Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 17th February 2022, 15:18   #1

Need a fast car for 2 years in India | Budget 75-lakhs

Need a fast car for 2 years in india. I browsed leasing options but the prices are exorbitantly high, 1.3L a month for a G30 530d. For that 31 Lacs i reckon i could buy a f10 530d. Open to buying a new m340i as well, but depreciation hit would be big. Other option i thought of is to buy an sell used, possibly a G30 530d or a G20 330i m sport. Not possible to buy 80L Mustangs or Caymans as it would be seen too exorbitant. For buying new; 75L budget. What could be done?
peepo is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th February 2022, 21:42   #2

re: Need a fast car for 2 years in India | Budget 75-lakhs

Buy a Mini Cooper JCW, new or used. Sell when you leave.
karanddd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th February 2022, 08:49   #3

Re: Need a fast car for 2 years in India | Budget 75-lakhs

Best for you to go used, man. A new 75-lakh car will have depreciated like crazy in 2 years.

Best options:

- A used G30 530d or even M5 if you're lucky. Have seen F10 M5s way under your budget.

- A pre-owned Porsche, be it a Cayman or a 911. I remember seeing a 6-speed MT 911 on Big Boy Toyz a couple of months back. Asking was ~70 lakhs.

- Mini Cooper S. Way too much fun. But more suited to someone with a 20 - 30 lakh wallet than one with 75 lakhs.

- The used + sporty options for that kind of money are insane. M3s & M4s (one more),R8s, Z4s. My suggestion = don't be particular about any specific model. If you find something fast that feels "just right" when you drive it, is well-maintained & has a clean history, go for it.

Happy shopping. Let us know what you finally ended up with .

Last edited by GTO : 18th February 2022 at 08:51.
GTO is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 18th February 2022, 12:16   #4

Honestly speaking, the budget actually is about 20L. That is no more than 20L expenses behind the car such as service, consumables such as oil, insurance and depreciation except fuel. Say buying at 75L and selling at about 65L and other 10L in expenses mentioned before. 2 door car such as the z4, r8 and Porsches certainly will be judged upon. Maybe an m3 could pass undetected as ricer 3 series? Current thoughts are around a used G20 or G30 for about 45-60L with a piggyback tune or a JCW for 45L and M3 but I really don't know what it could sell for again. Could a litre bike work instead of a fast car? I do not know how to ride motorbikes and also they don't seem even close to safe.

Is the AMG C63s difficult to get hold of? How about m6 Gran Coupe? What is the yearly cost such as maintenance, insurance and spares of these V8 cars like? Are the 6 cylinder ones significantly cheaper?

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 18th February 2022 at 15:03. Reason: Merged consecutive posts.
Old 18th February 2022, 14:03   #5

This thread has a lot of contradicting and confusing statements. It's best you be clear about what your requirement and also your budget.
And most importantly whether you want a bike or a car, you aren't even fully clear on that
Sahil is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 18th February 2022, 14:06   #6

Originally Posted by peepo View Post
Could a litre bike work instead of a fast car? I do not know how to ride motorbikes and also they don't seem even close to safe.
I would strongly advise against going for motorbikes & that too litre-class ones without any prior experience of bike riding.

Refer below thread for more information. Some excellent Dos/Don'ts shared by our forum members there:

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/super...-big-bike.html (Should I buy a Suzuki Hayabusa as my first big bike?)
Bhupesh_2628 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th February 2022, 15:57   #7

If I understand correctly, the OP wants to spend 20L on a car for 2 years. This includes buying and selling the said car in addition to insurance,service costs and other maintenance costs. Predicting a cars value 2 years down the line is quite impossible unless very well maintained etc.

Add to that you might have extra costs for extended warranty as well. Anything out of that can come up with huge numbers which arn't known.
Old 18th February 2022, 16:07   #8

@peepo,
If you dont know how to ride a bike, then a bike - esp a higher powered one is out of question.

Originally Posted by kartavya View Post
If I understand correctly, the OP wants to spend 20L on a car for 2 years. .
My understanding is - (example)

Buy now for 50L
Sell in 2 yrs for 30L
Hence total out-go excluding fuel & maintenance is 20L
Old 18th February 2022, 16:29   #9

Buy a Skoda Octavia vRS 245/230, if you can find one. If you're not happy with the power on tap, go for a remap and sell it at the end of your two year stint. It can still give 80-90% of the fun as against the other cars you're contemplating.VRS holds good value. This is an option which you can explore if you're concerned about the depreciation hit on a new car and hence the loss you'll suffer after two years while selling. Well, you can only minimize the damage but can't avoid it totally.

This thread by Bhpian Nikhilb2008 would help you to know more.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-...ml#post4264392 (2017 Skoda Octavia vRS 230 | 4 years and 83000 km)

Here's the official review thread too.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...al-review.html (Skoda Octavia vRS : Official Review)

Last edited by Bibendum90949 : 18th February 2022 at 16:43.
Bibendum90949 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th February 2022, 19:00   #10

I think I have come to a conclusion. Buying a somewhat fast car with around 200-300 horses and nothing exotic. I am somewhat pragmatic about reselling an M3 or a C63. Have finalized 4 cars which will hold value predictably. I think this will very will be close to the 20L expense budget.

>G30 530d
>G20 330i m sport
>VRS 230/45
>Cooper S (not JCW)
peepo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th February 2022, 19:43   #11

Slightly different view here.

With most highways having speed limits and many states (KL, Telangana, KA) having so many speed interceptors and speed rated fines, a fast car will make you wonder what you’ll do even on those fast straight expressways.
jkrishnakj is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 18th February 2022, 20:37   #12

Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
Slightly different view here.

With most highways having speed limits and many states (KL, Telangana, KA) having so many speed interceptors and speed rated fines, a fast car will make you wonder what you’ll do even on those fast straight expressways.
To go fast on state highways without cameras or speed traps. or going relatively fast on ghat roads.
Old 19th February 2022, 10:08   #13

I would recommend looking at the Audi S5. It’s 350bhp and 500Nm of torque. You might find a 2-3 year old pre facelift version for 50-60L.
ac-cobra is offline   (1) Thanks