Old 5th March 2010, 16:35   #256

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
Retrofitting projectors is a better idea than sourcing the entire unit from Taiwan. As you said, the quality is suspect so it's better not to go in for them and regret later. Besides, I'm told that the Accord's electricals don't take kindly to the aftermarket headlight units! The malfunction easily, apparently!

If you aren't going to retrofit the projectors, then I suggest you shelve the plan of installing HIDs altogether! It's not worth having people shout at you from the other side!

Finally! She looks lovely bro! Understated, yet sexy!

yeah even though i am getting the projector headlights for $160 in the end i want better visibility and not looks. so il just figure out the retrofit thing and then see what to do.

thanks, sometimes i wish i had gone for 18" but then everytime i see a pothole i reassure myself that 17" was the right choice.
Old 11th March 2010, 17:22   #257

UPDATE -

i got 4300k HIDs fitted in the low beams and fog lamps today. i was deciding between 6000k and 4300k but then i wanted better visibility to 4300k was the obvious choice. as of now they are in the stock reflector but im trying to work out a deal to get projectors retrofitted. even in the stock reflector they are very focused.

also got 3m cr70 sunfilm on the front windscreen. i cant really comment on its performance but i felt i was making a difference in the amount of heat entering the cabin.

coming up - pics, report and full photoshoot of the car.
Old 17th March 2010, 14:38   #258

Still waiting for the pictures bro!!!
Old 18th March 2010, 01:29   #259

Originally Posted by iceman7 View Post
Still waiting for the pictures bro!!!
very soon my friend, very soon.
Old 18th March 2010, 01:35   #260

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
very soon my friend, very soon.
Where did you get them fitted? Please tell the cost too

P.S : Belated Happy b'day, you didn't check your MSN I guess
Old 18th March 2010, 01:39   #261

Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
Where did you get them fitted? Please tell the cost too

P.S : Belated Happy b'day, you didn't check your MSN I guess
got them fitted from car lounge in milan subway. top class work.

4300k 9006 (low beam) and h11 (fogs) 7.5k a pair = 15k
front windscreen sunfilm 3m cr70 = 6k

thanks alot, no i didnt see msn.
Old 26th March 2010, 03:36   #262

a small note to those buying the car. the power can be dangerous. i found out today what speed it maxes out in 3rd gear. 170kmph. i took it to 220kmph and the car was still going strong. it will probably touch 250kmph easily. wow is all i can say after my drive today.
Old 26th March 2010, 06:32   #263

it will probably touch 250kmph easily.

And, all this for the price of a top-end City! Pre-worshipped deals are spicy!
Old 26th March 2010, 08:19   #264

All that torque. Shows you the 0-100 times don't mean much.
Old 26th March 2010, 13:35   #265

And, all this for the price of a top-end City! Pre-worshipped deals are spicy!
true that, my friend.

Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
All that torque. Shows you the 0-100 times don't mean much.
this car gets its act together after 100kmph. that is where the rs's and laura tsi's get left behind. not that the 0-100 is slow at 8.3 seconds. but i think 160kmph comes up in about 16-17 seconds.
Old 31st March 2010, 02:14   #266

UPDATE -

in the next few days i will send the car for another service/checkup. there are a few jobs which need to be completed.

1. there is lots of brake judder if the brakes are put under even little more than normal strain. i dont know what could be causing this. maybe the rotors need to be skimmed and the pads replaced. also the brake lacs bite, IMO cars with a/t do have slightly less bite in their brakes but this is tooo little. i think the pads will need to be replaced. now the question is whether its worth getting hawk performance pads or OE honda pads. any help?

2. changing to fully synthetic mobil 1 5w50 engine oil. the car will be very smooth after this. also have ows 210 engine flush which my service advisor will make sure is used properly and ows 360 gas and diesel treatment.

3. i think the battery might also need replacement since it is about 2.5 years old now. also the car takes a little longer to start than id like.

any help or suggestions will be appreciated.
Old 31st March 2010, 15:20   #267

there is lots of brake judder if the brakes are put under even little more than normal strain. i dont know what could be causing this. maybe the rotors need to be skimmed and the pads replaced. also the brake lacs bite, IMO cars with a/t do have slightly less bite in their brakes but this is tooo little. i think the pads will need to be replaced. now the question is whether its worth getting hawk performance pads or OE honda pads. any help?
Known issue with the V6 Accords (see link). Too much power, AT, regular Joe brakes. If you intend to drive the car spiritedly (duh!!), get a nice set of name brand performance pads / discs.
Old 31st March 2010, 15:50   #268

Known issue with the V6 Accords (see link). Too much power, AT, regular Joe brakes. If you intend to drive the car spiritedly (duh!!), get a nice set of name brand performance pads / discs.
hmm. in that case i will buy a set of hawk pads when im in the us this time. maybe even rotors. but ive heard they arent a perfect fit. thats what im worried about.
Old 6th April 2010, 00:28   #269

UPDATE -

today i gave the car to arya honda for a service since its been 3 months since i gave the car last. the odo now reads around 8900kms.

i changed the engine oil to mobil1 synthetic and the ows 210 engine flush was used before changing the oil. the engine is now very, very, very smooth and will put a mercedes to shame. and the way she revs

also normally they dont allow customers to bring their own engine oil, but my service advisor is a very good fellow. he does a good job. if anyone wants to send their car to arya honda let me know i will give you my SA's no.

there were also a few little things that had to be done. the suspension was checked up and retorqued. it was getting a bit loose since it was making some noise. now its perfect.

the brakes were also checked up and 'serviced'. the pedal had too much play earlier and now it is much better. the brake judder though is too much on this car, honda should have provided better brakes. also the handbrake needed to be adjusted since it had to be pulled too much to engage.

also ive been told the drivers side window motor will need to be replaced soon and that will set me back by around Rs.4000.

the total amount came to Rs.3685.

now i need to do my long pending photoshoot, what say?

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 6th April 2010 at 00:33.
Old 6th April 2010, 11:34   #270

true that, my friend.

this car gets its act together after 100kmph. that is where the rs's and laura tsi's get left behind
And if you have to brake suddenly while driving at such high speeds, you will once again see that RS and Laura Tsi's get left behind...they stop far too quickly.

And last weekend on the e-way, I had to keep my Laura Tsi in 6'th to keep an Accord V6 interested in the game, but that guy became mad and too agressive for my liking...so I shifted to 5'th and sadly watched the V6 steadily reduce in size in my rear view mirror...

When you plan your street races, remember that the Lauras and Superbs around you may have turbocharged fuel stratified injection engines that can cause shame to much larger old economy V engines + they have 6 and 7 speed gearboxes and awesome brakes too.

Just a teaser bro...enjoy your V6 and keep safe braking distance.