Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On modifying a car

Old 19th November 2008, 17:55   #1231

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post

Please be corrected.
Hmmm, did not know that mineral oil also needs be to completely replaced!

Anyways, so after 10k kms, flushing also needs to be done again kya?
Old 19th November 2008, 17:58   #1232

what is the ideal drain period of Mobil 1 with kind of sedate driving(no frequent redlining of engine).
Old 19th November 2008, 18:07   #1233

Srikant, Not much harm using 5W50 fully synthetic.
Mobil Delvac 1 would be more appropriate for your diesel swift.
Thanks nitrous, Can i continue using it till 30 k kms?

Originally Posted by rb2399 View Post
I think Mobil 1 5W 50 meets API-CF which is way down what current diesel engines require on account of EGR and all i.e. API CH-4 and higher.There must be something more to an API CH-4 oil than an API-CF oil So in my opinion better change your oil instead of waiting for 30K.
Delvac 1 is very expensive and hard to get as well.Instead you can opt for Mobil Delvac MX (API-CI4) or Delo-400 (API CI-4 plus) which come at a fraction of cost but perform nearly the same as far as synthetic oil is concerned.
Is there any thing like, API SM=API CF?? Can you please elaborate?
Old 19th November 2008, 18:52   #1234

Is it advised to add engine oil additives like Bardahl oil treatment/suppliment to fully synthetic oils like Mobil 1.Please advise.
Old 19th November 2008, 19:19   #1235

Originally Posted by srikant View Post
Thanks nitrous, Can i continue using it till 30 k kms?

Is there any thing like, API SM=API CF?? Can you please elaborate?
API classification falls into two categories.One for petrol engines (which starts with S) and the other for Diesel engines (starting with C).
So API SM/CF means SM for petrol & CF for Diesel.
Old 19th November 2008, 20:07   #1236

API classification falls into two categories.One for petrol engines (which starts with S) and the other for Diesel engines (starting with C).
So API SM/CF means SM for petrol & CF for Diesel.
I do know that pal, but what i am asking you is, how did you tell that my present engine oil 5W50 API SM is equivalent to API CF? i am not clear on that.
Old 19th November 2008, 20:58   #1237

I do know that pal, but what i am asking you is, how did you tell that my present engine oil 5W50 API SM is equivalent to API CF? i am not clear on that.
Just look at the API donut symbol on the can that contained the oil ;-),better still:
Mobil 1 5W-50
Old 20th November 2008, 14:03   #1238

I own a SWIFT VDI DDIS, I had changed to MOBIL1 5W50 API SM fully synthetic oil during my 20k kms oil change after flushing out the old mineral oil. Now my car has run 27k kms . But i got to know resently that i was using the wrong grade of engine oil since 20K. 5W50 API SM, which i learnt now that, is for petrol cars and it is API CH/CI for diesel.

1. Can somebody please guide me on, whats the right grade of synthetic engine oil for the DDIS?
2. Did i do any harm to my engine by changing to API SM and running with it for past 7k kms?
3. What should i do now? (Can i continue with this oil till 30k kms? and then change to API CH )
Recently I learnt on this same thread that, Castrol GTX Diesel is also a very good mineral oil(CI) which is more than recommended CF.
CH is for ULSD, which is not yet introduced in India.
I was trying to search something about Casrol GTX - D on Castrol web site but couldnt find.
But while doind some google search got some good reviews about Castrol GTX-D
GTX is Petrol, and GTD is diesel oil, and GTX-D is a new diesel oil.
Dont confuse GTD with GTX-D

I am due for 10K oil change. Will check with Maruti delaer if they stock GTX-D. Else may need to buy outside.

-Another Srikanth
Old 20th November 2008, 14:14   #1239

Originally Posted by nishantgandhi
Anyways, so after 10k kms, flushing also needs to be done again kya?
No need. The synthetic oil itself would have a good detergent package.
Originally Posted by akshay4587
what is the ideal drain period of Mobil 1 with kind of sedate driving(no frequent redlining of engine).
10,000 kms or~1 year. Nothing more.
Originally Posted by srikant
nitrous, Can i continue using it till 30 k kms?
Yes, you can continue till 30k(odo)
Originally Posted by zen91
Is it advised to add engine oil additives like Bardahl oil treatment/suppliment to fully synthetic oils like Mobil 1?
Not required. Those are "built-in" with the synthetics.
Old 20th November 2008, 14:42   #1240

Originally Posted by Sudipto-S-Team View Post
What flush was this Vr7om? Motul branded? By the way, what's the Motul range these guys keep? Do they keep gear oil and brake fluid too?
I forgot the name of the Flush. I got it from Shrish near AJC flyover. Its definitely not Motul.

They have quite a big range of products. I really didnt investigate as I had decided what to go for before hand. But I guess even if its not present in their stock, they can probably get anything thats available in India

FYI they are located near South Point High School, Ballygunge.
Old 20th November 2008, 15:20   #1241

No need. The synthetic oil itself would have a good detergent package.

10,000 kms or~1 year. Nothing more.
Yes, you can continue till 30k(odo)
Not required. Those are "built-in" with the synthetics.
Thanks nitrous for your valuable input
Old 20th November 2008, 19:41   #1242

Thanks RB, I went through that Mobil link, it comes to Cf rating na? I got the point pal, thanks a lot for the info.

Thanks Nitrous . . i ll change to good oil (Correct rated oil) soon.
Old 20th November 2008, 19:45   #1243

Delo-400 is rated higher (CI-4 plus) than GTX Diesel.You can safely go for Delo-400 if available.I've been using it in my Safari (2.2) without any problems for past 9K kms.
Also Delo has higher HTHS & TBN numbers compared to GTX Diesel,so better still !!!
Thanks, rb2399. Will try Delo-400.

cheers,
Old 20th November 2008, 20:23   #1244
gpa

Synthetic for the Santro

Hi guys,

Will be giving my Feb 2005 Santro Xing for its 50,000 kms service on Monday (Nov 24). Am planning to switch to synthetic oil during this service and need your valuable inputs on a few things.
  1. Am planning to go for Shell Helix Ultra.. is this compatible for the Santro? Which grade should I go for? (earlier, I wanted to switch to Mobil 1, but decided I'd use that for my Alto)
  2. The engine will be decarbonized as a routine process that I follow every 20,000 kms. Should the engine also be flushed prior to the switch to the synthetic oil?
  3. Any other inputs for me that I should bear in mind while making the switch to synthetic?
Thanks in advance,

gpa

Last edited by gpa : 20th November 2008 at 20:25.
Old 20th November 2008, 22:36   #1245

Originally Posted by gpa View Post
Hi guys,

Will be giving my Feb 2005 Santro Xing for its 50,000 kms service on Monday (Nov 24). Am planning to switch to synthetic oil during this service and need your valuable inputs on a few things.
  1. Am planning to go for Shell Helix Ultra.. is this compatible for the Santro? Which grade should I go for? (earlier, I wanted to switch to Mobil 1, but decided I'd use that for my Alto)
  2. The engine will be decarbonized as a routine process that I follow every 20,000 kms. Should the engine also be flushed prior to the switch to the synthetic oil?
  3. Any other inputs for me that I should bear in mind while making the switch to synthetic?
Thanks in advance,

gpa

1. Shell helix Ultra is fully compatible with Santro. Go for 15w50.
2. It is recomended that engine is flushed while switching from mineral oil to Synthetic oil.

Pls refer to earlier posts to get more details on Synthetic oil.