Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th May 2010, 13:01   #1

Help with restoring an 800

Note to the Moderators: This is my second post, trying to abide by the forum’s guidelines, hope this thread isn’t deleted too. Let me clarify that I have created a new thread as I am unable to find all the details I require in older posts, most of the restorations include K&N’s and fancy mod jobs which do not apply to my restoration.

Background: I need to purchase a car ASAP as I have been asked to stop riding after a recent accident where my knee suffered significant damage. The car I aspire to buy is a Swift VDI; however I am not in a position to buy this right now due to other financial commitments. I am planning on buying the Swift in Jan 2011. Till then I need a run about car which is easy and cheap to maintain, run and purchase.
The obvious choice is a Maruti 800. Now since I’m new to four wheelers I was wondering what the upkeep costs of an 800 would be like for a well maintained vehicle, my daily running is about 30kms at the minimum.
Once I purchase the Swift, the 800 will be kept as a second car, and will barely gather any miles on the odo, will the maintenance for an unused car be more or less than one that is being used everyday?

Costs involved:
Lastly it would be great if anyone could help me out with the costs involved with the following expenses:
Second hand 800 (any year, any make, reasonably ok condition, Mumbai registered:
Engine and gearbox overhaul:
AC overhaul:
Paint job (non metallic):
New tires:
New battery:
New lights (HL, TL, and SLs):
Consumables (oil filters, air filters, brake pads etc):
Upholstery (seat covers etc):
Anything else I might need to change which I have missed out in my list.

Regarding the restoration