Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 16th January 2008, 09:41   #1

2000 Maruti Esteem VX Modification Help

I own a carburrated 2000 model Esteem VX (Golden Color) which having run close to 1lakh kms still has an excellent engine and gearbox. So I thought I will go in for a total change in looks instead of dumping it and going for a new car.

So these are what I plan to do ....

1) Changing the car exteriors to new esteem. i.e. Grey color, new front grill, new headlights, new tail lamps, rear spoiler etc.

2) Leather seat covers(original/art), steering cover, door panels

3) Alloy wheels.

4) New tyres.

5) Reviving old a/c. (present a/c blower is too weak)

SO what do u feel about this ??? Will it be worth the money? and most importantly anyone having done it can u plz tell me how much it might cosT??? i want details of each and new suggestions ....

Thanking You,
Sam Cochin
Old 16th January 2008, 12:50   #2

whats the present colour of your car and its condition interior and exterior
Old 17th January 2008, 07:33   #3

Hi Sam,
Enthondu vishesham.

Are you interested in just making your 2000 model look like a 2007/08 model or you want it to look a bit different from all other esteems.
Think a bit more artistic and maybe you can make the car look better with a good paint job, alloys, small body mods etc.
Old 17th January 2008, 12:48   #4

Service engineer at Maruti Service center in Naraina showed me one such Esteem, he said the owner invested Rs.1.75 lacs in the car, it now looks like new esteem, however still things are not perfect and owner is not satisfied.
Old 17th January 2008, 22:49   #5

Hey sam first of all welcome to team-bhp hope you enjoy & learn alot form the forum.Now coming to your car,I would suggest you go in for new headlights
Old 17th January 2008, 22:56   #6

Hey sam I would suggest you go in for new headlights,mask your tail lamps,xenons & the rest as you mentioned in your post. xenon bulbs should cost you about 10k for a goodset.
Old 18th January 2008, 06:40   #7

Instead of cosmetics, get your internals right first starting from the AC that you are having a problem with, clutch, suspension etc & then give her a coat of paint. You could consider some basic mods like Headers, FFE and K & N.
Old 18th January 2008, 11:28   #8

How come you have the carb version? Wasnot the MPFi version launched in 2000?

Costs for the things you plan to do.

1. 40k
2. 20k
3. 15k-20k
4. 15k-20k
5. ????????
Old 18th January 2008, 11:30   #9

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
How come you have the carb version? Wasnot the MPFi version launched in 2000?

MPFI came in the end of 2000.

In fact carb versions were still available in the rural areas even in 2001.
Old 18th January 2008, 12:06   #10

What is this masking all about ?? and excuse me but i donno wats FFE, K&N :(
Old 18th January 2008, 16:37   #11

Masking is a process where you apply a thin coat of paint (usually black) on your tail lamps,it really looks good on some cars & depends on the colour of the car.FFE stands for free flow exhaust & k&n is a performance air filter.
Old 18th January 2008, 17:57   #12

For converting you old esteem into new. You'll Need new Rear too. new esteem is solid while the previous one had Lights.

I dont think fenders need to be changed for fitting in new side front light. But still it can be a possiblilty. Its better you go to a bodyshop. And get an estimate. I dont think the outer thing will cost you much. Except for the price of back dikki...
Old 18th January 2008, 21:19   #13

If I were you, I would retain the rear of the car as it is. The rear of the new Esteem (latest one) is not really very pleasing like the earlier one IMO.

And yeah, as John suggested, get your interiors, the A/C and any mechanical things right before you go in for the cosmetic mods. You might want to look at adding a spoiler to her rear that will for sure augment her beauty.
Old 24th April 2008, 22:39   #14

Finally Im going for it ...

Presently - 2000 Model Esteem VX

Gonna convert into Type III latest model esteem

Total cost estimated - 35k.

new tyres - 10k

Will upload pics once the work is carried out
Old 16th May 2008, 21:00   #15

Esteem Headlights

New model headlights for esteem - my mechanic says each costs 4000rupees ... is it true??? the multi reflector headlights.... plz help