Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 25th March 2010, 09:55   #1

Honda Prelude 1993

Dear Friends,

Is it a good idea to own a 1993 (reg 1997) Honda Prelude!

2nd owner, DL number, clean exteriors and Interiors, mechanically and electrically sound.

How much would be the ownership cost of the same! I have absolutely no idea about owning an imports car.

Gaurav
Old 25th March 2010, 11:53   #2

If its a Auto or non V-tec, move away. There are better options in the market unless the Prelude is not coming at a throw-away price to you.
Old 25th March 2010, 14:54   #3

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
If its a Auto or non V-tec, move away. There are better options in the market unless the Prelude is not coming at a throw-away price to you.
Its manual and I guess its non VTec! And I am sure that 7L is not a throw-away price!
Old 25th March 2010, 15:14   #4

This link would give you more details.

Honda Prelude - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

7 Lac can get you way better cars, example a 1999 pajero was for sale at 6.5. I know the two cannot be compared but i just wanted to give you a price wise idea.

Pramod
Old 25th March 2010, 15:24   #5

7l for a 93 non-vtec honda is on the high side, esp something like the prelude which was not a very hot car considering its competitor was the celica and the mr2. IMO if you could get it for around 3 or so it should be worth it, its a 17 yr old car remember!
Old 25th March 2010, 15:31   #6

Originally Posted by pramodkumar View Post
This link would give you more details.

Honda Prelude - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

7 Lac can get you way better cars, example a 1999 pajero was for sale at 6.5. I know the two cannot be compared but i just wanted to give you a price wise idea.

Pramod
thanks for the link.

So 7L is way too high according to you for a 1993 prelude!

I have 7-8L and wish to buy a 2nd hand car for weekend drives. Came accross Prelude and hence the post.
Old 25th March 2010, 15:53   #7

Remember, the Prelude is an Accord with a smart suit driven in a more reclined manner. Similar aged Accords go for Rs 2 Lakhs or less so pay no more than 3
Old 25th March 2010, 17:18   #8

Originally Posted by gauravchawla View Post
Dear Friends,

Is it a good idea to own a 1993 (reg 1997) Honda Prelude!

2nd owner, DL number, clean exteriors and Interiors, mechanically and electrically sound.

How much would be the ownership cost of the same! I have absolutely no idea about owning an imports car.

Gaurav
Is is the same red car in Ashok Vihar I had seen couple of months before please share some pictures then only Ic an share my observation about this car... The one which I looked had several add-ons installed.
Old 25th March 2010, 17:45   #9

Come on, you can get something much more better for your budget. You can choose one of the following :

1) Honda Civic
2) Toyota Corolla
3) Skoda vRS/Skoda Laura
4) Honda Accord V6

I suggest a V6 since it will be your weekend drives
Old 26th March 2010, 09:27   #10

Come on, you can get something much more better for your budget. You can choose one of the following :

1) Honda Civic
2) Toyota Corolla
3) Skoda vRS/Skoda Laura
4) Honda Accord V6

I suggest a V6 since it will be your weekend drives .
V6 is in-fact my first choice. Searching for a clean one since few months now, but no luck.

Originally Posted by akaushik View Post
Is is the same red car in Ashok Vihar I had seen couple of months before please share some pictures then only Ic an share my observation about this car... The one which I looked had several add-ons installed.
I guess not, because the one I am talking about is standing at Dhaula Kuan Petro pump (Khyber) and absolutely no add-ons on it. (dont have pics)
Old 26th March 2010, 09:29   #11

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Remember, the Prelude is an Accord with a smart suit driven in a more reclined manner. Similar aged Accords go for Rs 2 Lakhs or less so pay no more than 3
This is Informative.. How about the interiors! Is it same for prelude and accord!
Old 30th April 2010, 17:17   #12

7L you can get many other cars better then the prelude.