Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 20th December 2009, 09:03   #46

Between the two, I'd go for the C220. Way more power + torque, a newer car, lower mileage and seems to be in better condition.

The E200K is very underwhelming to drive. That 1.8 super-charged engine does alright in the city, but on an open road / highway, its the worst one could ask for Link to comparo between the two. The previous E Class' interiors were smaller than that of the W210; fact is, the space really isn't all that much more than the C.

Plus, when its time to sell, diesel Benz' move quicker.

I drive my car VERY hard and the suspension never really went "loose". However, I did need to overhaul the front at about 50,000 kms. Expenses that you should expect:

- The C & the E, both, need new evaporators every 2 - 3 years.

- The C220 will need new engine mounts at 50K. Rs. 7,000 at an independent, Rs. 30,000 at authorised.

Budget for a total of 50 - 75K each year in maintenance (after-market pricing of course) and you are all set.
What is an Evaporator ? Please shed some more light on it.

I will beg to differ with GTo on the point as to which car is better. I also drive cars quiet well & let me tell everyone who is reading this thread that the 200K is a Great Engine. The 220CDI is quiet good & has insane Torque but if you put your foot down hard then Traction Control just controls wheelspin & you do not go anywhere fast.
I own both Petrol & Diesel Cars but just in this case, I think the 200K Engine will give you a lot of fun. The 200K in my opinion is Faster but I felt as if the Engine did not have a soul. It is difficult to explain but maybe some people can understand what I am saying.

It is bad if the 200K cannot cross 180. Thanks for sharing that information. I think the E200K cannot be bought with a Maunal Gearbox.

Please PM me details(phone numbers & addresses of mechanics) for Mercedes.

Last edited by supercars : 20th December 2009 at 09:22. Reason: Read your very short review
Old 20th December 2009, 12:41   #47

Originally Posted by supercars View Post
What is an Evaporator ? Please shed some more light on it....
Its the "cooing coil" (which gets cold on the principal of Bernauli's theorum) that sits in the dash through which the ac air passes and results in cold air thorugh your ac vents.

...I will beg to differ with GTo on the point as to which car is better.... I also drive cars quiet well & let me tell everyone who is reading this thread that the 200K is a Great Engine. The 220CDI is quiet good & has insane Torque but if you put your foot down hard then Traction Control just controls wheelspin & you do not go anywhere fast....
The purpose of traction control is so that you do not spin the wheels and the entire usable torque is delivered to the ground. Spinning wheels actually means you are not using the entire torque available.

E200K:
185 Bhp
245Nm @ 3500-4500 rpm

C220CDI:
177Bhp
425Nm @ 3000rpm

If you take the above figures as accurate then:

The C is a lighter vehicle. Power to weight ratio is in favour of the C.
The C is a diesel...Fuel mileage is in favour of the C + torque delivered at a lower rpm adds to mileage.
The C delivers its max torque at a lower rpm, excellent for spirited (non F1/Rally driving!!!)

I think these are some of the considerations that GTO took into account.

However, you can decide which is more suitable.

Last edited by Mohnish : 20th December 2009 at 12:43.
Old 20th December 2009, 17:48   #48

Edit:

Originally Posted by Mohnish View Post
E200K:
185 Bhp
245Nm @ 3500-4500 rpm

C220CDI:
177Bhp
425Nm @ 3000rpm

If you take the above figures as accurate then:

The C is a lighter vehicle. Power to weight ratio is in favour of the C.
The C is a diesel...Fuel mileage is in favour of the C + torque delivered at a lower rpm adds to mileage.
The C delivers its max torque at a lower rpm, excellent for spirited (non F1/Rally driving!!!)

I think these are some of the considerations that GTO took into account.

However, you can decide which is more suitable.
Apologies, but I think the corrected figures are as follows:

C220CDI

148Bhp
315Nm @ 1600 - 1800 rpm

End result is however, IMHO, the same.
Old 21st December 2009, 10:45   #49

that the 200K is a Great Engine.
Of course, the 200K is a nice refined engine. Peppy too.

The 200K in my opinion is Faster
The C220 CDI is quicker than the C200 in the 0 - 100. And when it comes to mid-range, the C220 blows even the S350 away. Not surprising, its a strength of most diesels.

C220CDI

148Bhp
315Nm @ 1600 - 1800 rpm
Our C220 gen is 141 BHP and 340 NM of torque. The same engine, retuned for the new C220 (currently sold model) is rated at 170 BHP and a whopping 410 NM of torque.

Last edited by GTO : 21st December 2009 at 10:46.
Old 21st February 2015, 10:08   #50

Advice on W203 Benz Tdi 2006

I have been on the lookout for a MB for quite some time. Was looking at single owner cars with less kms on odo. I saw a 2006 MB C 220 Tdi in very good condition. It's a 2nd owner, only 30k kms done and with service records. The body is in excellent condition and the interior is clean. I have been quoted 12.5L. I am negotiating. Is it worth to go in for a car which is 9 years old? What are the things I should pay attention to during inspection? What's the ideal price I should pay for?

Kindly help me out.
Old 21st February 2015, 14:12   #51

Re: Advice on W203 Benz Tdi 2006

Originally Posted by Gocool2007 View Post
I have been on the lookout for a MB for quite some time. Was looking at single owner cars with less kms on odo. I saw a 2006 MB C 220 Tdi in very good condition. It's a 2nd owner, only 30k kms done and with service records.
Want my honest advice? Buy a pre-owned Jetta (or wait some time for the Octavia to hit the used market). I've owned the W203 for nearly 10 years and can tell you this, the current breed of 20 lakh cars match it in every way (except RWD).

Have seen <2 year old Jettas with warranty (extendable to 4 years) going for 12 lakhs & less.

If you absolutely want a premium badge, get a newer E90 3-Series. Awesome car to drive, more reliable than the W203 and you'll easily find good cars in your budget.