Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

View Poll Results: Skoda RS or C class Kompressor
Skoda RS 63 68.48%
C Class Kompressor 30 32.61%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 92. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21st January 2005, 15:33   #46

Skoda's is so much value for ur money that even if it falls short of merc on quality/brand/reliability(not that much!)
it is certainly not with the same margin as the merc falls short of skoda RS price wise.

total value for money plus a great performance..

Money well spent is wht i want!
Old 24th January 2005, 00:33   #47

I was seriously considering selling my Mondeo and buying an RS and then chipping it, since we now have Speed 98, but after taking one for a long test drive the other day, I can't say I was all that impressed by it. It's quick in a straight line for sure, but it fell short of my expectations in a few key areas:

1. Turbo lag was bad. Very little torque below 3,000 rpm.
2. Suspension was bad. Not stiff, but harsh. (My Mondeo has a stiff suspension, but it flattens bumps this car was crashing on).
3. Don't like the poor rearward visibility.
4. Brakes were locking up under moderately heavy braking, despite the car being ABS equipped (needs better tyres for sure).

Having said that, my pet peeve is that Mercedes Benz in India charges an arm and a leg for what are, essentially, cars that are nothing special. So it would have to be the RS, if I had to make a call, but honestly, I wouldn't trade my Mondeo for either car. Now, a C32 on the other hand...
Old 24th January 2005, 15:42   #48

Originally Posted by kbk_75
1. Turbo lag was bad. Very little torque below 3,000 rpm.
Am surpised u said that, the Skoda RS's peak torque is available thru 1750-4600 rpm. Can anyone shed more light on the same?
cheers,
Rai
Old 24th January 2005, 15:57   #49

I hadn't checked the specs, but just made an observation based on my test drive. I stuck it into 4th gear at around 45 km/h and gently got on the gas to see how it would pull, and it did nothing!

I also noticed when I was tootling around in 2nd and 3rd gear that the car only started pulling hard from 3000 rpm up (once the turbo had kicked in for sure).
Old 25th January 2005, 00:30   #50

at what rpm does the turbo kick-in in the RS
Old 7th April 2005, 22:35   #51

the RS anyday....its just awesome when the turbo kickes in esp. the whistle frm the turbo ...jus SO addictive
Old 7th April 2005, 22:49   #52

I would go for the RS and the remaining 13 or so odd lakhs i would get myself a used merc. something stately like the old e class.

For me a Merc is a symbol saying I Have Arrived! C or E or S a merc is a merc.
Old 7th April 2005, 23:16   #53

Originally Posted by Harrie
I would go for the RS and the remaining 13 or so odd lakhs i would get myself a used merc. something stately like the old e class.

For me a Merc is a symbol saying I Have Arrived! C or E or S a merc is a merc.
i would mod the RS with the extra 13 lacs
agree with : A MERC IS A MERC!!
Old 8th April 2005, 00:04   #54

yeah difinitely would get the rs. mod it to the fullest first good free flow, k&n, system , wheels....19 inche chrome plated yeah baby and then with the rest of the cash keep it for some other mods i guess !!!
Old 8th April 2005, 04:14   #55

hey any day a skoda rs for me..i mean come on it's all about performance...so drive the car for a while...give it a good run in and then a chip upgrade...with a bigger after market turbo and a lot of other mods...i mean i'm sure everyone mustve seen bonni's skoda at the speed run...it had an after market turbo on it...trust me that car was a show stopper...cheers...!!
Old 8th April 2005, 10:52   #56

Its SKODA for me.. its got that young n wild spirit !!!

But yeah.. have to agree... a merc is a merc
Old 8th April 2005, 13:22   #57

If I have 26L to spend, on any day and at any time, I'll spend it on a Merc. Well! if the competition is a BMW, then that would make it a tough choice But so far, I don't have that much money and dont see having it in near future, unless my company stocks soar up. So no worries! But would never compare a Skoda with a Merc.
Old 11th April 2005, 21:52   #58

I got a C class this time, Will try to get a RS the next
Old 11th April 2005, 23:59   #59

black RS for me with beige interiors though. im clean. spare car i dont mind the c class. who am i kidding.
Old 12th April 2005, 18:43   #60

well, for me- it would be the merc, as you simply just can't get enough of a powerful rear wheel drive car!!!

but nevertheless, if i had the money, i would go in for a bmw m3 or an honda nsx (now defunct)!!!!

but as for now, i would definitely prefer the skoda- you can buy 2 for the price of a merc, and still beat it!! and plus, if i could buy the merc, i would definitely think twice before subjecting it to our roads @ 190 kmph+....wouldn't you? i mean, it's different thrashing a skoda; you simply don't care as much as you would in a merc....

and dipen, the turbo kicks in at about 1850 rpm+ in the RS.