Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 24th May 2010, 11:34   #1

Unusual / Funny Horns

Most cars have horns which produce a consistent "Horn Like" sound, However some trucks or even buses have horns which have a certain tune to them, the most common being the "Naagin tune"

Now I believe there are Musical Horns available, which can play pretty much any sound/song.... i suppose these are illegal, but are not all that difficult to find...

So which is the strangest, most unusual, funniest horn that you have encountered?
Please mention which vehicle the horn was fitted on, and try and describe the tune, as well as the feelings it evoked.

Heard a really out of place horn, on Mercedes CLS near Saket yesterday, It played a realistic replica of the police bullhorns at the airport complete with extra engine noise and static. I jumped in my seat when I heard "Yeh gaadi aaage badhao" on a reasonably empty road, with no sign of any police vehicles around, took me a few seconds to realise it was the CLS
Unusual, but really effective....
Old 24th May 2010, 11:40   #2

WHAATTT

On a serious note,trucks and Buses playing Dhoom tune as their horns is pretty common,and it does sound funny.
But that horn in a CLS???
what was the owner thinking.
i would be better off in a taxi or something
but a CLS???
Old 24th May 2010, 11:45   #3

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
WHAATTT

On a serious note,trucks and Buses playing Dhoom tune as their horns is pretty common,and it does sound funny.
But that horn in a CLS???
what was the owner thinking.
i would be better off in a taxi or something
but a CLS???
Exactly!!! the very reason I started this thread - totally shocking
Old 24th May 2010, 12:41   #4

In Jaipur, a Baby wailing Horn was a common sound.

Then, in some bikes, I have seen the barking dog horn a big hit.
You jump in your place.

Imagine you are walking peacefully and some prankster comes up from behind and blows that Doggie horn behind you.

You are taken aback and jump in your place!!!
Old 24th May 2010, 12:44   #5

I am particualry annoyed by the "Tapering" Horn that is used in Chennai by 2W and Autos.

it sounds like beeeeeeeep, beeeeeep, beep, bee, be.

If i give way with one single horn sound, why should i be honked at multiple times. It really annoyes me.
Old 24th May 2010, 13:09   #6

Actually i hate the small buses in chennai that have the trumpet horn with varying sound intensities(goes up and down).

It makes everyone irritating.
Old 24th May 2010, 18:37   #7

My TVS scooty too have a ambulance horn !!!
Old 24th May 2010, 20:26   #8

An RX100 in our old locality had a horn which would scream "HAT JAO"(Get out of the way) in a vicious and 110Db tone. Whenever he used to ride around the streets at night, even 10 year old kids would run for mama.

He later 'up'graded to a horn which had dog barking sound and poor canines in our locality would run with their tails between their legs.

All this is 100% true, even if it does sound unearthly.
Old 24th May 2010, 22:00   #9

The SCREAM horn looks very irritating, it sounds like a girl is robbed/ and she's screaming for help.

Also the Fading horn tuner is used by many auto rickshaws and bikers in my town.
the horn stats with full Bang then goes to silent after 2-3 lesser honks.
quite similar what "scopriobharath" seems to be referring to.

and that Merc CLS guy might have upgraded from a auto rickshaw but didn't learned the decency, if GM Mercedes hears that, they'll buy back the car. LOL
Old 24th May 2010, 22:47   #10

I'd love to have a horn that sounds like a screeching tire. Really needed to move some pedestrians in my locality.
Old 24th May 2010, 22:54   #11

Originally Posted by jinojohnt View Post
I'd love to have a horn that sounds like a screeching tire. Really needed to move some pedestrians in my locality.
I fully agree with you. If you find one, lemme know, too.
Old 24th May 2010, 23:15   #12

Originally Posted by jinojohnt View Post
Heads turn, people leave any & all work, kids are scared, dogs bark, people in shops rush to a spot near that captivating noise, yes, it is the noise of a squealing tire. Spot on. Now I'm gonna talk to the RX100 guy(He must be around 50 now).
Old 24th May 2010, 23:37   #13

Punjab will be No. 1

If we are talking about the unusual horns then I think the Buses and Trucks in Punjab will be No. 1. Especially the buses which are being operated by big private players in Punjab.

They have got Pressure Horns installed on their buses which sounds like most of the hit Hindi / Punjabi songs. Most popular are :-
  • Dhoom macha de.... (from movie - Dhoom II)
  • Main hu Don.......... (from movie - Don)
  • Kyun Paisa paisa karti hai.... (from movie - De Dana Dan)
  • Nagin Twist...... (Movie - Love Aaj Kal)
  • Punjabi Songs
You can spot them on any highway in Punjab but mostly you can spot them NH1 (Between Rajpura - Amritsar), NH 95 (Between Chandigarh - Firozepur) and Chandigarh - Phagwara highway. They drive at a speed of more than 80 kms/hr. Starts blowing horn, at a distance of 200 - 300 mtrs. They don't want any obstacle on the road.
Old 25th May 2010, 00:04   #14

the ideal weirdo horn would be the one which would replicate the sound of tires screeching
Old 25th May 2010, 03:06   #15

How about the Hooter? used in 2 wheelers? It will give an elderly person a heart attach!