Weekend trips to western ghats:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-994828_10151528490899998_2019040973_n.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1174764_10151642545674998_313271724_n.jpg

The moments spent behind the wheel, always a pleasure:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-533369_10150816750084998_1525026088_n.jpg
There is no denial that my little daughter then had experienced all her road-trips on this one and equally possessive about it:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-474609_10151430531989998_133891440_o.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1236501_10151686832469998_71486896_n.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1237099_10151686832689998_2073516456_n.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-1044585_10151528484829998_2104249699_n.jpg

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 17th October 2022 at 15:26.
paragsachania is offline   (82) Thanks
Old 17th October 2022, 15:03   #444

Renewal of registration & fitness:

This was due in 2021 itself but thanks to Covid, there was extension on the validity by the authorities and subsequently, there were delays from my end too to get it renewed. Finally, the fitness was renewed in April this year with the validity extended till 2027. The process was simple where the car was inspected at the RTO office and the certificate was ready in less than 2 weeks.

During the day of inspection near Yeshwantpura (KA04) RTO:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-5dcbe3de4f344e049e683b0a2b5305cd.jpg

The RC "Card" received 2 weeks later:

Name:  WhatsApp Image 20220506 at 15.13.25.jpeg
Views: 849
Size:  89.2 KB

Name:  WhatsApp Image 20220506 at 15.13.52.jpeg
Views: 858
Size:  88.1 KB

Full & final service before the car was handed over to the new owner:

While the car itself was maintained impeccably well including DIY maintenance, as a responsible and a passionate owner, I wanted to ensure that the next owner gets to experience the best out of a 16 year old, 2.6L km driven car. Hence, apart from renewal of registration and fitness which was imminent, I got the car fully serviced too.. I made a dash to Mandovi Motors, Vidyaranyapura for the first time as this isn’t my usual Service center for both my cars. I did this due to lack of time to travel far away to my preferred service center. To my surprise, at this service center I ended up meeting a service advisor who was earlier employed at their other branch at Goreguntepalya where I would take my WagonR regularly till 2012. He could immediately recognize my car and was surprised that I still had it and was more than willing to get it serviced. Apart from all the fluids, front brake pads were replaced proactively because the new owner of the car would be driving 250 km soon after delivery.

My dad accompanied me for this service and he clicked this pic along with service advisor Hari Babu during the time of delivery after service:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-whatsapp-image-20220708-19.03.50.jpeg

If there was anyone who has experienced the WagonR as a passenger, it has to be my dad. He would remain my co-passenger for those innumerable road trips, active and alert like a driver, throughout the day or night. Even during this visit to the service center he still praised the sitting comfort in the WagonR and how the seats were holding up after so many years of usage.

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-4d20367f405946f793056cb07fff61be.jpg

The interiors of the car, one day before it went to the new owner!

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-09b5403e4455417e92a504dd971c724d.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-3038acf98dca4193b7e57f518c69b0c7.jpg
A day before handing over the WagonR, I got fresh set of batteries for the remotes and replaced them too and the owner was quite surprised that I had both the keys that were clean, including perfectly functional remotes after 16 years!
My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-4db50c065b0d46e6baf769ad06edc926.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-5f49ab360001403895b6a0f72a1cbf8a.jpg

Goodbye 2006 WagonR LXi F10D and welcome 2022 Baleno Alpha AGS:

While parting away with the car was certainly hard, the good thing was that the next owner is a known friend of mine from my hometown, Belur. Hence, I will get to see my car on a regular basis each time I am driving there. Hence, the car stays within my circle in very small town than escape into the urban chaos of Bangalore roads.

The odometer reading of the WagonR during the day of handover:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-ddadd9e8c99147f8a3fbc919b538f3ea.jpg

WagonR gets a new owner, someone that I know:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-img_0272.jpg

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-img_0266.jpg

The all new Baleno with its companions, my family along with the MD of the dealership:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-img_0264.jpg

Waiting to hit the roads:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-img_0279.jpg
Tradition must continue - The WagonR welcomed the Ertiga back then in 2013 when its Odo was 2.22L and now the Ertiga welcomed the Baleno with 2.3L Km on its Odo:

Name:  739933_10151727962239998_297887737_o.jpg
Views: 831
Size:  22.1 KB

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-20220709_194933.jpg

The first Ayudha Pooja for the Baleno:

My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!-d3baaecc48d24d4392515905161fba3e.jpg

Even at 2.57L Km on the odometer, the basic engine, transmission and electrical components remained stock. The engine or the gearbox was never opened till date and nor had the alternator or AC compressor gone bad. Goes to show how simple & proactive maintenance despite of very regular usage keeps the car chugging without any breakdowns!

Last edited by libranof1987 : 18th October 2022 at 10:26. Reason: Minor typo :)
paragsachania is offline   (157) Thanks
Old 17th October 2022, 15:20   #445

This Dasara, when I saw the youngster taking the place of this veteran, I felt kind of sad!

I had no reason to; for, except on the forum, I have not even seen the car physically.

But I had every reason to; for, on the forum, I have, through your write ups, travelled everywhere the old faithful took you.

The way you made memories in the Wagon R and shared it in your posts, I felt an instant attachment. The countless miles you drove in it, accompanied by your father; the all nighters you pulled in, the practical DIYs you carried out; most importantly, the faith you had in this old horse and the way it reciprocated the same by not stranding you anywhere, speak volume about the dependability of this legend.

But as they say, every beginning must have an end.

Congratulations on this long an ownership.

Best wishes for the new entrant.

Hope you will stay inside the new car and the forum for longer durations and with more regularity .

Last edited by dailydriver : 17th October 2022 at 15:23.
dailydriver is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 17th October 2022, 15:43   #446

Re: My Maruti Wagon-R F10D: 16 years, 258,000 kms, makes way for the Baleno!

Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
Tradition must continue - The WagonR welcomed the Ertiga back then in 2013 when its Odo was 2.22L and now the Ertiga welcomed the Baleno with 2.3L Km on its Odo:
Congratulations Parag, wishing you a happy miles with Baleno. The WagonR is a Legend!
PrideRed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2022, 15:50   #447

Many many congratulations Paragbhai!

You're truly the kind of automotive purist that one must follow to understand how to manage & properly use a car. Selling the WagonR with clean interiors, a full service & functionally fully fit, goes to show people who truly respect their possessions would be so gracious when parting with it.

Your informative posts & ownership threads have a sense of wholesomeness, they keep too many people eagerly engaged.

Cheerios!
GrammarNazi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th October 2022, 08:23   #448

That’s a nice farewell post for your WagonR. Its always tough to let go such a trouble-free wonderful machine after spending 16 years and 2.57L Kms. And so nice of you to get a full service done before handing the car to the next owner.

Congratulations on your Baleno. Its time for a breakfast drive .
arun_josie is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 18th October 2022, 09:52   #449

Congratulations on your latest aquisition. Wish you miles and miles of happy ownership.

Although I have never met you personally, heard only good things about you and your legendary Wagon-R from a common friend. Wagon-R is quite a practical, compact car and folks who have owned / used the car extensively will not disagree mostly.
BTW, 5728 seems to be your lucky number, no!?
Emvi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th October 2022, 09:55   #450

Loved the post! Also how impeccably maintained are those interiors!
Also sat in a ola yesterday it was a wagon-r a 2015 lxi with 3.3 lakh on the odo! Terrible condition as it runs day and night but quite shocking to see such high mileage on not a really old wagon-r
UMXR is offline   (6) Thanks