Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 30th March 2007, 11:13   #1

Help Me: my new HID's are aiming at the sky !!

I installed HID's in my OHC Type1 yesterday and the problem is as follows:

Initially, after installing the HID's, only the top half of the headlamp was glowing with no light falling on the lower half. Also, the light beam was falling high up instead of on the road.

This problem was solved after removing the steel "topi" used on the HID lamps for anti-glare purpose - The result is that the light is atleast 3 times brighter than before.

However, at Low-Beam, the light is barely falling on the road. At night-time I can actually see see the beam going way upwards. On High-beam, the light actually falls on the tree tops and light beam on the road/traffic reduces almost to a nil.

Notes:
  1. The problem has not been solved by adjusting the nut behind the HL - that leads to more like Left/Right adjustment. However, there is only 1 such "adjustment nut" visible on my HL's - shouldn't there be two?
  2. my HL's are only 3 months old bought from the Honda showroom
What do I do??

Is adjusting the direction of the complete HL Unit by a denter the only option left?
Old 30th March 2007, 11:22   #2

AFAIK, the beam adjustment is to be done with the Low Beam always and not with High beams. (applicable only for HLs using a single bulbs for both the lighting).
try readjusting your beams using only the low beam.

and yes, the HLs should have two adjustments screws (L-R and U-D)
Old 30th March 2007, 11:36   #3

Hmmm....xenons on a non-projector setup.....this is the main problem...thats why the beams are pointing on the tree and the balcony of the houses.......

any ways there is a UL adjuster like there is RL adjuster....use it......
Old 30th March 2007, 11:53   #4

Originally Posted by zakaaaaasss
and yes, the HLs should have two adjustments screws (L-R and U-D)
Originally Posted by LBM
any ways there is a UL adjuster like there is RL adjuster....use it......
Are you guys SURE that the OHC has this?

As far as what was visible, there was only one adjustment knob.

There may be one placed where it was not visible, but I would need to dismantle the entire HL to check. Can anyone confirm the presence of such a knob on the OHC Type 1? I know some new cars have this, but its the Type 1 OHC which is what I am concerned about.
Old 30th March 2007, 11:57   #5

Hello LBM, can you please explain this a bit in detail?

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Hmmm....xenons on a non-projector setup.....this is the main problem..
Old 30th March 2007, 12:00   #6

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
here we go again...

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...t-failure.html

the above thread explains this in very deep detail.
Old 30th March 2007, 12:08   #7

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Please refer this thread .. it's amongst LBM's favorite ones .. I'm sure it would clarify more than just a bit

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...failure-2.html

LBM >

I have used a non-projector setup being cognizant of the fact that it is less efficient than a reflexive setup.

However, I have seen non-projector setup HID's aiming the light in the general vicinity of the road surface which is not happening in my case.

I'm sure the projector has nothing to do with this - unless you tell me that the setup in your Swift also aims the light on rooftops

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
the above thread explains this in very deep detail.
Missed your post due as I was composing mine. Couldn't agree with you more

Anyways, my humble request is that lets not hijack this thread like the Swift one, I would appreciate constructive suggestions from all pertaining to the specific problem at hand.

Please Note, forgot mentioning this earlier > I am using Bi-xenons with a motorized system that moves the bulb front-back as per High-beam and Low-beam conditions

Last edited by aah78 : 25th October 2007 at 01:55. Reason: multiple posts merged
Old 30th March 2007, 12:14   #8

Originally Posted by manveet View Post
I'm sure the projector has nothing to do with this - unless you tell me that the setup in your Swift also aims the light on rooftops

Hmmm.....mine setup is perfectly working fine.....aiming on the road and can be adjusted for the roof ...as it has head light leveling device.....
Old 30th March 2007, 14:19   #9

Your OHC has just one nut, then its the same as indica, which has just U/D adjustment nut. Aim it to lowest possible by doing the following
1. Park against a wall, 5 feet
2. Move the nut to the lowermost position, if its still high up, then nothing more can be done, all you can do is move the projector lamp forward or backward such that the aiming is low.
You may need to do some jugaad if normal screw adjustment cannot aim the lights.
You can also try rotating the HID bulb.
HID bulbs give light in an arc pattern, it seems your arc is causing this.
So rotating your HID bulb will result in your beam moving in a circular path. Currently you are at the top of the circle, rotate it 180 degrees to come to the bottom.
If this fails(i.e the bulb cannot be rotated) then you can go to the road next to airport and spot airplanes.
Old 30th March 2007, 22:59   #10

me too having the same problem , not as severe as manveet's
low beam is now high beam and high beam is vvveerry high beam as manveet mentioned.
imagine 4300k hids that too on a santro reflector coming straight at you
Old 30th March 2007, 23:30   #11

If this fails(i.e the bulb cannot be rotated) then you can go to the road next to airport and spot airplanes.

good one tanveer.......the solution you have just answer is the best way to get rid of this problem.....so maveet how many planes you have spoted.....

Originally Posted by harsh87 View Post
me too having the same problem , not as severe as manveet's
low beam is now high beam and high beam is vvveerry high beam as manveet mentioned.
imagine 4300k hids that too on a santro reflector coming straight at you
so you are facing the same problem....I think there is a adjuster in the head light asmbly...which can be used to correct his problem.....further I would say if there is a meet tomm try to come there and we can discuss it then and there....as I have the same kit but I have no problem like this with mine setup....

Last edited by aah78 : 25th October 2007 at 01:55. Reason: multiple posts merged
Old 31st March 2007, 00:11   #12

@ manveeteh - first of all congrats yaar , hey look on the bright side ,now that the light is falling on the Trees (and some balconies) at night it will make it easier for you to see the birds

further I would say if there is a meet tomm try to come there and we can discuss it then and there
good idea....what say manveeteh ?

Last edited by faithless_1984 : 31st March 2007 at 00:14.
Old 31st March 2007, 00:59   #13

retro fit a good pair of projector headlamps to ur OHC, not only will the light fall properly on the road, it will also help the other drivers by not blinding them at night.
Old 31st March 2007, 01:57   #14

Originally Posted by cheap_deal View Post
retro fit a good pair of projector headlamps to ur OHC, not only will the light fall properly on the road, it will also help the other drivers by not blinding them at night.
Projector Lamps are not available for the OHC neither Type I nor Type II.
Old 31st March 2007, 06:42   #15

thats why i said retro fit one, something from another car maybe?