Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 13th April 2010, 20:05   #31

Originally Posted by adman77 View Post
Lot of people here are saying that the 2.4 manual is faster than the V6. I checked out and most of the sites show that the V6 (2006) does a 100 in 9.4 and the 2.4 does it in 11.8. How come?
i heard the same too. i dont know how a 140bhp manual could be faster than a 221bhp auto. but i sadly couldnt find out, i got an 07 model which does 0-100 in 8.3 seconds.
Old 14th April 2010, 17:05   #32

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
i heard the same too. i dont know how a 140bhp manual could be faster than a 221bhp auto. but i sadly couldnt find out, i got an 07 model which does 0-100 in 8.3 seconds.
Ya dude, am looking for one myself. Have driven quite a few 2.4s and V6s in the past two months. The 2.4 doesn't even come close in terms of acceleration.
adman77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th May 2010, 18:11   #33

2001 model , 71 K

How much would you pay for a 2001 model, 71 K odo Accord - owner claims no accidents / claims.
Old 12th May 2010, 15:03   #34

Ceebu, you are obviously talking about the first Accord gen to be officially sold in India. Wouldn't pay a penny above 3.0 lakhs if the car is in excellent shape. Average condition = 2.5 - 2.7 lakhs.
Old 22nd December 2010, 08:30   #35

Re: Used Honda Accord V6

Urgent advice needed people, have found a v6 2004 done 50k kms owner asking 8.75L have given an offer of 8.0L, worth buying or not, advise on price too.

Asked honda in bangalore to check out the car, said they cannot tell me about the detailed service history of the car, like an accident, engine parts replaced, so on. Is there any such rule that prevents invading of a existing customer's privacy.
Old 31st December 2010, 15:51   #36

aashisharora

V6 2004 are 5.5 to 6L in Mumbai not sure of Bang prices should not be more than 7L
Old 1st January 2011, 04:42   #37

I sold my 05 Accord V6 done 17-18k kms (don't remember exactly) earlier this year, with kit, wheels, stage 1 performance for 5.25 to a dealer. He's now asking around 7 since 8 months.

I've seen 2007 (facelift) models go for 8 - 8.5. Bargain hard, dealers find it difficult to sell v6's
Old 1st January 2011, 08:31   #38

One of my best friends returned from US, and picked up a 2007 Honda Accord (V6, 3.0L) for about 8.5L - He started using auto-rickshaws soon after - The car gives mileage around 4 kmpl in city (Bangalore) and the BEST mileage of 8 kmpl when driven sedately (80 - 100 kmph) in highways.

He soon gave that up, and bought a Figo Titanium TDCi and swears by diesel now

Please take into account Fuel costs before buying a Honda Accord V6. [Even quite well-to-do people are aghast looking at their fuel bills ]

Last edited by sriramv.iyer : 1st January 2011 at 08:35.
sriramv.iyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2011, 13:03   #39

Originally Posted by sriramv.iyer View Post
One of my best friends returned from US, and picked up a 2007 Honda Accord (V6, 3.0L) for about 8.5L - He started using auto-rickshaws soon after - The car gives mileage around 4 kmpl in city (Bangalore) and the BEST mileage of 8 kmpl when driven sedately (80 - 100 kmph) in highways.

Oh cmon, there must have been something wrong. I manage 5kmpl at least in Mumbai traffic, that too redlining the car in any free space. Another thing is the way of driving an A/T car, people tend to press the accelerator extra, instead of pressing smoothly. Now in a A/T car with a small engine its not going to hurt, but when you have a V6 under the hood you can notice it. I mean if driven properly, I can manage 6kmpl in Mumbai traffic.
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2011, 13:29   #40

The vehicle speed might have been low, but at 8kmpl on the highway, doing 80-100kmph, i doubt his throttle input was anywhere close to being sedate.

This reminds me of my cousin who drove his Wagon R at 80-100kmph from Hubli to Pune and got just 12kmpl. The biggest mistake he did was using 4th-5th gear as much as possible and flooring the throttle to overcome the lack of acc, when he coud have just downshifting, to achieve the same performance with much less throttle.

I'm sure the Accord V6 is capable of some respectable figures if driven well.

Shan2nu
Shan2nu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th January 2011, 11:16   #41

Urgent advice required . . .

I have a 06 swift (45k kms with alloys and 195/r15 tyres) which runs like a dream, but I want to upgrade.
2 options that I'm considering.

