Team-BHP > Team-BHP Advice > On modifying a car

Old 24th June 2020, 19:12   #5491

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
Any standard 5w40 A3/B4 oil will work fine. Shell Helix Ultra 5w40 is excellent. Or if you are able to get this Amsoil, nothing like it. https://www.amazon.in/AMSOIL-Europea.../dp/B01DETS2WQ
After much dilly dallying I have ordered mobil super 3000 5w40 which confirms to fiats specs for mjd for rs 1546 .I thought price to be steal for 4litres .Let's see how it performs in my Fiat

I have ordered mobil super 3000 5w40 from Amazon at Rs 1526 for 4 litres .I would post the performance after changing the oil .Now I have to procure oil filter ,air filter and pollen filter .

Last edited by benbsb29 : 7th July 2020 at 03:43. Reason: Back to back posts merged + deleted duplicate post quote.
Old 24th June 2020, 20:12   #5492

Re: ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil

Originally Posted by blueblooded View Post
After much dilly dallying I have ordered mobil super 3000 5w40 which confirms to fiats specs for mjd for rs 1546 .I thought price to be steal for 4litres .Let's see how it performs in my Fiat
Not that good an oil, outdated spec but the mjd is a tough and old fashioned engine and will perform reasonably on even garbage oils

Anyway for the limited driving that will be possible during covid using a cheaper oil that meets the spec is just fine.
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2020, 19:17   #5493

Hello Hserus.
I am having 7 year old 1 lac km run ecosport diesel with no problem of engine oil consumption or black smoke etc. Its always serviced at FASS and used their engine oil which is marked as Shell fully synthetic engine oil that is changed every 7500 kms.
Recently I thought of using fully synthetic engine oil on my own so that I can also experience the smoothness everybody is talking here.
From the above discussion, I have come to the conclusion that Mobil Super 3000 X1 Formula FE 5W-30 Fully Synthetic Petrol/Diesel Engine Oil (3.5 L) is best suited for my ride.
My apprehensions are
-is it better to use FASS semi synthetic oil for 7500 km or using fully synthetic for 10000km.
-Is it safe to start using fully synthetic engine oil in high mileage vehicles like mine?
-Can we revert back to engine oil from FASS if something untoward/negligible happens?
-What are other fully synthetic TDCI compatible options from shell helix ultra/castrol magnatec edge if in case Mobil1 not available in my place?
-kindly suggest some compatible options that come in 5 litre pack, because the 1 litre pack that we have to purchase separately increase the cost significantly?
Old 3rd July 2020, 00:56   #5494

Originally Posted by Rama Naveen View Post
Thanks Devarshi,
For taking time to pen down your thoughts.
It's just that the guys were confidentally any modern cars would benefit with Gulfstar irrespective of the grade and hence wanted to check if any tried this product.

MRP price quoted :: Rs 4000
After discount price :: Rs 3700
Did you use the Gulfstar oil? How was your experience?
Old 3rd July 2020, 06:31   #5495

Originally Posted by Dr.Abhi View Post
Recently I thought of using fully synthetic engine oil on my own so that I can also experience the smoothness everybody is talking here.
From the above discussion, I have come to the conclusion that Mobil Super 3000 X1 Formula FE 5W-30 Fully Synthetic Petrol/Diesel Engine Oil (3.5 L) is best suited for my ride.
The Mobil one is an OK oil and roughly similar to the Ford oil (that particular variant of 5w30 is only supplied to ford by shell in India and isn’t on the open market)

I haven’t seen it sold in one liter cans so when I had my fiesta I would buy two large cans and use the remainder from the second can for my next oil change.
hserus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th July 2020, 13:40   #5496

I don’t know if I should post it here or in the jokes thread! Bought this engine oil and have a look at this anomaly:
ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-48722d7129314768a721ed63e143142f.jpeg  

saket77 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th July 2020, 14:23   #5497

The Mobil one is an OK oil and roughly similar to the Ford oil (that particular variant of 5w30 is only supplied to ford by shell in India and isn’t on the open market)

I haven’t seen it sold in one liter cans so when I had my fiesta I would buy two large cans and use the remainder from the second can for my next oil change.
I have used this oil in my Creta (1.6L CRDi) during the 70,000kms service. The distributor didn't have the 3.5L pack size so bought 5 cans of 1L.

