Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 3rd September 2013, 14:57   #136

Re: BMW 320d (F30) vs Audi A4

Originally Posted by Bluebeem View Post

Haha Again ! Do you see the complete change of lanes you did there in the above quoted statements just to make yourself look knowledgable in front of the crowd? from the "water or water, once it gets into the engine, the engine is done" to "it may be true some cars have a bit more tolerance to water". Shooting in the dark? are we? . Or did we just imagine, that since the 2 statements were made in different threads, nobody would notice.
Can you explain how a japanese engine that allows little water to enter the combustion chamber will be able to compress the air/fuel mixture along with water and result in the combustion? Will the water also combust being a small quantity? So basically, a little water, a little fuel and a little air will actually burn in a Japanese engine but in the german engine the water cannot burn?

I'm not trying to make fun or anything but water being combustible is sort of against the laws of physics if you ask me.
Old 3rd September 2013, 15:05   #137

Mod Note: Please stay on-topic and do NOT engage in personal attacks. Posts that are sarcastic or confrontational in any way will be deleted.
noopster is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2013, 15:32   #138

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post

The 3 is my first Bimmer. But if you think it is the first Bimmer in the family then you are mistaken. Believe me I'm not trying to mislead people, whatever I say is from my personal experience and those of my close friends.
And yet you safely assume that its okay for you to make claims on the BSI, service costs etc, it was wrong on my part because i had owned for a short period?

In what way was I wrong? I said water once in an engine, will finish off the engine. Now you please explain to me how you are going to get only one drop of water inside, for which your engine may have a threshold of? If water goes in a lot is going to go in so no matter what the threshold its going to stall.
EDIT - TSK seems to have explained this better than me.
What lane change are you talking about man? I am still saying water, once inside your engine will finish it. There is no shooting in the dark. Perhaps your understanding of English needs some brushing up, but the second statement is just an addition to the first. Because both still mean that once water enters the engine it is done.
The topic was discussing the threshold of BMW engines vs others, and i said the less space inside the cylinders makes the BMWs more prone to hydrostatic lock this due to the lesser capacity in the cylinder. I believe thats where this topic rests. It was strictly discussing that waterlogging situation alone where the water enters the car from the air intakes which in BMWs case are situated below the car.

BTW TSK - You'll need to define "engine" here. The water enters the cylinders, but different cars can tolerate different amounts of it due the cylinder size. Does this qualify as "entering the engine" for you ?

Another way is water entering through the fuel tank. I believe someone has posted his experience with an A6 where his A6 stalled soon after filling water mixed in diesel from a particular pump. Does this qualify as "entering the engine" ? . In this case, the immediate solution is to clean out the water tank. Only if ENOUGH water has gone to the cylinders the car will completely stall. If i remember correctly, the A6 in question also ran for about 20 minutes before giving up completely. It may be debatable on how it did manage to run for those 20 minutes.

[/quote]My knowledgeable friend. There is a base model of the X1 which was released a short while after the launch, which misses out on things like I drive and xenons. Sort of like the 320D base model. I'm terribly surprised your brilliant BMW dealer did not inform you of this? Don't worry there is no discount of 8 lacs on the X1. But similar discounts to what you would get on the 3 series, maybe a tad bit more.[/quote]

I was indeed not aware of this. Yup, lets call the dealer dumb because he didnt call me when the base model was launched later. lol

But if you want to just repeat what your dealer told you then I am going to question it.

I have been told by senior enough people in BMW that BSI Ultimate is now just renamed BSI Service Plus.
Well after you said it had been discontinued, I did actually believe you and called a few people up. Some denied it, while someone more senior said only the name was changed. If you would like to count a name change as it being discontinued then my apologies, it has been discontinued. You are right!!!!!
You're doing the same thing. Just repeating information the dealer or "Senior" informed you. As i've told you earlier, i'm gonna try this one last time, The BSI Service Plus, excludes certain regular wear n tear parts which were otherwise included in the BSI Ultimate. The only way you can get these excluded parts covered is by buying a separate warranty extension for a large amount over and above the 2.7 lacs you pay for the 5yr/60k km BSI Service Plus.

In the BSI ultimate all of this was covered for 2.7 lacs. So much about blanket ill informed statements. Lets close this please.

Mod Note: Removed the personal comments at the end. Please stick to the topic under discussion and abide by moderator warnings.

Last edited by noopster : 3rd September 2013 at 16:56. Reason: Refer mod note inline
Old 3rd September 2013, 15:57   #139

Originally Posted by Bluebeem View Post
Another way is water entering through the fuel tank. I believe someone has posted his experience with an A6 where his A6 stalled soon after filling water mixed in diesel from a particular pump. Does this qualify as "entering the engine" ? . In this case, the immediate solution is to clean out the water tank. Only if ENOUGH water has gone to the cylinders the car will completely stall. If i remember correctly, the A6 in question also ran for about 20 minutes before giving up completely. It may be debatable on how it did manage to run for those 20 minutes.
Two totally different things. When water enters engine due to diesel contamination, the fuel sedimeter or water separator is supposed to remove water from diesel.
The fuel passes through injectors. If your water separator cannot remove water, it will damage the common rail and injectors and the fuel pump even before it enters the cylinders. Fuel in tank causes Common rail and fuel pump failures, and not engine hydrostatic lock.
Hydrostatic lock occurs when water enters through intake(more common), or through exhaust. Eg. your vehicle stalls in water, with exhaust submerged, and you crank engine.
However, second is not as common.
The point I made is that when the most common cause of hydrostatic lock occurs( water through air intake), the volume of water is large. So whether the engine has capacity to take 1ml water or 50ml water it does not matter because both engine will lock as volume of water sucked in due to high suction in huge.
To get a measure of the suction, remove air filter and keep your hand on the intake. The suction will make your hand stick to the intake, its so strong.
So if air intake of any car(BMW or japanese) is under water, they will stall. Water capacity is insignificant.
To give you another analogy, lets say you create a bullet proof vest.
1 vest can stop 9mm bullets.
second vest can stop 19mm sub machine gun bullets.

