Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 27th April 2012, 23:50   #1

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km

Hello Bhpians
New to this forum.Have a story to share.

I have M800 1997 which had completed 1,93000 km and all orginal paint except 1 window which was damaged by the driver some years back.The car looks in excellent condition except that ,it was eating on engine oil and giving a bad mileage.
Showed to maruti suzuki workshop,they said engine needs a complete overhaul.
They quoted a figure between 25k to 30k.Was about to hand over the keys to them when my uncle told me that he has a trusted Mechanic in Patiala and i should get the whole work done from there.
Next week i took the car to Patiala.
I felt confident on meeting the mechanic and told him that I want the engine to perform equalant to stock engine.He suggested me about block change.
I handed him the car.
It was decided that the spares would be bought from CM automobiles ltd (auth Distributor for maruti Genuine Parts).

Finally on Nov 26th the work was started.Engine was lifted from the car and was deassembled.
  • The engine parts were in bad shape.

• Terrible condition of head

Orginal Mgp parts were bought from the Distributor

1. HALF ENGINE ASSEMBLY = Rs 10599
2. VALVE SET(6PIECES)= Rs 1223
3. GUIDE VALUE (6 PIECES)=Rs 82
4. PUMP ASSY OIL =Rs 636

Mechanic told me that bad quality colant has been used which has caused lot of rusting of pipes.Therefore the coolant pipe was replaced too.

New half assembly attached
Head Work done
Metered the reading to 00000 so it will be easier for keeping record of services
Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-1.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-2.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-3.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-4.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-5.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-5b.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-6.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-7.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-8.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-17.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-376025_10150411050959109_609079108_8517420_1102000628_n.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-15.jpg  

ambarshante is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 28th April 2012, 11:05   #2

Re: Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km

Your 800 looks in very good condition and keep her going.
Keep the reviews coming on the performance of the engine after the half rebuilt.
Old 28th April 2012, 12:35   #3

great job! your car will soon turn into a classic so hang on to it . So tell us a bit about the history of your car, like did u buy it brand new and been using it ever since? or did u buy it used etc etc.
Old 28th April 2012, 12:52   #4

Your car looks really good! Kudos to you for keeping it in such a great shape!

It would be really nice to read about your association with this car for so many years!

Keep up the great work!

Old 28th April 2012, 22:21   #5

mod Note : Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another!

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
Your 800 looks in very good condition and keep her going.
Keep the reviews coming on the performance of the engine after the half rebuilt.
Thanx for appreciating. It really makes me happy when someone praises about my beauty.
I am surely going to keep the car for years to come.The REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE of this car is going to finish in june.Will renew it soon.
I think lots of memories are yet to be made with car
Will post about the post performance experience soon.

Originally Posted by ObsessedByFIAT View Post
Your car looks really good! Kudos to you for keeping it in such a great shape!

It would be really nice to read about your association with this car for so many years!

Keep up the great work!

Originally Posted by amrisharm View Post
great job! your car will soon turn into a classic so hang on to it . So tell us a bit about the history of your car, like did u buy it brand new and been using it ever since? or did u buy it used etc etc.

The car was bought in May 1997 after 3 months waiting. I think after a month,in June 1997 the type 2 model was introduced .
I remember that day very well .My father took us for a drive when he brought the car home, though the car didn't have even a temporary number. Those days traffic rules were not that strict.
My father is a very good driver but is least bothered about the washing and cleaning stuff. So this duty was given to me. And, I loved doing it too.
The car was used as a family car till 2005 when I was promoted to 11th standard and started using it myself. It had already done 1,30,000 km .

The actual story begins from then.As this was the first car in my friend circle, it was loved by all.

First of all I got the following upgradations done:

jvc cd player
Seat covers
seldon ac was fitted
Glasses were Tinted

After that the car was mostly used for city drives.

At 1,53,000 km the engine rings were replaced as the engine was consuming a lot of oil and emitted white smoke.

At 1,93,000 km, the same problem started coming again.I think the work done earlier had some loopholes.

The post engine work experience has been really good.It has completed 4500 km.

The first service was done at 2200km when engine oil and oil filters were changed.
After this I took the car for overnight drive to Hatu peak, Narkanda. It's 90 kms uphill from Shimla, and 3400 m above sea level. The 800 performed really well.
And once, I took it to Anandpur Sahab- Ropar highway. It touched 115km/hr. I believe it could have gone till 120km/hr but there was bubbling in the steering;
so I had to slow the car down.
I am completely satisfied by the work done and am now thinking to get minor suspension work done too on the next service.
I recently got the head and tail lamps changed as they had become dull with time.

