Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 29th January 2009, 17:09   #46

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Congrats.
Was wondering how much time you took to choose the addons

What engine is your's?. V10 TDI??. I've seen V10 tdi towing a 747 Jumbo for real, on the 5th gear show.
Thanks. Not much time actually. About 2-3 days. An excel sheet with all the options was sent to me by the dealer. I checked all that seemed useful and practical. Deciding on the keyless start/stop and wheels (whether to go with 18 inchers or the standard 17 inches) took most of the time as I was not sure if ride quality would deteriorate with 18 ones. However a test ride and the LOOKS of an 18 inch shod touareg convinced me to go for the 18 at about 60K extra. If only we had better roads perhaps I would have gone for 19 though it would have been a costly affair.

The R50 touaregs come with 21 inchers (Not available in India). Truly insane I would say.
Old 29th January 2009, 17:19   #47

i saw and audi Q7 passing by while i was sitting in a cafe. my friend said to me bade log bade alloys lolz. yup those were 21''s on that Q7 looks awesome.
Old 9th February 2009, 07:09   #48

Course correction - Touareg out, Q7 in

Folks

There is an update. I have cancelled the Touareg with a heavy heart and decided to go with Q7 finally as 7 seats were one of the initial requirements. My better half was not very receptive to a 5 seater as this vehicle intended use would be for a PAN india leisure drives and more space is always welcome. Hence, though nothing wrong with the T-reg, a Q7 seemed more practical proposition. Color is lava-grey (pearl effect) and should get delivery in the next two weeks or so as this is a car from pre-ordered dealers stock. OTR would be about 63 Lakhs. Bad part is that it comes with the open sky system which I'm not sure would hold its own over due course of time (leakage/mechanical issues etc). Any long term experience would help build the confidence.

The dealer (Audi-Gurgaon) told me there are no discounts on Q7. Is this true ? Anyway I have already booked the car with the quoted price and awaiting delivery.
Old 9th February 2009, 07:59   #49

These are the car details as in the proforma invoice

MODEL AUDI Q7
VERSION 3.0 TDI
COLOR LAVA GREY WITH CARDAMOM BEIGE INTERIORS

STANDARD EQUIPMENTS:
1 ADAPTIVE AIR SUSPENSION
2 BOOT LID, OPERATED ELECTRICALLY
3 CONTRASTING PAINT FINISH
4 EXTERIOR MIRRORS, AUTOMATIC DIMMING & FOLDING
5 HIGH GLOSS PACKAGE (BRIGHT MOLDING)
6 RIGHT HAND DRIVE
7 XENON HEADLIGHTS
8 3RD SEATING ROW
9 CONFORT FRONT CENTRE ARM REST
10 INTERIOR LIGHT PACKAGE
11 INTERIOR MIRROR, AUTOMATICALLY DIMMING WITH LIGHT & RAIN SENSOR
12 LEATHER CRICKET UPHOLSTRY
13 REAR FLOOR MATTS
14 TIE DOWN STRAPS
15 WOOD INLAYS
16 AUDI PARKING SYSTEM PLUS
17 CRUISE CONTROL SYSTEM
18 ELECTRCI SEAT ADJUSTMENT BOTH FRONT SEATS
19 4-ZONE AUTOMATIC AIR CONDITIONING
20 STORAGE PACKAGE
21 6-CD-CHANGER
22 DRIVER INFORMATION SYSTEM, COLORED
23 MMI HIGH (MULTI MEDIA INTERFACE)
24 PREPERATION FOR MOBILE PHONE (BLUETOOTH)
25 FIRST AID KIT / WARNING TRIANGLE
26 REAR SIDE AIRBAGS
27 SPACE SAVING SPARE WHEEL
28 TOOL KIT & JACK
29 METALLIC PAINT
30 AUDI PARKING SYSTEM ADVANCED
31 OPEN SKY SYSTEM
32 BOSE SOUND SYSTEM
33 SMOKER PACKAGE
Old 9th February 2009, 08:04   #50

Oops thats a drastic change.
Q7 is an amazing SUV with tons of road presence.
What other engine options were available for the Q7?
whats that smoker package?`
Old 9th February 2009, 10:38   #51

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Oops thats a drastic change.
Q7 is an amazing SUV with tons of road presence.
What other engine options were available for the Q7?
whats that smoker package?`
Didn't check out other options but I guess V6 and V8 petrols are also available. But almost all Q7 sold here are 3.0 TDI one (the one I have booked too).

Smokers package includes ashtrays and lighter sockets for front/rear passengers. Though I did not want it, sales guy told me without it the standard one doesn't even comes with the lighter sockets that can be used for other purpose. Ashtrays I guess can be removed and the space can be used for other nick-nacks.
Old 9th February 2009, 11:29   #52

why not the bigger rims on the q7?
Old 9th February 2009, 12:07   #53

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
why not the bigger rims on the q7?
My priority is ride comfort over handling. The 255/55 R18 are good enough I guess as anything with lower profile may give a hard time on the back seat. This is what I gathered from several Q7 reviews. And you know how good our roads are !!
Old 9th February 2009, 12:33   #54

Originally Posted by entropy View Post
My priority is ride comfort over handling. The 255/55 R18 are good enough I guess as anything with lower profile may give a hard time on the back seat. This is what I gathered from several Q7 reviews. And you know how good our roads are !!
oh the stock on the q7 is 18? i always thought it was 17. it looks so small on it.
Old 12th February 2009, 10:06   #55

I'll be getting the delivery of this baby sometime soon. I plan to get it tinted from the dealer itself before taking the delivery. I have been quoted 42K for the following

Front 74% visibility
Rear 55% visibility

All are V-Kool with 99% heat rejection as told by the sales person. Does this looks reasonable. Plan to post the pics soon after the delivery.
Old 12th February 2009, 11:32   #56

for v-kool it seems fine. i guess its the top of the line vkool diamond series or whatever they call it.
Old 12th February 2009, 14:29   #57

The Volkswagen dealer in Cochin has a new Touareg V6TDI in black for sale at 62.5Lacs. It's fully loaded. They said the buyer did not order it with rear mounted spare, as the car wouldn't fit his garage, but the factory supplied it. The car is registered, and the odometer reads 18km. I'm visiting the showroom tomorrow to verify the "loading"/ equipment list. It takes upto 3 months to get a new Touareg.

What do you people think? Shall I take the plunge?
Old 12th February 2009, 15:45   #58

Looks too pricey. Will depend on what all options are there. But 60+ lakhs for a 3.0 TDI Touareg is not worth it in IMHO unless you are a true blue VW fan. Please think of the resale factor also 3 years down the line.

If you like Touareg, chances are you'd love Cayenne. A Porsche Cayenne would make better sense if 5 seats are Ok. Later in the year we might get the Diesel one.
Old 12th February 2009, 16:22   #59

Congrats on your new acquisition.

Needless to say, pictures are needed after you have taken delivery.
Old 12th February 2009, 19:21   #60

Originally Posted by entropy View Post
Looks too pricey. Will depend on what all options are there. But 60+ lakhs for a 3.0 TDI Touareg is not worth it in IMHO unless you are a true blue VW fan. Please think of the resale factor also 3 years down the line.

If you like Touareg, chances are you'd love Cayenne. A Porsche Cayenne would make better sense if 5 seats are Ok. Later in the year we might get the Diesel one.
The price is OTR, inclusive of insurance & 15year life tax @ 6%. Love the Porsche, they offered me one sometime back, but I'm worried about service & fuel quality.