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-img_20191223_163312_copy_768x1365.jpg

ARTICLE: Synthetic oil vs Mineral oil-img_20191223_163317_copy_768x1365.jpg

Shall be getting the same oil again for the 80,000 kms service that I'll be doing in a few days.
Old 5th July 2020, 15:02   #5498

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
I have used this oil in my Creta (1.6L CRDi) during the 70,000kms service. The distributor didn't have the 3.5L pack size so bought 5 cans of 1L.

Shall be getting the same oil again for the 80,000 kms service that I'll be doing in a few days.
Hyundais post 2018 need 5w30 a3b4 and shell helix hx8 5w30 or shell helix taxi 5w30 are the only ones that fit the bill. The Mobil is a5b5.

Don’t worry about the taxi tag, it only means extra detergents added for high mileage mostly city use, quite a good oil that I recently filled in my wife’s i10.

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
I don’t know if I should post it here or in the jokes thread! Bought this engine oil and have a look at this anomaly:
The oil is 2020, the can with details of a now expired offer for mechanics (in a peel off sticker inside the can’s lid) is from the previous year.

Last edited by hserus : 5th July 2020 at 15:04.
hserus is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th July 2020, 15:03   #5499

Does the Etios Liva have a DPF? This time I wish to try the Mobil1 0w40 oil. Pls help me here team. Thanks in advance.
Old 16th July 2020, 17:03   #5500

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
I compared the data sheet of this oil vs amsoil signature series, they are so close yet Amsoil is much more expensive, a bit of reading lead me to this interesting page.

http://www.synlube.com/synthetic.html
Kosfactor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2020, 09:26   #5501

Originally Posted by coolmel View Post
Does the Etios Liva have a DPF? This time I wish to try the Mobil1 0w40 oil. Pls help me here team. Thanks in advance.
No DPF. Stick to a regular 5w30 A5/B5, plenty of them at all budgets. eg Castrol Magnatec Stop/Start, Idemitsu, Valvoline All Climate Advanced ..
Old 17th July 2020, 11:14   #5502

Hello.
What would you guys recommendation for Engine oil for 2012 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 petrol?
I have been using Mobil 1 5w30 API SN FS https://www.amazon.in/Mobil-5W30-Fully-Synthetic-Engine/dp/B01MZD0HAR

Any suggestions for a different brand or a different oil from the same brand which is better than what i am currently using??
Old 17th July 2020, 13:47   #5503

https://www.hyundai.com/in/en/connec...les/engine-oil

Elantra 1.8 L API SM - SAE 5 W 30 3.85 L 294 306

So you need a good 5w30 engine oil. Later Hyundais ask for a 5w30 A3/B4 so I would say there's Shell Helix HX8 and Shell Helix Taxi both in 5w30, as I've posted here before that are quite good oils for any petrol car. The Mobil1 is also an excellent oil, but ACEA A1/B1 which is the older version of A5/B5, not quite the right choice for your car.

Originally Posted by iron View Post
Hello.
What would you guys recommendation for Engine oil for 2012 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 petrol?
I have been using Mobil 1 5w30 API SN FS https://www.amazon.in/Mobil-5W30-Fully-Synthetic-Engine/dp/B01MZD0HAR

Any suggestions for a different brand or a different oil from the same brand which is better than what i am currently using??

Last edited by hserus : 17th July 2020 at 13:48.
hserus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th July 2020, 15:01   #5504

No DPF. Stick to a regular 5w30 A5/B5, plenty of them at all budgets. eg Castrol Magnatec Stop/Start, Idemitsu, Valvoline All Climate Advanced ..
Dada, tried all. Nothing beats Amsoil though. I've used the Mobil1 to great effect hence asked. That gold can is a fantastic oil I ve to admit.
Old 17th July 2020, 15:34   #5505

Originally Posted by coolmel View Post
Dada, tried all. Nothing beats Amsoil though. I've used the Mobil1 to great effect hence asked. That gold can is a fantastic oil I ve to admit.
So you have Amsoil Signature Series which is a 5w30 A5/B5 feel free to buy that.

Due to the lockdown I'm not able to get it in Chennai so I just bought Maximile Feo for my Scorpio's upcoming oil change.