Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 17th May 2022, 17:46   #1

Planning to buy a pre-worshipped Audi A6 | Need advice and guidance

I am planning to buy a pre-worshipped Audi A6 Matrix 2018 model (manufactured 2017 and registered may 2018) driven for appx 67000 km. Single owner, service done at audi dealership and then at local workshop, one case of diggy repair due to a hit from back (during warranty). The car is in ok condition from outside with few scratches on sides and a small dent. Inside except the creases on the seat cover, everything is in good working condition. Tires are new with full tread.

The deal has come through a known who owns the workshop and deals in used car sale and purchase. The car has been serviced twice at his workshop. He has reassured that all repairs and other things will be taken care before delivery including 3M car cleaning on the inside, a full service (it is due in 1000 km) and other stuff.

The car is in good condition and i have take a small test drive. Though it has adaptive suspension which can be raised, my biggest concern is scrapping the bottom (i have bad experience with my honda city) with full load and this is a quite long car (appx 4.97m long).

Everything seems ok. But these cars have a habit of giving nasty surprises.
So i need some guidance and advice so that I can cover the warranty and spare cost etc. for any future issues.

I am taking this as replacement of my current dzire diesel which is completing 15 years this year and will be retired next year.

I normally keep cars for a long duration (both previous cars have completed 15 years) and thus would like to avoid situations where future repair cost makes this vehicle unviable to run.

My budget for replacement was 20-22 lacs and new cars are not only expensive but also have a waiting period. With this offer, i am planning to stretch a little but get a vehicle of a different segment.

Many Thanks.
autobahnjpr is online now   (15) Thanks
Old 17th May 2022, 18:01   #2

re: Planning to buy a pre-worshipped Audi A6 | Need advice and guidance

The Audi A6 Matrix is quite a looker even today. Used the staple 2.0 TDI motor which is also fairly reliable by German standards. Having said that, it is a complex German car end of the day. Here's what you need to look out for:

- Air suspension: If you have read ownership threads on this forum before, you might already be aware of what I am hinting at. The air suspension on this car is complex. On our lovely roads, the air springs or airbags as they are also called are notorious for developing punctures. This will cause the car to lose ride height when it's parked. Drive long enough with this issue, and you risk burning the air compressor out too.

Another part that is notorious for failing on these is the valve block assembly which is the brain of the air suspension. It channels air to the four corners of the car depending on inputs from the ride height sensors. Failure of this component causes the car to droop from one side. All in all, have an FNG ready to deal with this. Suspension repairs at an ASC are guaranteed to cross the 6-digit mark

- Check if the headlamps are functioning perfectly. The matrix headlights look brilliant and have a lot of wizardry going on. Failure of these will again demand a 1L+ expense if you want a brand new one.

- Since it is nearing the 70-80K km mark, don't be surprised if the water pump gives up. Known issue in these 2.0 TDIs. Pump itself isn't expensive, but if the leak is allowed to manifest enough, it will ruin the timing belt. Total bill will be around 7K if the pump alone goes. If the belt and kit also need changing, that figure would be around 17-20K.

- Check if you feel any abnormal vibrations on start-up or shutdown. The engine mounts on this longitudinally mounted TDI are electronically controlled IIRC and cost a bomb to replace as compared to traditional rubber mounts.

Check if the transmission fluid has been changed. If it hasn't, that's an expense coming your way very very soon. The air conditioning should blow ice cold as well.

All in all, these cars are known to have some running repairs come up around the 80-120K km mark depending on how they are driven. Be prepared for those. Parts like the suspension, mountings etc will need to go at some point from now. Factor in around 1.5-1.7L of expenses per annum on an average for the remainder of your ownership (including tyres) and you should be fine. Remember, preventive maintenance is key. Neglecting mechanical issues is inviting trouble.

Last edited by vishy76 : 17th May 2022 at 18:03.
vishy76 is online now   (66) Thanks
Old 17th May 2022, 20:01   #3

Re: Planning to buy a pre-worshipped Audi A6 | Need advice and guidance

Couple of thoughts. 67000 km is above my comfort level. I wouldn't buy any car with over 40,000 km. 50,000 if it is exceptional otherwise.

Air suspension. And you are coming from a Dzire Diesel. You do realise these cars cost 1 - 1.5 lakhs a year to own? The air suspension alone runs in a few lakhs.

The car is just 4 years and the owner is already maintaining it outside? What major repairs came up that compelled him to do so?

I would personally pass on this car. It's not for you.
GTO is offline   (65) Thanks
Old 17th May 2022, 20:55   #4

All the best for the purchase. Keep the following points in mind while buying a used car specifically a German one.
1. Do not max out your budget buying the car. Something like if your budget is 25 lakhs, buy a car worth 18-20 lakhs and keep the rest as an emergency fund for unexpected maintenance.
2. Find a FNG who specialises in servicing German cars after your car is out of warranty.
Rest of the things will be as usual for buying used cars. If the maintenance has been done on time, etc.
adi.mariner is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 17th May 2022, 21:04   #5

Apart from the air suspension, the A6 is fairly reliable. Find a competent FNG for running repairs. 67k kms ain't a lot for these machines. It's better to get an adequately run car over a porch ornament. These cars tend to throw up issues when not in regular use.
asit.kulkarni93 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 00:15   #6

Whilst the A6 matrix remains my favourite design for a luxury sedan till date, I'd strongly recommend you opting against buying this car. Scratches and dents come and go but they seldom stay on cars that are well cared for.

If you're keen on stretching your 20-22 lac budget and have not found a used car you liked, I'd recommend checking out the Octavia or else look at the top end Slavia. A new car implies negligible suspense over the first 5-6 years and the sense of occasion of buying a brand new car is just too sweet!

