Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 22nd December 2007, 22:56   #1

Pls help me pimp my baby

Hey I've decided to pimp my baby...She's a 1990 BMW E30 316i, it has the M40 series engine, puts out 102 hp at the flywheel...she feels a bit underpowered for my driving now...

Engine
My plan is to change the internals to forged...
Cams, not too high lift
Stage II clutch
FFE [very low, mature growl, not loud]
Air filter [which brand would you sugest]
Iridium spark plugs
reworking the transmission [maybe a custom job]
Turbo! TurboByGarrett.com - Catalog
Intercooler, etc...

Exterior
I want it to look as stock as possible
Lip spoiler
repainting the body, Ferrari red [Bright]
2 Black stripes running down the car, front back entirely [suggest other options please]
HID kit, for all headlights and fogs
New rims and low profile tyres, preferably 16" or 17" if possible...what brand of rims? [Enkei is pretty cheap, but i would love to get a good deal on a set of BBS]

Interior
Stanley interiors, fully redone in black and red leather
LEDs in my HUD, bright red
ICE - Some decent speakers, don't need an expensive set up

How do those mods sound?
Questions I need answered are
1) Who is competent enough to do the engine work?
2) What price range am I looking at? [+- 50k is ok][breakup]
3) Any thing else I might want to consider? or strike off my list, and why?
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:01   #2

here are some pics...some help with photoshop please [you can be creative...pitch your own ideas]

DocG
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:04   #3

Stanley custom leather seats will not cost you less then 30k.

For ICE step in the ICE section and your budget will be happily exceeded.

HID kit, for all headlights and fogs
Will cost you again not less then 20k.

Whats your budget for all the mods. You need to spend around atleast 1.25Lacs to get all what you plan to done. And why are you looking to change internals to forged? You plan to go Turbo sometime later?

New rims and low profile tyres, preferably 16" or 17" if possible...what brand of rims? [Enkei is pretty cheap, but i would love to get a good deal on a set of BBS]
17inchers will be too low profile for Indian roads. Stock Tires are 185/65/14 IIRC, so 205/45/16 will be the proper upsize in 16inchers, i think 195/55/15 will be the best upsize for your car. Alloys from BBS wont be cheap.

Last edited by BUSA : 22nd December 2007 at 23:08.
BUSA is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:13   #4

how about something like this:
pawan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:19   #5

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Whats your budget for all the mods. You need to spend around atleast 1.25Lacs to get all what you plan to done. And why are you looking to change internals to forged? You plan to go Turbo sometime later?

17inchers will be too low profile for Indian roads. Stock Tires are 185/65/14 IIRC, so 205/45/16 will be the proper upsize in 16inchers, i think 195/55/15 will be the best upsize for your car. Alloys from BBS wont be cheap.
16" are fine with me...BBS as they used to make all the BMW rims for that era, I thought it would go well with the look, I found some nice Enkei rims which were well priced. I plan to turbo the car now not later...

But seriously 1.25lakhs for the mods listed...
list the proper price range for whatever you suggest, my budget is not fixed, it's decently flexible...
[i think the turbo job alone is 1.25]
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:21   #6

What about the audio system?
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:26   #7

hmm yeah considering JBL 6" compos in front, 6x9 3 ways in the back, 2 tweeters up front...I have some old Pioneer HU with a 12 CD changer lying around, wanna use that...would I need an amp? and what cost am I looking at [all JBL ]
[i'm willing to compromise a bit on the ICE, as it's the car, the drive, and the performance which entice me, sound is not a priority]

Last edited by DocG : 22nd December 2007 at 23:28.
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:36   #8

JBL GTO Compos - 5k(These come with cross overs and tweeters)
Rear 6x9 - 4k
JBL 6.2 if you plan to amp onlt the fronts around 5k, 60.4 if you plan to amp all the speakers - 7k or 75.4 which is a better amp if you plan to get a sub, you can run the fronts and the subs threw the 75.4 which costs around 10k.

