Mercedes GLC 21 10.82%
Land Rover Discovery Sport 24 12.37%
Voters: 194. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2021, 13:55   #1
BHPian

Volvo XC60 vs BMW X3 vs Mercedes GLC vs Audi Q5 vs Land Rover Discovery Sport

Hello Bhpians,

I need your help in finalizing and shortlisting the two or possibly THE one among the contenders.

I have been longing to get a German/European luxury brand for almost 5 years now. My last purchase was a European car but not entirely the marquee league. I bought a Skoda Octavia 1.8TSI L&K 2019, the last of its kind before BSVI kicked-in at the expense of 3GT at that time since 3GT was less practical with no boot space at all & it would have made me buy two cars since 3GT was not suitable for long runs & airport drives.

My current garage is an Octavia 1.8TSI & a Tata Tiago XZA.
The Octavia is the daily drive and have completed 40K kms in 2 years whereas the Tiago does the minor tight space market runs and occasional city runs and only driven by my wife have completed 18K kms in 5.5yrs

The new drive would have mixed use and I would split the miles between the Octavia & the new purchase and would sell the Tiago off.

Key Criteria:

1. Must be a SUV
2. Must be a Petrol
3. Would wish to retain this for 8-10 years so low cost of ownership is also desirable. Unlike lots of horror ownership stories of Octavia, in its 40K kms it has not faced any major issue and I have not spent a single penny apart from the maintenance package I bought at time of purchase (No tires, battery, wipers, brake pads etc. replaced till date)
4. Based out of Gurgaon, so any feedback on local dealership experience would also help
5. Looks & road presence matters a lot
6. Self drive, small family of 3, so not too concerned about back seat comfort
7. ICE-->Must be smashing & top of the league. I love the Canton in the Octavia and it is a non negotiable item. So pretty much rules out the entry/base model of all contenders.