Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 12th November 2011, 15:58   #1

Which Car to buy For 1 Crore Budget ?

Well guys am using a BMW 530 d now and am 29 and have 2 options and that is to go for a sports car or a luxury sedan and i somehow feel a luxury sedan is my choice but again if i find something very interesting in a sports car i can always have a look.

Jaguar people proposed to me to either go for a XKR sports coupe or a XJL and i even test drove a XJL and felt quite comfortable but the long wheel base version is quite long

anyways have been looking at BMWs 7 series , audi a8, Mercedes S class but all are not at all up to the mark or are the older models with a new one dew.

so please help me cause i wanna buy a car in a months time ?
Old 12th November 2011, 16:02   #2

Re: Which Car to buy For 1 Crore Budget ?

This might help you:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/luxury...ver-vogue.html
Old 12th November 2011, 16:45   #3

I believe you should upgrade to a Z4.

My cousin who is in your age bracket just got one and I had it with me for a few days. The car is made for the young/the young at heart and it's shorter wheel base makes it ideal to tackle all of the road bumps too. Get the Jag and the 7 series etc when you are older or if you prefer the rear seats.

Other options could be the 6 series coupe or the M3 coupe.
Old 12th November 2011, 16:52   #4

My brother-in-law had the same predicament as you last month and after checking out everything on the market including merc s, cls, bmw 7, audi A7 & A8, Porsche cayenne, Range rover etc we finally closed in on the Jag XJL. I feel its the best of the lot and also the most current.

The S is due for a model change, BMW 7 facelift is expected and the audi felt too boring. Just go with the Jag, you wont regret it.
Old 12th November 2011, 16:56   #5

So you're confused. You want a luxury sedan, but if something interesting comes along your way, you don't mind a sports car. I've got the perfect solution for you. Err.. actually BMW has the perfect solution for you!
Which Car to buy For 1 Crore Budget ?-bmw_650i_coupe_2012_stylesauto_03.jpg  

Old 12th November 2011, 16:58   #6

IF you want an SUV and you wont mind petrol; go for the G55
Old 12th November 2011, 17:25   #7

Originally Posted by sujithnk View Post
Well guys am using a BMW 530 d now and am 29 and have 2 options
I simply have no idea about the prices/models available north of 15 lakhs. Your thread prompted me to use Google and this is what I could find New Car Prices New Delhi, Price Range - Rs. 50 Lacs to One Crore

Off topic:
Sujithnk - I have to admit that I am jealous of you! At 29 asking about a car with a budget of a crore! BTW what do you do? Your occupation shows retail but I would like to know more- Please PM me

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
I believe you should upgrade to a Z4.

My cousin who is in your age bracket just got one and I had it with me for a few days.
Same question man - What does your cousin do?
Old 12th November 2011, 17:47   #8

Considering your age M5 or Panamera diesel

Old 12th November 2011, 17:54   #9

I would suggest the foll :

Luxury : Jag XJ L

Sports : 1. BMW M5/ M6 coupe or the Audi R8

SUV : Range Rover or the Merc GL

All the Best
Old 12th November 2011, 18:13   #10

I recently had a go in BMW 6 and if you are going for style and luxury try it. BMW Z4 is great too but I would buy a Porsche Cayman instead as a keeper. Taking liberty and commenting at your age please don't buy an uncle car
Old 12th November 2011, 18:41   #11

I don't have that kind of money so this thread is interesting. Especially because its so hard to find a decent sedan in the 7-9 lakh OTR range but 1cr gets you so many options.
Purely from what i've read and seen on the roads, a Jag would be my choice. Its still a pretty fresh design on the India roads!
Or....get the Evoque!! Its so damn handsome and every TV show rates it as a great car. Plus you could save yourself half of your budget.

Last edited by Nilesh5417 : 12th November 2011 at 18:44.
Old 12th November 2011, 18:44   #12

Get a Porsche 911 - 2 reasons.

1. That way you don't have to buy another one when the mid-life crisis hits you.
2. You being on the good side of 30, the power-to-weight ratio of this car does its magic better.
Old 12th November 2011, 19:12   #13

Have you ever though where you will drive it? Most of the roads outside Metros (and even in Metros) are an absolute disaster for a low slung sports car. It may be fine if you use it for traveling from your farm house on the fringe of a Metro to a club of hotel, but try to take it any where else and you will scrape the bottom clean most of the time.

This is one of the reasons that macho SUV are so popular here. You can move around in style over roads or no-roads, and the most macho of them all is the Mercedes G55 http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/super-...1-1-crore.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ex-mumbai.html
Old 12th November 2011, 20:39   #14

Originally Posted by S350L-E240 View Post
Considering your age M5 or Panamera diesel

The M5 will be north of 1.2 OTR from what I've heard. Also he wants to pick it up in a months time.

The way I see it if you can't decide between a luxury and a sports car get both in one. The M5 would have been great but does not seem to be possible. Check out the new XKR though delivery again might be a bit sketchy. The 6 series too is a great buy and gives you comfort, sportiness and the convertible roof.
Old 12th November 2011, 20:55   #15

Sports car and sedan are totally different in experience (sound note, handling, steering, braking, etc.), features (retractable roof, less room for gadgets, etc.) and utility (space, GC, etc.). First make up your mind what you want from the car. Among luxury cars in India, BMW seems to provide best value (actual & perceived). My pick would be Volvo XC series (XC60, XC70, XC90) of crossovers which are safe and especially suited for Indian roads.