Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st July 2011, 14:57   #1
BHPian

Buying a motorcycle that someone else had booked

I have been contemplating on buying a Royal Enfield Classic 350 for a couple of months. The biggest turn off was the booking/waiting period. The Booking Period about 6 months back was 6 months and now it is 10 months.

I had a word with a couple of BHPians, if someone could get me the bike without waiting period. Thanks to MileCruncher, I got an offer for a Royal Enfield Classic 350 for immediate sale and delivery. However, the whole thing has a catch in it. Totally confused about it as of now.

The Bike is in New Delhi with one of the RE Dealers & is available for immediate delivery within a day or two. The Bike would be sent via GATI Transport to be delivered in Hyderabad. All seems good till here. Post this is what bothers me the most.

1. Will the invoice be in my name or the person, who actually booked it?
2. The Bike will bear a DL T/R Number. Is it possible to register it here in Hyderabad?
3. What are all the hassles, I would have to face in case I get it delivered from Delhi and get it registered it here?
4. Do I have to pay Lifetime Tax and Road Tax of both the RTO's to get it registered?
5. What if I end up getting a Lemon, as I would not have scope for a proper PDI?
6. Will I be able to utilize their Authorised Service Centers here in Hyderabad to get the bike serviced/repaired?

In case I am missing something, please do offer your valuable inputs on those too.

On another though, I was thinking. If the person, who has booked the RE Classic 350 in Delhi isin't taking the delivery, then how come the RE Dealer in Delhi is promising me the bike? Would it be on my name or the person who has booked it?

RE Classic 350 in Hyderabad