Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 30th May 2009, 14:31   #1

Suggestions for a new car under 1 crore

As some of you know, i drive a Honda civic, and lately i have been thinking of getting myself a new car.

The criteria it has to meet are:

1. It has to be a little unique.
2. It has to be under 1 crore.
3. Has to have atleast 300 HP.
4. Should have really good mod potential.

and any other brand except a porsche.

I had a few cars in mind, some being:

1. Evo X
2. BMW M3
3. Corvette
4. Nissan GTR

Problem is that i dont know if the corvette or the GTR would be less than a crore.

Any other suggestions you guys could give would be helpful.

Btw is there anyone on this forum who actually imports cars w2ho can let me know prices.

Civ4647
Old 30th May 2009, 14:51   #2

wow nice budget.

well the bmw m3 is the obvious choice. it comes with good service and you can mod it easily, contact ecksreturns for more info on mods.

i think you would get a gtr under 1 cr.

forget about a vette, i dont think they make rhd and its no point going for a conversion.

the evo x is apparently going to be launched soon but youll be able to get at least 2 of those in your budget.

the jaguar xfr and xkr will also be launched in a month and should be under 1 cr. those will really be unique.
Old 30th May 2009, 15:20   #3

Originally Posted by neel12345 View Post
One crore ? What do you do ? ( profession )
Whatever he does, I'm sure he does it real well ! But does the M3 have 300HP ?

Last edited by kannan666 : 30th May 2009 at 15:21.
Old 30th May 2009, 15:38   #4

Originally Posted by kannan666 View Post
Whatever he does, I'm sure he does it real well ! But does the M3 have 300HP ?
its much more than that AFAIK is 414bhp

@Civ- why no porsche's?

since you want be unique,a porsche will do this job well,a M3 may get lost in crowd of 3,5 series.
i remember Karan(ecksreturns) writing about his car going unnoticed in the regular crowd
Old 30th May 2009, 17:52   #5

How about an X6. Very unique and meets most of your requirements. Practical too for India except for the fuel bills (if that matters).
Old 30th May 2009, 18:01   #6

Volkswagen Touareg
Volvo XC90
Landrover Discovery
Porsche Cayenne
Audi Q7
BMW X5
Mercedes ML Class
...etc
Old 30th May 2009, 19:36   #7

Its a no brainer really. The BMW M3 it is. You can play with it when you want and also drive to work in it. Plus you have BMW support in India as well and lots of after market options for the car available from Hamann India and other companies for your M3.

Last edited by Dippy : 30th May 2009 at 19:37.
Old 30th May 2009, 19:38   #8

are the m5 and m6 above 1cr ?
Old 30th May 2009, 19:38   #9

Nissan GT-R. "Nuff said!
Old 30th May 2009, 20:11   #10

CIV,

Nissan GTR would be something unique, it costs USD 85k in the US. Add 110 % to that when you import it. So, it will be around USD 180k = 87 Lacs INR.
Well within your budget.

Talking about power :

VR38DETT – 3.8-liter twin-turbocharged 24-valve V6;
each engine hand-crafted by its own master technician in a clean-room environment
Horsepower – 485 horsepower @ 6,400 rpm
Torque – 434 lb-ft of torque @ 3,200–5,200 rpm
Cylinder bore x stroke – 95.5 x 88.4 mm
Compression ratio – 9.0:1
Top speed – 193 mph
Maximum engine speed – 7,000 rpm
Emissions – 50 State LEV2/ULEV

What else you need ?

Service ? Ask Nissan how they want to support you in Vizag.

My second suggestion would be a Dodge Challenger, 6.1 Litre V8, 425 BHP.

Price ? - Its just 28 K in the US, so when u import it would be close to 35 Lacs INR. Keep 10 lacs for parts import and future service costs. Enjoy remaining 55 Lacs.

Raneesh
Old 30th May 2009, 20:12   #11

Sigh! Wish Bristol Blenheim's were sold here
Old 30th May 2009, 20:15   #12

Or you could get a lotus
Old 30th May 2009, 20:17   #13

I completely Agree with GTO sir.
Nissan GT-R
3.8 ltr V8 Twin turbo that produces 473 hp, six speed dual clutch automated manual transmission ( i would like to understand this concept of "automated manual transmission")
Base version is priced at $69,850.
on the uniqueness front-Many of us have not seen even a single GT-R on Indian Roads.
Old 30th May 2009, 20:23   #14

1. It has to be a little unique. - Check
2. It has to be under 1 crore. - I don't really know
3. Has to have atleast 300 HP - 3.8L twin-turbo V6, 480 horsepower!
4. Should have really good mod potential - Double check!

Its none other than the - Nissan GTR.

Its a 1cr car, do a proper research before making a conclusion, and since you asked.. I'd say go for the GTR!

Suggestions for a new car under 1 crore-nissangtrgaragedefend9.jpg

Look at it.. How sesky!
Old 30th May 2009, 20:29   #15

I somehow dont like any of the Porsche's that much except the 911.

Just my personal opinion. Anyway i am into Shipping (Oil Tankers).

I opted for an M3 because i drove one when i went to Dubai and the car left me speechless.

I dontr want any SUV's as dad is planning to get a Landcruiser soon.