Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Long-Term Ownership Reviews
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 9th March 2011, 13:08   #1
Distinguished - BHPian

Fiesta 1.6 Sxi 2006 : New/Used car ownership at 1,15,000 km EDIT: Now sold!

Finally decided to pen this down here rather than hijack somebody's thread.

OK!
So, completed 10000 KMs today in my 2006 fiesta, bought used, clocked in 56k today morning.
Total time: 9 odd months.

Here goes the end to end of ford (more later) ownership, pitfalls to avoid in buying used, slight under the hood mods, slight ICE upgrades, and some costs.

So, june last year, i was looking out to upgrade from a santro zipdrive which I had been driving since 2001.
Did 1.3 Lac on it, then started working in gurgaon, and decided i needed more punch for the expressway.
Met up with dealers/individuals selling balenos,OHCs, but somehow the OHC, though pathbreaking for their time, just did not do it for me.
Blame it on the vintage of the cars i drove, but none of them clicked at all!!

So one one rainy evening, i was having pakoras at nauroji nagar, with the thought of a new car sent right back in the mental filing cabinet.
Just for kicks, crossed over to a dealer guy right there, on the other side of the road.
I asked him, I am looking for a belono or OHC in the 2.5L range(at a stretch, ie).
"No sir"
about to walk out, when he says,
"Sir, 2.6 tak kheench do to fiesta hai, top model."
(i have a fiesta for 2.6L)

Now, never been a fan of ford india.
One of my friends suffered with a flair in college days, where he owned it for 3weeks, when it called for some suspension problems, left him poorer by 30k, and was sold off in the 4th week.

But, unfortunately, my wife was with me, and she's a HUGE fan of mr. abhishek bacchan.
"oh, fiesta, fiesta...lets see na, please!!!"

Well, ok.
out we go, and walk to this platinum machine(nomenclature which still confuses me,sometimes ford mechs too).