Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 29th April 2006, 11:52   #16

Spot on with the Mondeo issues guys. As carholic mentioned the CD players are problematic and I've heard they costed a whopping 75,000 bucks to replace.

I think off all the D segmenters the Accord must be the cheapest to maintain
Old 29th April 2006, 13:31   #17

Originally Posted by Dippy
As carholic mentioned the CD players are problematic and I've heard they costed a whopping 75,000 bucks to replace.

I think off all the D segmenters the Accord must be the cheapest to maintain
Hey dippy its absolutely true that the cd players costs 75000 bucks we are also planning to get it replaced on our mondeo.

& i totally agree with you that among all the d segmenters the accord must be the cheapest to maintain.
Old 29th April 2006, 23:13   #18

Originally Posted by tabrez02

How much should i pay for a 2002 Mondeo Petrol which has run around 70K and i would be the third owner and has a third party ins. The car is in good condition and is in Bangalore.
I just checked out a well maintained 2002 petrol Mondeo out here in Bombay. Single owner, comprehensive insurance, 50k kms, asking price was 6 lacs, but could well be got for 5.5l. There was a diesel one too @ 7 lacs.

The car you are talking about should go for 4.25l max considering it's in Delhi and the mileage and you would be the 4th owner of this vehicle.
Old 30th April 2006, 09:49   #19

Originally Posted by hawkeye
There was a diesel one too @ 7 lacs.
Hey i think you should go for the petrol one rather than going for the diesel version. Its much much much better.
Old 1st May 2006, 11:25   #20

Hi guys

Thanks for all your responses, Surely with all those comments i would be a big fool to pickup this car. As this car is with the dealer and he was quoting the last price of about 6.75L. Now just for the info, can some of the owners of the mondeo through some light on what does they mean the servicing is expensive ? How much does it costs for the serviceing ? What are its basic ware n tear spares costs ? and how much for the Tail light, F/R bumbers, Tail lights etc.
Old 1st May 2006, 19:56   #21

Not sure if it is the same car, there is a silver mondy with approx 40k km, going for Rs 6 L. Belongs to a pilot, second owner. Supposed to be in good condition...considering his in laws own the metro ford dealership. PM me if you need more details

One thing to consider- parts prices are very reasonable if you can source from the UK directly

Last edited by ajmat : 1st May 2006 at 19:58.
Old 3rd May 2006, 08:40   #22

i think 4.5-5L should be fine.
Old 14th June 2010, 11:21   #23

Sorry for bumping into old thread, My brother saw an old Mondeo 2002 model done some 50K k.m. He is taken away by the driveability of the car. He drives himself and loves to drive. He is getting this car for 3 Lakhs so he wanted views on the same. Pls help me in arriving at a decision. Few factors on which advice needed are
1. Is Mondeo good enough to buy considering the cost of spare parts and service cost.
2. Is 3 Lakhs worth giving for 2002 model done around 50k, if not then what should be the cost?
3. Any indepandent garage where Mondeo can be serviced and maintained because after going through reviews one thing is clear that car can't be serviced at Ford Dealership
Saurabh
Old 14th June 2010, 12:28   #24

A bhpian sold a similar Mondeo for 2.65 in pune after originally purchasing it from Mumbai. This car had too many add-ons (even though they do not add to the resale, but helps in saleability and feel good factors)

Remember nobody wants to touch a Mondeo (where head rules over the heart). Accords of similar vintage go for 3.25ish in Mumbai. Mondeo should be somewhere 2.50 to 2.75ish at max.

Ask your brother to stack up some spare cash if he buys this (heart overruled the head). Ask him to get all the electrical and suspension bits checked from FORD service centers for a fee.
Old 15th June 2010, 11:21   #25

How come all the mondeos I have seen on the classifieds have done around 50k?

Please get it verified by the official dealer. Because I know someone who was about to do the same mistake before he found out that the car had done more than double that. 100% true story!

Also, the price should be in the range of 2.5-2.7 IMO.

All the best!
Old 11th September 2010, 14:32   #26

I sold my 2003 Mondeo petrol for abt 3 lakhs. done 80k. I hope that helps for ur reference. mind you, this car is amazing to drive and to look at but very high on maintenance. good luck

Last edited by the_stranger : 11th September 2010 at 14:33.