Am attaching some pics of my happy association with this car.
Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-1.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-1.2.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-2.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-3.1.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-4.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-5.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-7.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-8.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-9.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-10.jpg  

Last edited by GTO : 30th April 2012 at 13:35. Reason: Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another!
Old 29th April 2012, 21:21   #6

Very immaculate M800 out there my friend. I have a soft corner for 1997 manufactured old shape M800 as i myself own the same model of same vintage. I would say just preserve this beauty, its has its own charm and aura which cars of current breed just can't match it. I too have 97' june manufactured M800 in mint condition. Btw i have seen you Hatu peak picture on facebook earlier(we got a mutual friend) and i quickly recognised the same in this post.

Last edited by EFF-EIGHT-BEE : 29th April 2012 at 21:25. Reason: Typo error.
EFF-EIGHT-BEE is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2012, 22:58   #7

I think the fact that you have maintained and run your car for 1.93 L km is by itself a great and admirable feat. It is definitely worth the while and the money to refurbish the engine, mechanicals and the body to keep it running for another 1-2 L km. Don't let any any one tell you otherwise.
Unfortunately, these days we have too many people fascinated by bhp, ABS, traction control and who claim to be 'petrolheads'. I honestly don't know what the term means but I think you are a real petrolhead considering that you have safely used a car to its real potential. That is the hallmark of a true BHPian.
Drive safely, continue to maintain your car well and enjoy the real pleasures of owning a motor car. Well done young man.
fiestarry is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2012, 23:22   #8

Note from Mod: There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the board experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by GTO : 30th April 2012 at 13:36.
anky is offline   Received Infraction
Old 30th April 2012, 07:47   #9

Your love for the car is quiet evident from the way you have kept it, and also from the fact you went ahead with the engine work where most would think about selling the car and upgrading to something else.

The engine kept going will 197K is an indication of how well Japanese engines are built, Most like me don't even use half of its designed life. Wishing you have many more happy miles with it.
Old 30th April 2012, 12:31   #10

for the restoration done! With the way it is being upkept, I feel your grandchildren will have a vintage in their hands to boast about!
Driving_Nomad is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th May 2013, 02:47   #11

Thank you all the bhpians for appreciating and encouraging me more to take care of this beauty . I have added alloys wheels to it and have got the gear box replaced with a 2003 model gearbox . The former one was making type noise which maruti gearboxes make after completing more than lakh kilometers .

In last one year I have drove 10 k on it but due to hikes in petrol costs I drive it only inside city rides.

I am sharing the latest pictures.
Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-image2504776158.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-image4097349125.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-image849584854.jpg  

Engine Rebuilt 1997 model M800 at 1,93,000 km-image1094659109.jpg  

ambarshante is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th May 2013, 08:44   #12

The alloys look really cool and 'gorgeous', especially the 5-spoke wheels! By the way, have you done any modifications to the rear portion of the car. To me, the rear seems to be a little uplifted. But it looks nice.
petrolhead_chn is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th May 2013, 18:33   #13

Originally Posted by petrolhead_chn View Post
The alloys look really cool and 'gorgeous', especially the 5-spoke wheels! By the way, have you done any modifications to the rear portion of the car. To me, the rear seems to be a little uplifted. But it looks nice.
Yes Sir I recently got it uplifted from back .
Actually The main constraint while adding alloys was limited designs availability in 12inch alloys. I had been searching for a decent design since some time now. I liked this one at first instance and the best thing about them was that the rim radials has fit in this alloy very well.
ambarshante is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2013, 21:08   #14

First of all congrats on owning such a wonderfully maintained car for all these years.The car looks pristine and well taken care of.I too have a '97 model 800 but have done just a fraction of the mileage done by you.It was bought in july 97 just a few months before the new look 800 came out.I guess the jun-july 97 model is the last batch of the original best selling model to be manufactured which makes it even more special.
sumeethaldankar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2013, 02:58   #15

Originally Posted by sumeethaldankar View Post
First of all congrats on owning such a wonderfully maintained car for all these years.The car looks pristine and well taken care of.I too have a '97 model 800 but have done just a fraction of the mileage done by you.It was bought in july 97 just a few months before the new look 800 came out.I guess the jun-july 97 model is the last batch of the original best selling model to be manufactured which makes it even more special.
Thank you sir . Mine is also July 97 . I think after a month type 2 maruti 800 was introduced. I personally like type one looks more .

What about your car ? I would like you to share your experience with the machine too .