Old 15th August 2010, 16:02   #76

Yes, the non-CRDe can never be a "she". he is a 'macho' man!
Old 15th August 2010, 18:40   #77

Found some old pics of my oldie-
1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-111.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-222.jpg  

Old 15th August 2010, 19:02   #78

^^^ Some Idiotic comments from me:

That Handsome lady is acting pretty well. Looking the most beautiful lady, she is the one who looks as a Smartly acting man posing all the time as a women.

If you did understand that then revert back.
Old 15th August 2010, 19:10   #79

Sorry buddy, i dint understand a thing! :-(
Old 15th August 2010, 19:41   #80

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
Sorry buddy, i dint understand a thing! :-(
Ohhhhh...k. Then, In simple words, The car is looking good. Could you please elaborate something on the longevity of parts?
Old 15th August 2010, 22:52   #81

can you say which parts are you talking about?

apart from the timing kit, tyres & some wear & tear parts, nothing really has been changed or replaced in my car.
Old 16th August 2010, 17:26   #82

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
can you say which parts are you talking about?

apart from the timing kit, tyres & some wear & tear parts, nothing really has been changed or replaced in my car.
Parts like Tie-rod wear, wheel bearings and some others, AC compressor, Power steering PLAY, Diesel pump leakage or service issues?
Old 16th August 2010, 23:56   #83

Nothing at all. As i said, apart from the wear & tear items like clutch plate, brake pads, tyres, etc., nothing has been changed in this car. The AC blower was changed once, due to a squeaking noise. the fuel pump was serviced twice & all other services were done on schedule.

the only major repair it had was the timing kit change which i had to change due to my negligence of not replacing it on time.
Old 21st August 2010, 18:56   #84

Hi Raj, what were the service intervals generally followed for your 2003 Scorpio ?

My ASC keeps calling me up every 5000 kms (sometimes even before ) for the servicing of my 2004 Scorpio (non CRDE, acquired last year). I do not know if servicing once every 10k kms would suffice.

It has 90 k on the ODO, without any major problems so far. Thanks in advance

Last edited by mooza : 21st August 2010 at 18:58.
Old 21st August 2010, 19:05   #85

my car goes to the A.S.S every 10k kms & does only those jobs which are mentioned in the manual, nothing more or less.
Old 21st August 2010, 19:29   #86

^^ Thanks. I will do my next servicing at 95k kms (my previous one was at 85k). My ASC is just trying to make quick bucks with frequent servicing reminders, I guess !
Old 27th August 2010, 11:33   #87

I too have a black Scorpio DX, non CRDE, 2004 model. I totally love it. Although, havent done too many trips, so the odo is around the 50K km mark.

Have a question: what is the average service bill that you get? Any other scorpio owners in Bangalore - please do clarify. My last bill was around 10K, and it seems a tad too high!
Old 13th December 2011, 17:23   #88

Re: 1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!

I need to update this thread, quite a long time...

The BRUTE (yes, i have named him BRUTE) is still with us in Kerela, touching 2 lakh kmsa. His age is showing now, which is purely due to neglect. Nobody to care for him, no fixed driver, driven around by different bus drivers, nobody to wash him, so he is basically struggling.

The BRUTE's engine is still strong, thought now it has become noisy. Even after changing the engine mounts, some vibrations do creep in from the steering & gear lever. Though apart from that, the engine, gearbox & suspension is working without any issues. Infact, it even returns 11-12 kmpl in Kerela. The gearbox is very very smooth.

Issues faced -

1) Power Steering oil pipe leak - Gave the car to a newly opened Mahindra A.S.S. in Allapuzha (Kerela). Part took 4 days to arrive & costed Rs. 2500.
2) Right fog light now working - Rectified
3) Left rear door not central locking - Rectified
4) AC not cooling - Still not rectified

The A.S.S. did not have the equipement to solve the AC issue & hence we had to take it to a local garage. We spent 6000/- as it had a leak & also for refilling the gas, but still the AC issue has not been solved.

Apart from that, the only issue I am facing is, i think, related to a common source. when the headlights are ON, whenever I switch on the indicator, the head lights flickers for a second. Also, the instrument console light is very dim making the warning lights barely visible in day light. when i switch on the hazards, the cabin light also dims in succession! Battery is in good condition.a

Pics will be uploaded soon.
Old 14th December 2011, 12:20   #89

Some pics of the BRUTE -
1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0854.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0855.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0866.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0871.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0875.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0860.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0862.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0863.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0867.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0877.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0885.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0889.jpg  

1.8 lakh kms with Scorpio GLX!-dsc_0890.jpg  

Old 19th December 2011, 17:11   #90

The AC was not cooling well. Spent 6000 earlier in a local garage, the problem resurfaced. Took it to a reputed AC specialist. He had to change the compressor now it is working fine. When I enquired to why this happened, he said that it is because of its age. The car is 2 lakh kms run & 8 years old, so the compressor was nearing its end.

Damage - Rs. 20,000/-