Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On modifying a car

Search this Thread
Old 2nd February 2018, 14:13   #4846
BHPian

Re: ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil

I have ordered "Mobil 1 ESP 5W-30 Synthetic Motor Oil (3 L)" for my 60k run I10 1.2Kappa(2009)AT, earlier with mineral oil from service centre, changed at 52000km and 14months back. Should I change any washer etc as I am shifting to synthetic? Oil flush?

Any comments/opinion from experts?
Old 2nd February 2018, 14:47   #4847
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klub Class View Post

I'm not an expert when it comes to oil. Please check with other BHPians or service centre before proceeding
Many Thanks for the lightning response Klub Class.

It is mentioned in the image shared by you that 5W40 synthetic oil can be used for the petrol engine for ambient temperature of -30 to 40C. Am getting Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 for Rs 2450 on Amazon today, so will go for it.

Thanks again
GJ01 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2018, 10:57   #4848
BHPian

Any idea if Motul 4100 Power 5W30 is compatible with the K10 engine? As per the owners manual, the 2012 A-Star's recommended engine oil grade is 5W30, although some service centers are insisting on 0W20 (for the revised K10 engines). Thinking of buying the Motul and taking it for the next service of my A-Star.
Attached Thumbnails
ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-91fnqgqxunl._sl1500_.jpg  

Old 4th March 2018, 00:31   #4849
BHPian

Guys I have come across this thread before w.r.t my the queries that have been rising in me regarding automobile lubrication. The thread started in 2006 and is still ongoing. IMHO this shows that there is still a lot of confusion in the minds of BHPians regarding this critical issue and that this thread has not yet provided a broad based and convincing answers to its followers. That is the reason that the queries and reasoning/arguments continue apace.