Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 5th July 2011, 23:24   #16

Re: MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)

Congrats Krish, do post some pics, how much did you pay finally?
Old 15th July 2011, 00:47   #17

Guys, sorry for the late response. Will post pics over the weekend (these will be before)..I have been scouring the net ordering various parts. Most efficient has been the UK where these cars are still very popular as a handling car vs pure speed.
GTO,
* I bought this car in Mumbai after a search of a decent 2 door touring coupe (I am not looking at a crazy 300bhp+ dragster)...its a MH01 reg car with decent papers and a single owner for the last 10 yrs its been in India
* I may have overpaid but I think its an OK investment vs trying to get the cheapest possible deal...itis not the MIVEC but a NonMIVEC (NIVEC!!) which makes it cheaper to maintain and repair
* The Car drives OK, up and about in the first start, Electronics seem to work OK...its a smooth engine which picks up only after 3000 rpm or so with a nice exhaust note
* Car has a 4 speed auto triptronic which adapts to your driving style so nice to use and handy in traffic
* Just replaced the OEM horn and wipers with the VW type horn and flat wipers
* Order about a lakh worth of parts to improve:
1. - New Drilled and grooved front discs with Performance Mintex pads
2. ITG Air Induction (suits the FTO best) to add another 8hp
3. Full suspension and steering bushes (Superflex PU), stainless steel droplinks front and rear, tie rodtie rod ends, lower arm and ball joint ends, Superflex front and rear ARB bushes for improved handling and feel which is slightly on the heavier side now
4. NGK Iridium plugs with Magnecor blue ignition cables
5. Some new gaskets, waterpump etc
6. Entire full service Cambelt, other AC and PS belts, including pulleys, tensioners etc kit also complete new OEM filters and Mobil1, uprated AT oil and Dot4 brake fluid changes
7. HID kit for the main beam projectors and HID look bulbs for the high beams
8. Blue LED dash lights and interior dome lights (Soft blue)
9. Plans for full interior makeover in Dark tan leather including sprucing up the dash which has some fade and scratches (Post rain and mechanicals)
10. Full custom paintjob and colour change possibly to White with black hood and custom bodywork including a new bumper (post rains and mechanicals) including headlight and tail light buffing
11. Swap OEM 15" Mitsu alloys and Michelin Pilots 205s for new 17" alloys and Yokos (All black with white/red lip) lets see...thought the current rims and types could do for some time with a gunmetal redo on the alloys and tyres are still good for 10-15k kms

I keep thinking of adding :
Steel braided brake lines
Already toying with new rear brake disc (but at 12 kg are a b*tch to ship)
LED sidelights, foglights and tailights for a more modern look
10HP gain superchip

Current mechanic is Mohan at Santacruz but suggestions welcome, including folks for interior (I have been happy with ORCHIS in the past as very good rates) and I liked the finish at Executive car Modz (their Corolla Ferrari is preety decent) and RIO.

Parts should be here in 2-3 weeks (lets hope customs is nice to me).
Old 15th July 2011, 16:15   #18

Sounds good! Post pics
Adil
Old 26th July 2011, 23:00   #19

Originally Posted by adilkhan5 View Post
Sounds good! Post pics
Adil
Hey guys finally some pics as promised...the rains have meant have meant that I have not been able to get decent ones in bright light ...this is my parking spot..

The parts have also arrived!

@Adil...who do you recommend as a mechanic as well as the bodykit/ paint job? Your Miata in the classifieds and the GTO have great exterior work as well...
MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-front-3-qtrts.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-front.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-rear-3-qtrs.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-side.jpg  

Old 27th July 2011, 00:37   #20

good buy!the car looks in original condition.there is no major rusting either.i guess some bad touch up job to the bonnet!anyways all the best. am sure you will be spending at least next 6 months behind her.
Old 27th July 2011, 01:41   #21

Thanks for posting the much awaited Pics.
She looks gorgeous.
and now that the parts have arrived.
Would love a documented step by step as she get's customized by you.
Drive Safe!
Old 27th July 2011, 11:39   #22

Originally Posted by krish69 View Post
Hey guys finally some pics as promised...the rains have meant have meant that I have not been able to get decent ones in bright light ...this is my parking spot..

The parts have also arrived!

@Adil...who do you recommend as a mechanic as well as the bodykit/ paint job? Your Miata in the classifieds and the GTO have great exterior work as well...
I get all my work done at Bombay Garage, where you came and saw the second GTO; but as with all labout in India, day to day supervision is imperitive to get good results. You have to sit on these guys heads to get work done!! Let me know if you need any help. Car looks good!
Old 28th July 2011, 11:59   #23
yuv

Wow, what a beauty. Would love to own one sometime in my life time

Anyone test-driven the Miata listed in classifieds? Do these cars have a good re-sale value?? For e.g. If I were to buy one for around 7 lacs and sell her off in 6-12 months, how much can I expect to get for her, Thanks

Last edited by yuv : 28th July 2011 at 12:02.
Old 28th July 2011, 12:49   #24

Miatas only go up in value, ofcourse all depends how you maintain and what condition the car is in. I bought mine for 4.75 ten years back, and now they go for minimum 7 plus for a decent vehicle. Just bought a second one on a whim, which is in the classifieds for sale. So if you hold on to them and keep them well you certainly will not lose money, if not making some profit, having fun at the same time!!
Adil
adilkhan5 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th February 2012, 14:55   #25

Krish what progress on your car?
Old 14th September 2012, 00:26   #26

Note from Support Team: Please take time to use proper punctuation as per Team-BHP rules. Avoid...typing...like...this. Thanks!

Most of the work done...Mechanicals, paint (ditched the bodykit for now and removed the base spoiler)...
pls see pics attached and more details in the project car thread...
MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-front.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-front-3-qrts.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-rear-smoked-lights.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-rear-alloys-view.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-rear-3-qrts.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-interior-1-momo-nero-steering.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-new-leather-seats.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-pioneer-d-din-redone-contre-console.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-new-racing-pedals.jpg  

MR 2, FTO or Celica? ('92-97)-front-3-qrts-2.jpg