Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Search this Thread
Old 27th July 2008, 15:30   #1
BHPian

Building a new SUV / Car

Hello Everybody,

I am pretty new to TeamBHP. I am interested in getting an SUV custom built. The reasons are simple.
1) Its gonna be a gift for my dad
2) I want the car to be different from the crowd
3) I really dont like the designs that are existing (except Scorpio)
4) I feel the companies charge much more for what they offer, and my belief is that one can have an SUV custom built with the same money, but with more features.
Please correct me if I am wrong.

I dont mind waiting for a long time for the car to hit the road. Following are the questions that are in my mind for the moment. It will great if I can get some gyan on these fronts.

1) Which is the best turbo diesel engine? I assume that its Innova's. What bout Scorpio and Safari or any other? 4X4 feature isnt mandatory.

2) Is it a possibility to buy a new engine and an old/new chassis of a best SUV? So this allows me to maintain the handling / stability of the original manufacturer.

3) What are the major problems that I might face? Do you think i will end up spending more than a new SUV?

4) Who are the good body designers in Bangalore (primary choice), Chennai (2nd choice). I am also looking into the option of customizing an existing body...

5) How safe will it be, considering the fact that body will be custom made - eg: I cant conduct accident tests or see if the design is aerodynamic... etc

6) How practical is my above idea? My budget is upto Rs. 7 Lakhs.

I would like to have information on a high level.... and if things look positive, then I want to drill down....

I look forward for your response. Thanks a lot in advance.

Best Regards,
Yogesh
Old 27th July 2008, 17:41   #2

I dont know what can be done ( seniors will explain ) but I think problem will be mostly from aerodynamic front.