1) Sell the swift for about 3 and put in some more money to buy a 06-07 Accord V6 for about 8lacs.
2) Retain my swift for regular and rough use and for occasional thrills, pick up a 04 v6 that I TD recently which is available for 5.5. The car felt good but it has run 72k kms, single owner but no history. Cosmetically decent, Mumbai number.

Or any other suggestion. My total budget is about 8-9 (after sellng the swift)
Please advice, I have to take a call soon.

Old 19th January 2011, 12:07   #42

Originally Posted by bikefreak View Post

I have a 06 swift (45k kms with alloys and 195/r15 tyres) which runs like a dream, but I want to upgrade.

1) Sell the swift for about 3 and put in some more money to buy a 06-07 Accord V6 for about 8lacs.
2) Retain my swift for regular and rough use and for occasional thrills, pick up a 04 v6 that I TD recently which is available for 5.5. The car felt good but it has run 72k kms, single owner but no history. Cosmetically decent, Mumbai number.

First things first. Your Swift will probably give you around 9kmpl in the city? With the Accord, if it is a pre 07 model you will get 5.5 tops and if 07 model then 6+ is possible. These are figures for normal Mumbai traffic. If you are only going to use it on weekends/nights then the figures will improve.

See for below 9 you wont get a 2007 V6, which had an upgraded gearbox and few changes. So I what im suggesting is you look out for a 05 V6 which you can get for 6.5l or so. Preferably a low run car.

The one you were talking about, 71k I feel is a bit too much. Im sure you can get ones which is done around 40k kms or even less and those would be better deals IMO.

So heres my suggestion -

Your saying your Swift runs like a dream, so why upgrade? Keep it and since you have about 6l find a 05 or so V6 run less than 40k kms. Check out carwale, youll find lots of cars there. You should be able to get a great one for 7l max.

If you do sell your swift, look for a 2007 V6. These will cost 9.5 or so but have some upgrades.

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 19th January 2011 at 12:10.
Old 21st January 2011, 18:11   #43

I like your approach. Of looking things in totality and having a combined budget to upgrade the garage.

Only one suggestion:
1. Retail the Swift.
2. Get a CIVIC for 6-7 l.

Two sexy cars + One owner= Have fun
Old 21st January 2011, 18:58   #44

Originally Posted by bikefreak View Post

Look at the Vento D.
Get your performance and save on fuel bills as well.
Old 12th July 2017, 16:43   #45

Karan, I've seen 2004 - 2005 V6's going for 6 lakhs (or less) in Mumbai (typically have 35 - 50K kms on the odo), and 06 - 07 anywhere between 7 - 8.5 lakhs. The V6 has terribly resale, thanks to its guzzling habits. Note that the later models were facelifted (IIRC in 2007), had some more features and a 0 - 100 time of 8.xx seconds (1 second quicker than the older model) thanks to retuning & quicker shifting gearbox.

It's a steal whichever way that you look at it. 220+ horses, Merc E Class kind of space and Jap reliability.
Originally Posted by ACM View Post
Yep, since I too had looked for V6 in mumbai

the 2004/5 price was around 6L
2006/7 price was around 8L

Some dealers dont budge, find someone else.

go for one with zero mods.

Though i do love the car the 75kms a day that I do would kill me in a V6 with effeciency around 5 kmpl.
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Awesome deal! Speedy, find a good deal for me now...
Hey GTO, ACM and Tejas,

I know I'm resuscitating an old (ancient??) thread, but I need some urgent advice. A friend in Mumbai is finally getting rid of his black 2005 Honda Accord V6 (60,000 kms, single owner). His other vehicles are a Mercedes S-Class, Range Rover Vogue and a BMW 5 series, all of much more recent vintage (the S-Class is not even a year old). I mention his other cars only to highlight how attached he is to the Accord V6, which he is now replacing with the Skoda Superb.

The dealer is offering him Rs. 1 lakh, but it seems to me that the car is worth at least thrice as much. My friend is not interested in shopping around, but is more keen to see the car handed over to someone he knows and who can appreciate its worth. I too feel the pain in seeing such a beauty being sold for a little more than the price of a new smartphone!!

So I guess my question is, should I pick it up for a lakh? I already own a Skoda Octavia 1.8tsi Elegance Zeal Edition (AT) which I'm ecstatic with (and which GTO has seen at last year's Blind Man Car Rally). I do not necessarily need a second car, but at this price I could keep it in the garage and alternate between the two. Or would the costs of maintenance, insurance and fuel make me rue the purchase of the Accord?

Other Team BHP-ians: I'd welcome your views as well. Thanks!!