Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On modifying a car

Old 8th February 2016, 23:19   #4396

Re: ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil

Originally Posted by Sawyer View Post
Or more correctly, it is as safe as opting for a genuine 5W40 and is definitely cheaper.
Well, you can say that again! Saw this MGO oil at the Shell station yesterday; 20W40, API SF (Mfr recommended grade), Rs 850 for a 3 litre can! Good for 10k KM or one year, whichever is earlier!
Old 9th February 2016, 06:55   #4397

I am surprised that SF grade is even available, it is long obsolete and meant for model year 1988 and older engines. But if the company is recommending and the authorised service station is using, it might be ok though latter generation oils are just as cheap now.

I don't bother with the whole "what oil" navel gazing these days, I just leave it to the authorised service station - that I preselect carefully as a general practice - to do what is right. In my cars I find that the approximate cost of oil change materials is about Rs 1000, once a year, and I find little reason to look around to see how to get that to be lower than this with annual running in the region of 10000 km per car. While I have yet to use a car for more than 100,000 kilometres, I have never had engine performance issues or needed to have the engine valve cover removed for maintenance even once in the last thirty years.

PS: I have to confess to using Mobil 1 synthetic in my "car is a hobby" days, but I outgrew that phase in a few years. It afforded me psychological comfort, the cars didn't much care.

Last edited by Sawyer : 9th February 2016 at 06:59. Reason: PS
Old 9th February 2016, 11:53   #4398

API-SF good to see that dinosaurs are still alive. I was interesting to see when there were ads from (I think) Bharat Petro - 'now in SG also', when all grades below API-SJ had been declared obsolete. I why API-SF was historic, because it was the first oil to allow an Annual /12,000mile oil change!
Old 9th February 2016, 12:54   #4399

Vehicle -------------- Tata Indica V2 DLS (2001)
Kms on Odometer ---- 1,80,000kms+
Current Engine Oil ---- Castrol GTX Diesel (since 4-5years)
Monthly Running ----- 1500-1700kms
Engine Oil Change ---- Every 7500kms (religiously)

Till date, I have no engine issues, nor any pollution or mileage problems (consistent 18kmpl with AC). Is Synthetic oil, a feasible choice for such an old engine?
Old 9th February 2016, 14:45   #4400

Hi Friends,
I have a maruti alto 2008 model which has done 1lakh kms,i have using 15w40 and 10w40 engine oil from shell and change every 6000kms.
Now my query is can i continue 10w40 HX7 or go for 20w40 ,because my mechanic was mentioning as the car gets old use thicker oil.
kindly please help
Old 9th February 2016, 15:08   #4401

The higher number is the thickness of the oil when hot, lower number doesn't matter.
Old 10th February 2016, 10:28   #4402

I have ordered Motul 2000 Multipower 20w50 for my Alto (75k done). Got it for 667 bucks for 3L and have used it in a previous 800 I had.
Old 13th February 2016, 01:06   #4403

Originally Posted by straight6 View Post
I have ordered Motul 2000 Multipower 20w50 for my Alto (75k done). Got it for 667 bucks for 3L and have used it in a previous 800 I had.

Hi sir, what is your view about this oil.can I use this in my alto which is nearing 1 lakh km.i have been using shell hx7 till now. I use motomix from Motul 2t oil for my k Honda .best 2t oil used so far , wanted to know your feedback about Motul 2000 thank you
Old 13th February 2016, 12:28   #4404

Originally Posted by chetan5678 View Post
Hi sir, what is your view about this oil.can I use this in my alto which is nearing 1 lakh km.i have been using shell hx7 till now. I use motomix from Motul 2t oil for my k Honda .best 2t oil used so far , wanted to know your feedback about Motul 2000 thank you
Its a good oil. I have used it in my 800 earlier. Its API-SL rated. I was unable to get the Gulf Max Supreme 20w50 which is API-SM rated hence asked for this.

Do change it every 5k.
Old 13th February 2016, 16:16   #4405

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
I have not seen this 10w 30 in HX 5 range, only 15w 40. Is this picture from Shell India site?
Yes, from Shell India. I cant find it either
http://www.shell.in/products-service...x-mineral.html
Old 14th February 2016, 02:34   #4406

So last weekend I changed the oil and filter for the SX4 myself at home with the Mobil Super 1000 after returning the Super 3000. Again, only 4L went in and the level is showing perfect.

Also got the gear oil changed to the Mak and its excellent. Anyone wondering about it should just go ahead.

The Motul oils got delivered today and I must correct myself about the 2000. Its API-SJ rated though the Indian website says SL. The 4100 is my next change for the SX4. Tomorrow I'll service the Alto with the 2000.
ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-20160203_014809.jpg  

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-20160203_014825.jpg  

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-20160203_171449.jpg  

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-20160203_171503.jpg  

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-20160211_143008.jpg  

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-20160213_172451.jpg  

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-20160213_172510.jpg  

Old 14th February 2016, 12:09   #4407

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
^^ Monograde oil?
Fairly sure you'll find some tractor spec monograde oil in tier 2 towns.
Monograde oils in high API specifications are still available for continuous duty aplications. Mobil Delvac 1340 SAE 30 is common for generators running non stop. In fact multigrade oils often face failure in their VI Index improver in engines used continuously for over 150 Hrs.
The multigrades are just not rated for that kind of use. Railway engines in India rated for 180 days service are stopped for a few hours every 7th day or so just to allow multigrade oil to cool and recover. In countries where engines are not switched off from service to service the 180 day 4 Lakh km interval always use monograde oils.

Rahul
Rahul Rao is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th February 2016, 17:15   #4408

Hey,
I drive an ecosport diesel and there's a "use synthetic oil only" sticker on the engine. But FASS by default uses castrol magnatec semi synthetic oil and offers synthetic oil only as an option. Won't this be a problem to the engine in any way?
Old 16th February 2016, 17:59   #4409

Originally Posted by Taha Mir View Post
Hey,
I drive an ecosport diesel and there's a "use synthetic oil only" sticker on the engine. But FASS by default uses castrol magnatec semi synthetic oil and offers synthetic oil only as an option. Won't this be a problem to the engine in any way?
It wont be. Just make sure the right grade is being used.
straight6 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2016, 23:52   #4410

I was reading about API-SN rated oils and it said thy're supposed to increase FE. From the 18th to 21st I drove to Goa for the IBW and while going I got a total of 410 kms on 2 tank fulls of cng.

While driving back I filled petrol to the brim and at the half way mark on the fuel level indicator I had done 320 kms (100% AC). The SX4 tank capacity is shown as 50L in the manual so what I need to know is would it have been more than that since I filled till the brim and if yes, how much more?

For eg if 55L went in then the FE is 10.6 which I think is very good for the 1st gen SX4.