Btw, I think (not certain though) Audi ditched the air suspension on the A6 matrix facelift for India, so if you have anything going for this car don't let the air suspension pull you down.

Last edited by manson : 18th May 2022 at 00:19.
manson is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 08:08   #7

Originally Posted by asit.kulkarni93 View Post
Apart from the air suspension, the A6 is fairly reliable. Find a competent FNG for running repairs. 67k kms ain't a lot for these machines.
67000 km isn't a lot and these cars age well. But once past a certain number of km and years, replacement parts cost a bomb. The air suspension alone is a couple of lakhs and it usually requires work every 5 years (note this car is 4 years old). The ABS board of my 5-Series failed and the official company cost was 2.5 lakhs (I got a refurbished piece for 70k). The AC compressor was a lakh or so officially, but I got one from the aftermarket for 40k.

I don't think a 67000 km A6 is the right upgrade for someone used to Dzire ownership costs. Especially one with air suspension.
GTO is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 08:28   #8

Was in same boat some time back but decided against touching any luxury marques. Mostly the first owner ends up enjoying the fruits of the new car benefits with the safety net of warranty and subsequent owners enjoy the bitter fruits of depreciation and huge maintenance costs.

These cars are hard to run on Indian roads. An average middle class person can easily afford a 4 year old luxury car, but will get frustrated soon with frequent troubles and huge repair costs. 20-22 lakhs is good money. No way to write off depreciation if you are salaried and may have to finally sell it off at scrap value.
poloman is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 08:47   #9

67000 km isn't a lot and these cars age well. But once past a certain number of km and years, replacement parts cost a bomb. The air suspension alone is a couple of lakhs and it usually requires work every 5 years (note this car is 4 years old). The ABS board of my 5-Series failed and the official company cost was 2.5 lakhs (I got a refurbished piece for 70k). The AC compressor was a lakh or so officially, but I got one from the aftermarket for 40k.

I don't think a 67000 km A6 is the right upgrade for someone used to Dzire ownership costs. Especially one with air suspension.
They key highlight here is "certain years". There is no guarantee that a 40k kms done 4 year old car will have lesser issues. Air suspension has gone bad on cars which barely crossed 20k kms. There is no fixed timeline on the failure. The issues you mentioned have cropped up in your low run car too. Anyone upgrading to a premium vehicle should be well aware of running repairs around brakes, suspension, gearbox & ancillary electrical equipment.
asit.kulkarni93 is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 10:54   #10

Well I think the main issue here will be the fact that the OP keeps his vehicles for 15 years. Buying a 4 year old car done 67k kms is a no go for me, considering how long the car will be kept. While 67k kms may not be that much in the overall span of things, what is unknown is how its been driven for those kms. Inherent issues may not show up in the first year or two, but considering how long the vehicle is to be kept, could be an issue later.

Also the air suspension will certainly trouble at some point or the other.

I would suggest the OP look out for a slightly used Superb/Passat which will be missing on some refinement and interior quality of the Audi, but will still overall be a big jump from the Dzire.
Akshay1234 is online now   (26) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 13:33   #11

If you're stretching your budget to pick up a pre-owned out of warranty German - please don't!!

These cars on average cost 1-1.5L in maintenance annually, and as time goes by the cost will only increase.

While the A6 is a brilliant car, the engine is fairly reliable and there aren't many niggles really - the biggest downside in terms of reliability (but also the main reason behind the stellar ride & handling, plus practicality of increasing ground clearance) is the air suspension - it is expensive to replace and isn't particularly reliable on our roads though newer models seem to be faring better.

If I were you, I'd look at pre-owned options in the 15-17L price bracket to keep a decent buffer for future maintenance but unfortunately most Germans in that price bracket would be significantly older barring a few examples such as the Audi A4 TDi, Superb TDi, Octavia TDi, and maybe mid-life variants of the 320D, etc.

I would also go an test drive the new Compass Diesel, and Octavia Style - the latter may fit into the extended budget after discounts (if stocks and schemes are still there).

Last edited by lamborghini : 18th May 2022 at 13:37.
lamborghini is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 17:38   #12

Hello.

The A6 wont be a fill it-shut it-forget it car like the dzire.

Everytime something goes wrong with A6 we would invariably compare the experience with that of the reliable dzire.

If you are able to look past the reliability and expenses then A6 is a nice deal.

PS- if you have 22lakhs to spare a newer preowned skoda octavia or something similar may make more sense. Its definitely bigger in size than the dzire but not as big as an A6.
TorqMaster is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 17:53   #13

If you have the budget then why not look at other cars in the used market. A low mileage Jetta TDI or an Octavia TDI would be a great option and will still be a significant upgrade from the dzire. If u want something like the A6, have a look at the Skoda Superb. You can find these cars under your budget and probably even save some money which you can use for maintenance and other stuff.

Last edited by DIV17 : 18th May 2022 at 17:55.
DIV17 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th May 2022, 21:38   #14

My strong advice is to pass this particular model and continue your hunting. In fact, for your budget of 20-22 lakhs, I strongly recommend you pass the luxury segment as it is highly challenging to find a pre-worshipped one with low mileage.

And of-course, buying a german luxury brand outside of warranty is a huge gamble. The other important underlining factor is that the car has been serviced outside which is a preemptive alert that it is a ticking time bomb to maintain.

I recommend you to consider other preowned (pre-worshipped) models like Superb, Camry, Octavia, Compass.
Livnletcarsliv is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 19th May 2022, 08:52   #15

Rather than a used Audi, go with a new Toyota Camry. You can keep it for 15-20 years easily. Looks dashing and is excellently reliable!
Rshrey22 is offline   (8) Thanks