Engine
My plan is to change the internals to forged... 30k
Cams, not too high lift 15k
Stage II clutch 5k
FFE [very low, mature growl, not loud] - 10k
Air filter [which brand would you sugest] - Green - 7k
Iridium spark plugs - 3k
reworking the transmission [maybe a custom job] - ??
Turbo! [COLOR=#0000ff]TurboByGarrett.com - Catalog[/COLOR] - Depends on how much psi you wanna run? Sinc your changing your internal to forged, i am sure your looking double digit boost levels - 1.5L
Intercooler, etc... - Included in the above.

Exterior
I want it to look as stock as possible
Lip spoiler - 3k
repainting the body, Ferrari red [Bright] 20k
2 Black stripes running down the car, front back entirely [suggest other options please] - 2k
HID kit, for all headlights and fogs - 20k
New rims and low profile tyres, preferably 16" or 17" if possible...what brand of rims? [Enkei is pretty cheap, but i would love to get a good deal on a set of BBS] - 40k

Interior
Stanley interiors, fully redone in black and red leather 30k
LEDs in my HUD, bright red - 100 bucks
ICE - Some decent speakers, don't need an expensive set up - 15k

Hope this helps, prices are rough and not exact.
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:53   #9

wow...how rough are these prices? because it definately fits in my budget [not that i don't want to get the best deal in town, with the best tuner for a Beamer][I'll probably splurge a bit more into the interiors...i'm adding a momo stearing wheel, and gear know, and hand brake handle]

The interior theme will be Black and red. jet black seats and roof, bright red stitching, red door panels with black borders and plastics; red lighting etc
Old 23rd December 2007, 00:19   #10

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Engine
My plan is to change the internals to forged... 30k
Cams, not too high lift 15k
Stage II clutch 5k
Where are you getting these prices man? For 15k it's difficult to find a Suzisport cam for the Suzuki G13B, let alone the M40 series engines. Have you found a stage 2 clutch for your Swift for 5K yet? Don't give the guy false hope. Stuff is expensive. Quality stuff even more so. And importing them into India even more so. Let's get real here please.

Here is to give you some idea of prices. I have no idea what their parts are like, though. Engine Components
Old 23rd December 2007, 00:30   #11

i have a vague idea of costs already, I want to import almost all the engine parts, pistons, cams, turbo, clutch kit, and even rims...i figure that if i have everything shipped in together it'll save me a bunch, and someone can help me yank them out of customs here in mumbai :d
Old 23rd December 2007, 00:32   #12

Originally Posted by pawan View Post
how about something like this:
hmm i have a problem clearing speed brakers as it is...
Old 23rd December 2007, 00:42   #13

There are 2 things which I missed out on on the original list
1) Brakes upgrade to ventilated discs, dimpled and slotted...costing around 280 USD for all 4 discs
2) Not considering suspension upgrades as the stock suspension is extremely competent

EBC SPORT SLOTTED AND DIMPLED BRAKE DISC SET -- Made From Premium Quality Castings, CNC Precision Machined To Enhance Overall Brake Performance And Appearance, Designed To Draw Cool Air To Reduce Brake Temperatures Whilst Removing Dirt, Dust, And Debris, Engineered To Improve Braking Performance During Wet And Dry Conditions, Set Includes Left And Right Drilled And Slotted Sport Rotors, Black, Features A Dimpled Hole Construction To Prevent Cracking And A Black Zinc Coating To Prevent Corrosion, 10.2 Inch Diameter
Old 23rd December 2007, 00:43   #14

Ported my figures were estimates, i wasnot talking about M engine components and parts which will certainly be much more expensive but prices which i have heard of on the net and other forums, maybe parts are much cheaper in some places. You can get XTD stage 2 clutches for 130$~5000
Old 23rd December 2007, 00:51   #15

Docg nice ride bro.. just a thought personally visit tuners in Mumbai they will do a neat job like Viper Performance or KS Motosport all i know just these 2 here