Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Search this Thread
Old 8th April 2013, 23:34   #1
BHPian

Looking for a premium daily drive car

I've been using the Jaguar XF as my daily drive for the past two years now, but I'm passing it on to my mother, as her beloved Range Rover Vogue is leaving the family. I've had a lot of trouble with the Range, and its time for a change.

So I've been considering nearly everything across the spectrum, from a 6series coupe and CLS 350 to the Porsche Cayenne and Panamera. I was also thinking of an E350 coupe and SLK.

The criteria is simple, its going be driven daily for at least 30Kms, so I'm open to sports cars, but not on the extreme end like the R8 or 911 because on our roads they'll turn my spine into a slinky.

I'm really keen on the Cayenne and Panamera, no particular reason, I just like the brand. So i want you guys to rationalize my options.
Old 8th April 2013, 23:36   #2
//M
Distinguished - BHPian

re: Looking for a premium daily drive car

How about a BMW Gran Coupe?

I have not driven the Gran Coupe or any of its competitors but the car looks stunning and since you are considering a 6-series coupe and a CLS350, the Gran Coupe might just hit the sweet spot.

The Jaguar XKR would also be worth a look, assuming that you are satisfied with the Jaguar brand. It is not as extreme as a 911 or a R8, but has its exclusivity factor (the XKR-S looks stunning in blue) and a powerful motor too.

My 2 cents.
//M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th April 2013, 23:47   #3
BHPian

Since you are fascinated by Porsche, I would suggest the new Boxster.

Not much in terms of practicality, But it will definitely make up for that and then some by way of driving pleasure.
Rokztar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th April 2013, 00:15   #4
Senior - BHPian

You want a daily driver, and you don't seem overly keen on getting a sports car. You like Porsche as a brand.