Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 14th May 2011, 13:06   #1

Booked Royal Enfield Classic 500 but need help whether should wait for carb

Hello friends. I have been member of teambhp for last 3 years but this my first post. Needed help on the Classic 500. I am a defence officer and have recently booked a classic 500 whose delivery is scheduled in June. The bike has been booked in Mumbai and would be using the same in Mumbai for one month. I wanted to ask whether should wait for the carb one and when it would be launched. Also in July am going to Jorhat, Assam for posting so what precautions should i take in maintaining of the same in Assam as rainy season would be commencing there. Reliable transportation guys who won't damage the beauty. Also mechanics or service centre i that area would be appreciated.

Waiting for an early reply.

Thank you.
Old 14th May 2011, 23:02   #2
BHPian

Re: Booked Royal Enfield Classic 500 but need help whether should wait for carb

i would suggest you go over ownership thread of the C500 by randhawa.
it should rest most of your doubts.
As for the carbed 500 there is no conformed news on that yet.
Old 15th May 2011, 09:18   #3
BHPian

Classic 500 will only be available with an EFI !! However there are distinct possibilities of Standard 500, Electra 500 and TBTS 500 with a carbed version. But the decision would really be of RE.........!!
Old 15th May 2011, 09:58   #4
Senior - BHPian

I think a carburetted CLASSIC will not be made, it would be a step backward, the EFI should do fine, its a modern machine.

Also, the best way to transport a BULLET from Mumbai to Jorhat is on the road, ride it mate!

Guess you will have to stick to the authorised centers for repair and servicing. Though I own a STANDARD 350 99 model and have tried most individual mechanics, I feel they fleece you a lot, mybest experiences were with authorised service centers.
Old 15th May 2011, 10:11   #5