Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 30th May 2009, 20:59   #16

if you are not on budget, stretch it to R8. GTR is great, but R8 is hot. and i guess R8 is available from Audi-India?
Old 30th May 2009, 22:02   #17

I think you should go for an Toyota Highlander hybrid. You get style power everything packaged in one and you can drive them anywhere.In India you need a car that you can drive anywhere without hesitation of whether the road or a bump will damage the underbelly of the car.

Last edited by DieselFan : 30th May 2009 at 22:09.
Old 30th May 2009, 22:10   #18

Originally Posted by DieselFan View Post
I think you should go for an Hummer H3. You get style power everything packaged in one and you can drive them anywhere. You can also go for SUVs listed out above but it doesn't give a statement as Hummer gives. In India you need a car that you can drive anywhere without hesitation of whether the road or a bump will damage the underbelly of the car.
he said 2 posts ago he dosent want an suv cuz his father might get the land cruiser. he seems more inclined towards sports cars.

another suggestion is the audi s5.
Old 30th May 2009, 22:36   #19

Dude you have "Ek Khoka"!
At 4.5 Peti(lacs) i.e. less than 5% of your budget I was so confused which car to buy. If you really want to stand out buy the Bentley. In Bangalore there are only 2 Bentleys, one is with Vijay Mallya and one with someone else I dont know. But I guess you will have to stretch your budget a lil' bit

Last edited by revhappy : 30th May 2009 at 22:40.
Old 31st May 2009, 01:40   #20

Congratulations !! That will be the 4th M3 on the forum now. And MAYBE the fourth white one as well?
Old 31st May 2009, 02:10   #21

There is only one Alpine white M3 in Hyderabad, for e.g., which we get to see.

Its road presence is stunning and also meets your requirements for mod.

You sound enthusiastic about driving and thus the R8 does not make sense. It is expensive and also has the power, true! But only the 'M' would quench your thirst for sheer driving pleasure.

All the best!
Old 31st May 2009, 09:25   #22

Why not import a Mustang? it will be well under half your budget, also it is great for modding. You can first mod it then import, so you wont have to import a supercharger, or a new BOV, etc, get the completed car. Also look into a EVO, they are AWD and can be tuned to 400 WHEEL HORSE POWER, no mods, so just think about it.
Old 31st May 2009, 10:17   #23

hey man you want a really unique car for under 1 crore buy the flying car
2 seater car which can be driven around and converts to a aeroplane at the press of a button you can reach from chennai to bangalore in 1 hour
check the link below
Maiden Flight Of 'Flying Car' Called Rock Solid -- Terrafugia -- InformationWeek
Old 31st May 2009, 10:48   #24

Originally Posted by dockap View Post
hey man you want a really unique car for under 1 crore buy the flying car
2 seater car which can be driven around and converts to a aeroplane at the press of a button you can reach from chennai to bangalore in 1 hour
check the link below
Maiden Flight Of 'Flying Car' Called Rock Solid -- Terrafugia -- InformationWeek
are you serious or joking ?
Old 31st May 2009, 10:59   #25

Great idea!

But wouldn't it require permission from Air traffic control to fly around!?
Old 31st May 2009, 11:59   #26

CIV,

Here is my third suggestion.

Go for Ford Mustang GT, 4.6 L V8, 315 BHP. It costs USD 30K, when it lands in India it will be something near to 35 Lacs.

Fourth option : Mustang Shelby : 5.4 L V8, 540 BHP ( it could be the first one in India if you import).

Shelby costs USD 48,000 in the US, once you get this in Vizag your bank account will be empty by around 60 Lacs INR.

Have a look here : Build and Price

Shelby is unique, I love its RRRRRooooom sound it makes.

I'' come back with more options soon

Raneesh
Old 31st May 2009, 15:58   #27

How about importing a Subaru Impreza WRX STi ?

Engine 2.5-liter DOHC intercooled, turbocharged aluminum-alloy 16-valve 4-cylinder horizontally opposed SUBARU BOXER engine Power 305 hp @ 6,000 rpm
It will cost you approx 40 Lacs.

Trying to make you unique on the road.

Raneesh
Old 31st May 2009, 20:16   #28

Subaru Impretza WRX - Sti and something else for the remainder...or an Audi R8!

Last edited by pranava999 : 31st May 2009 at 20:17.
Old 31st May 2009, 20:43   #29

Check out the C63 AMG. Service and support available in India. Great car to drive.
Old 31st May 2009, 20:52   #30
SLK

Just curious! Are almost all cars available as Right hand drive?

Even if so, the USD$ won't come into the picture! Its got to be the GBP, AUD etc. isn't it?

PS: If I had to have my way, it'd be BMW M3, - It'll be practical as it might share a lot of parts with the 3 Series, specially body.

How much is M5 for?

Last edited by SLK : 31st May 2009 at 20:55.