Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 17th May 2010, 20:36   #1

Used Hyundai Sonata Embera

Hi friends,
I have come across a Hyundai Sonata Embera petrol 2.4 ltr.
it is Jan. 2010, done just 1000(one thousand) kms.Black color,
registered and insured.The price demanded is 10lacs,negotiable.
I hope to get for 9.5 The owner has gone abroad and wont be back
for two years.Do you think it is worth spending money on a Sonata?
Old 17th May 2010, 21:12   #2

there must be something wrong with the car? i mean 10l is too little for a 5 month old car run only 1000kms. check it out. if it is indeed perfect then you've got yourself a steal.
Old 17th May 2010, 22:10   #3

The owner left for Norway in February while the car was bought in
the last week of January.I checked all the documents,they are in
order.He has deputed his relative to sell the car.
Old 17th May 2010, 22:37   #4

Its wise to double check with the service centre for recent accident repairs if any, i think a Jan'y 2010 for 10 lakhs is ridiculous, as no one who would have bought it recently would sell it at 30% discount from cost price in 5 months.
Old 17th May 2010, 22:57   #5

Originally Posted by hps aulakh View Post
The owner left for Norway in February while the car was bought in
the last week of January.I checked all the documents,they are in
order.He has deputed his relative to sell the car.
check the service history. be sure it hasnt been involved in any accident/mishap.

btw it should be sonata transform if its a jan 2010 model.
Old 17th May 2010, 23:07   #6

Jan 2010 is definitely a Sonata Transform. And this deal just sounds too good to be true.

Do get it THOROUGHLY checked. Dont always believe this owner has gone abroad crap, for all you know the owner might just be in another side of the town.

Quite often you come across stuff where people things on sale on the pretext of their going abroad. The buyer finds the reason genuine.

If it actually turns out to be a good car, which probably the company or something may have given him, then close your eyes, go and buy the car. If you are not, then let us know and you will find a line of BHPians trying to buy it
Old 17th May 2010, 23:29   #7

Get the car checked at a Hyundai workshop, if the car is good go for it with your eyes closed. Its a very good deal.

Finding spares for Sonata Petrol can be a problem, please check with your local Hyundai workshop before buying the car.
Old 17th May 2010, 23:37   #8

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Get the car checked at a Hyundai workshop,
I wonder if the workshop guys do only a check-up just for the sake of a buyer.
Old 17th May 2010, 23:58   #9

^^ I have got cars checked from several Hyundai and Honda dealerships.
Old 18th May 2010, 09:49   #10

Originally Posted by Ranjan Sharma View Post
I wonder if the workshop guys do only a check-up just for the sake of a buyer.
Service stations do perform a complete bumper-2-bumper inspection, at a charge of course. This service could be either offered as a complete package or at hourly rate - latter being a practise usually for high-end cars.
Old 18th May 2010, 11:21   #11

have checked from the dealership,its a genuine clean car. Besides that the person who has to sell the car is a friend.He only told me about this deal. I only want to compare it with a Honda Accord.
Old 18th May 2010, 13:13   #12

If you like the car (if it drives well), and all papers, service records are in place, go ahead. Price seems nice.

Do not worry about spares - Hyundai logistics is awesome - my Tucson spares are arranged swiftly even though the car is out of sales in India since long...
Old 18th May 2010, 13:26   #13

I think the price is sweet, if all is good, then you should not miss this one.
Old 18th May 2010, 13:32   #14

If you have done the necessary check for any major accident repair and your satisfied its a clean car.

Do not wait, immediately block the car as the deal is simply unbeilevable.
Old 18th May 2010, 13:37   #15

Go ahead. Since you got it checked, please do. Obviously, it does not come very close to overtaking a new Honda Accord, but definitely it is not bad either and is truly an amazing car

For the price you are getting it, trust me I dont think you will ever find one similar.

Dude, you can even make a profit here, buy it at even 10, and sell it later for even 14. ;-). I am sure there may be some guys ready to buy. You can also check what the IDV of the car is on the insurance certificate.