Then you go to a war where the enemy is firing .50 Calibar BMG at you and the bullet hits you. What will happen? It will rip through both the vests and cut you in half.

So will the 19mm vest be any better? Nope. This is the point which you are not getting. Anyways i am out of analogies
tsk1979 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2013, 17:19   #140

I'm not trying to make fun or anything but water being combustible is sort of against the laws of physics if you ask me.
I've not read this discussion, and I'm probably as OT as some of the posts here, but for the sake of sharing information (and hopefully not adding more fuel to the fire):

Water-injection is actually a known method for preventing detonation. A nozzle sprays a fine mist of water directly into the intake to cool the air/fuel mix. This lets forced induction engines run higher compression ratios with less risk.

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th September 2013, 08:14   #141

Originally Posted by Sunnysm View Post
For all who are planning to buy the 3 series, here is the deal I got in NCR for a 2012 baseline model. After negotiating for a month with the two dealers, I got a discount of Rs. 4.75 lakhs and a Space saver. If you need specific details, please feel free to message me.
Thats a really sweet deal. Just got that Email and it looks mouthwatering. BTW sorry for the confusion but this is the E90 right? Or is this the newer F30? I was under the impression that BMW had exhausted its stock of the E90s.
Old 4th September 2013, 10:33   #142

Thats a really sweet deal. Just got that Email and it looks mouthwatering. BTW sorry for the confusion but this is the E90 right? Or is this the newer F30? I was under the impression that BMW had exhausted its stock of the E90s.
That's an F30, no E90s left now.
Old 4th September 2013, 10:57   #143

Originally Posted by sameerg001 View Post

That's an F30, no E90s left now.
Pune dealer has one left which was offered to me for 34L OTR couple of weeks ago. It was top end petrol version with straight six cylinders engine. Sorry, forgot the variant name.
the_skyliner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th September 2013, 19:34   #144

No, this is F30 baseline, 2012 model when you check the VIN. However, it has been billed to the dealer in June 2013, so the registration will show the manufactured date as 2013. This one also has automatic rear window blind. Some of the F30s do not have this. I specifically asked for a car that has it.

E90 - I think they had some dynamic editions left but were more expensive. I did a test drive of the E90 as well a couple of months ago but found the ride quality of F30 much better.

The only thing I miss is the Corona rings. :(
Sunnysm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th September 2013, 20:02   #145

No, this is F30 baseline, 2012 model when you check the VIN. However, it has been billed to the dealer in June 2013, so the registration will show the manufactured date as 2013.

The only thing I miss is the Corona rings. :(
I did enquire about the same from BMW, note that for BMW buy back program they have different valuation for same spec used car with a VIN manufacturing of different years... Irrespective of assembly / purchase date.
Old 4th September 2013, 22:21   #146

No, this is F30 baseline, 2012 model when you check the VIN. However, it has been billed to the dealer in June 2013, so the registration will show the manufactured date as 2013. This one also has automatic rear window blind. Some of the F30s do not have this. I specifically asked for a car that has it.
It is a fantastic deal I feel. Is that the final OTR price? So with BSI ultimate this will still cost less than 30L I am guessing. Do post some pics of your ride.
Old 4th September 2013, 23:51   #147

It is a fantastic deal I feel. Is that the final OTR price? So with BSI ultimate this will still cost less than 30L I am guessing. Do post some pics of your ride.
Yes, it is.

Registration, Road tax, Handling charges, Insurance etc are additional. Aprrox. 3.5-4 Lakhs.

Attaching some pictures.
BMW 320d (F30) vs Audi A4-img_9793.jpg  

BMW 320d (F30) vs Audi A4-img_9795.jpg  

BMW 320d (F30) vs Audi A4-img_9797.jpg  

BMW 320d (F30) vs Audi A4-img_9807.jpg  

BMW 320d (F30) vs Audi A4-img_9810.jpg  

Sunnysm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th September 2013, 11:08   #148

Audi just released an advertisement that they have upgraded the A4 to 177 bhp with drive experience. This should now make the battle between the 3 and A4 very interesting. BMW will have a big fight on its hands now.
sandeep108 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th September 2013, 11:39   #149

Yes, it is.

Registration, Road tax, Handling charges, Insurance etc are additional. Aprrox. 3.5-4 Lakhs.

Attaching some pictures.
Nothing comes close in looks to a Black F30... stunning pictures. Sunny can you please email me the pricing details for your buy at rdiwanmail@gmail.com. Thanks!

Originally Posted by sandeep108 View Post
Audi just released an advertisement that they have upgraded the A4 to 177 bhp with drive experience. This should now make the battle between the 3 and A4 very interesting. BMW will have a big fight on its hands now.
I am truly tempted to borrow the lines from Apple and say, "This Changes Everything". This engine upgrade does allow A4 to take the fight to 320d; though I am surprised that Audi is not making too much noise about it yet. Could not find more details about it on their website but I am suspicious that this will co-exist with the 140 BHP model, which could be the reason of the soft launch.
Old 5th September 2013, 12:27   #150

This is from today TOI Mumbai edition.

File Type: pdf Ad - Audi.pdf (540.1 KB, 321 views)

Last edited by riteshritesh : 5th September 2013 at 12:33.
riteshritesh is offline   (2) Thanks