Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 12th March 2023, 11:58   #1

Volkswagen Passat: What are the possible upgrade paths?

Greetings to everyone!

My family currently owns a late 2018/2019 Passat Highline. Even though we don't have plans of changing the vehicle anytime soon, I was just checking out the options out there; To my slight disappointment, I couldn't find a car which had all the features offered by the Passat (Adaptive Dampers, 360° Camera, Ventilated Seats) under a reasonable price point.

I am open to considering pre-worshipped vehicles as well, so suggest away!
elampumpkin is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 13th March 2023, 08:43   #2
rGT

Re: Volkswagen Passat: What are the possible upgrade paths?

A pre-owned 530d G30 (pre-LCI or LCI) is a possible upgrade, or else, a 330Li LCI, if rear seat space is a necessity. If you want both space and power, then you can look for pre-owned W213 E350d's, as the rear seats can gobble up entire galaxies, and the smooth V6 can provide you the driving pleasure when you want.

The Passat is such an accomplished car, that there are only a handful of cars within a fathomable price that can feel like a genuine upgrade from it, much like the Endeavour 3.2. So taking the pre-owned route is the only probable option for a genuine upgrade.
rGT is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 13th March 2023, 14:00   #3

You are driving a car that is extremely difficult to upgrade from. For one, the Passat itself is very accomplished. Second, after a certain price point (say 35 lakhs), the law of diminishing returns kicks in. From 40 lakh rupees and up, increasing the budget by 30% (as an example) doesn't necessarily lead to 30% more car.

Either go pre-worshipped, buy another car from a similar price band (e.g. Camry Hybrid, Kodiaq, Ioniq 5) or be prepared to pay through your nose for a new luxury German.
GTO is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 31st March 2023, 10:48   #4

Originally Posted by elampumpkin View Post
Greetings to everyone!

My family currently owns a late 2018/2019 Passat Highline. Even though we don't have plans of changing the vehicle anytime soon, I was just checking out the options out there; To my slight disappointment, I couldn't find a car which had all the features offered by the Passat (Adaptive Dampers, 360° Camera, Ventilated Seats) under a reasonable price point.

I am open to considering pre-worshipped vehicles as well, so suggest away!
Check out this one. The Volvo XC60 [2017-2021] D5 Inscription. It's got good power, efficiency, higher GC, Air suspension, AWD, 360 camera, ADAS and other features that you were looking for.

You would be lucky if you find one pre-owned in good condition. Volvo removed many features in the facelift petrol one.

There's a video on YouTube as well in which an actor reviews owning the pre facelift one:

Carwale link: https://www.carwale.com/volvo-cars/x...5-inscription/
Mahin_P21 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st March 2023, 11:32   #5

Hi there elampumpkin. I had a similar dilemma last year while looking to replace our 2012 Skoda Superb.

After trying out nearly every option within a 50L budget, we ended buying a Superb once again. Just like its cousin (the Passat), the Superb truly spoiled us with its space, quality and luxury. Options like the A4/C-class were simply too cramped after living with a Superb. Something from the E-class segment will be a true upgrade, however these are all upwards of 80L on-road.

As suggested by GTO, cars like the new Superb/Camry/Kodiaq/Tucson/Ioniq5 are great choices priced around the 50L mark.
Nair.V8 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st March 2023, 12:12   #6

Skoda Kodiaq is the only one I can think off that comes with all those features + adaptive suspension at this price range.
Cresterk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2023, 23:38   #7

Originally Posted by elampumpkin View Post
To my slight disappointment, I couldn't find a car which had all the features offered by the Passat (Adaptive Dampers, 360° Camera, Ventilated Seats) under a reasonable price point.
Did you consider Tiguan ? Coming from the same manufacturer and reasonable price point, it might suit!
MageshSai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th April 2023, 07:53   #8

That’s a Herculean task. As Passat is technically in the same category as A6, 5 series etc. All these cars will cost 80-90 lacs now. Hence pre owned is the only option in a reasonable budget. Then options are plenty. 530d. E350. A6. Even S90 can be looked at.
Old 7th April 2023, 18:09   #9

I have a 2010 Accord which still runs like day 1 but thanks to the inept NGT laws it can’t run past 2025 and I’d say the only cars that feel like an upgrade are the flagship Germans/Lexus.

5 series, E class and A6 aren’t much of an upgrade considering they make the same power (530i/M340i make decent power but no rear seat space), have the same space (less in many cases) and feel only like minor improvements even in areas like sound insulation and in car audio.

You can consider lightly used S/7 series but have it checked very thoroughly by the dealer and your trusted mechanic, ideally one that specialises in Germans. Also try finding 3-4 year old Lexus LS’s, it didn’t sell well and is a depreciation disaster.
Old 7th April 2023, 22:19   #10

Finding the right upgrade from a D+ segment sedan has always been a tough task. Since you're open to pre-worshipped cars also, I'd suggest you to have a look at the G30 530d M Sport. Pre-LCI cars certainly makes sense unless you are conscious about wanting to be seen in the latest version. 530d had enjoyed an insane following for what it actually was, thanks to the 6-cylinder diesel, fast performance, practicality and decent fuel efficiency. Also, equipment levels of the 530d M Sport are far superior to the E350 CDIs of similar age.