Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th September 2007, 20:06   #46
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 560
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

n_c, I know! Courtesy Skoda. hehehe. But SG has more features than the Octi's instrument cluster.

cya
A
Absar is offline  
Old 31st October 2007, 22:14   #47
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 560
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Hi! Now the SG is fixed near the speedo with velcro stickers.. Pictures below..







cya
A
Absar is offline  
Old 2nd November 2007, 22:27   #48
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 887
Thanked: 47 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babhishek View Post
No wonder the FORD works flawlessly, American car Maker.
Japs suck at OBD
Interesting.. what did the poor japs do wrong now ?
chetanhanda is offline  
Old 2nd November 2007, 23:13   #49
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

No wonder flawed Jap cars are being sold all over the world...Coz they are way too busy getting their reliability right instead of the great American name..oh for the record us poor japanese car owners would love to talk about resale value as well all over the world ...(hmm wonder why?)And OBD? whats that? OBD II can bus system ..hmm maybe a jap spec?
nitroxx is offline  
Old 3rd November 2007, 01:07   #50
BHPian
 
hkanitkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: pune
Posts: 654
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

@nitroxx - does the ScanGauge II work with Opel cars ? I am planning to get one down from the US of A.
hkanitkar is offline  
Old 3rd November 2007, 15:07   #51
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 560
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

If I find a opel car, ill try to try SGII on it. But the problem would be, where is the OBD port located in the Opel..?

cya
A
Absar is offline  
Old 11th January 2008, 17:17   #52
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 91
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

I bought a Scanguage from US to use in my Baleno.

Sadly it doesn't work. Does anybody know a way out to get it working? :-(
eapen is offline  
Old 11th January 2008, 18:17   #53
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 91
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Or if somebody with an American car wants this to be fixed I am ready to part with it
eapen is offline  
Old 14th January 2008, 13:10   #54
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 91
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

According this chart the OBD2 protocol used by Suzuki is ISO 9141 in many of their sub 2L models.

http://www.etools.org/files/public/g...s-02-17-03.htm

I tried connecting to a 2003 Suzuki Wagon R 1.1L & 2005 Suzuki Baleno 1.6L. Even after forcing the ISO mode the unit switches off undetected after displaying the message "Connecting.........."

There also is a pin layout difference between Wagon R & Baleno in the DLC \ OBD2 Connector



From Scantool FAQ


DLC pins used :-

Wagon R
Pin 5 -ve
Pin 7 signal
Pin 16 +ve

Baleno
Pin 5 -ve
Pin 9 signal
Pin 16 +ve


Does anybody know whether Scangauge supports ISO 9141 standard or is compatible with Suzuki ECU coding?
eapen is offline  
Old 14th January 2008, 14:24   #55
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 10,119
Thanked: 10,037 Times
Default

i dont think the baleno is obd2. maybe thats why its not working.
Akshay1234 is offline  
Old 17th January 2008, 19:28   #56
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Madras
Posts: 560
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eapen View Post
I bought a Scanguage from US to use in my Baleno.

Sadly it doesn't work. Does anybody know a way out to get it working? :-(
Hi eapen,Congrats on your purchase of the SGII. I'm a proud owner and happy user of the same. Its a wonderful device. But I'm sorry the reason why the SGII doesn't work in the Baleno is..
Quote:
Originally Posted by babhishek View Post
No wonder the FORD works flawlessly, American car Maker.
Japs suck at OBD
How much did you get the SGII for?

cya
A
Absar is offline  
Old 6th August 2008, 17:56   #57
BHPian
 
appuchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Bangy
Posts: 642
Thanked: 23 Times
Default

This tool is extensively used by hypermilers in USA. See link below. I am thinking of buying one during my next visit. Not sure though if it works with Santro and Verna. Absar, do you have any info about Santro Zipdrive and Verna compatibility with SGII?

Instrumentation - Fuel Economy, Hypermiling, EcoModding News and Forum - EcoModder.com
appuchan is offline  
Old 7th October 2008, 15:12   #58
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Absar View Post
Hi eapen,Congrats on your purchase of the SGII. I'm a proud owner and happy user of the same. Its a wonderful device. But I'm sorry the reason why the SGII doesn't work in the Baleno is..


How much did you get the SGII for?

cya
A
Will it also work on an Aveo U-VA? Any place to buy it from in India?
the_maassk is offline  
Old 7th October 2008, 17:49   #59
BHPian
 
anantnehru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 447
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babhishek View Post
No wonder the FORD works flawlessly, American car Maker.
Japs suck at OBD
So i'm guessing wont work on the Sx4?
What about Indian cars like Tatas etc etc?
anantnehru is offline  
Old 7th October 2008, 19:43   #60
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,788
Thanked: 416 Times
Default

TATA's use the ISO9141 protocol which is supported by scantool.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anantnehru View Post
So i'm guessing wont work on the Sx4?
What about Indian cars like Tatas etc etc?
dadu is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2021, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks