Old 14th January 2017, 19:26   #691

Re: Motorcycle Tyres : Compared!

Originally Posted by Urban_Nomad View Post
Have only taken the bike off road once since I got the tyres. So far, I'm extremely impressed. These things are dynamite on gravel, hard pack and even manages sand ok

Got these tires fixed on my Duke and whole heartedly agree... its amazing offroad. However it sucks on wet roads, extremely skittish.

Motorcycle Tyres : Compared!-img_20170114_095802_hdr.jpg

Motorcycle Tyres : Compared!-img_20170114_104819.jpg
Venom_rider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2017, 01:28   #692

Originally Posted by Venom_rider View Post
However it sucks on wet roads, extremely skittish
Looking good there chief!

However, can't make from the pics but have you not raised the front fender? From the pics, it seems like the fender is literally sitting on the tyre. Get it done if you haven't already
Old 16th January 2017, 11:32   #693

Been using MRF Zapper series for years on my motorcycles. Recently, I switched to CEAT Secura Zoom F 90/90/17 as the front tyre for my ageing Pulsar 220 Dts-i. It does a good job at handling and also offers decent grip on the road. Tilting the motorcycle on either side while taking a turn feels a whole lot easier as compared to MRFs. It could be a placebo effect but it does seem to spring a refreshing new dynamic to my bike.

Will be parting with the motorcycle this year and the series of options have confused me, to say the least. Will surely be keeping an eye on various tyre manufacturers and offerings for improved stability and better ride quality.
Old 16th January 2017, 14:38   #694

Tyre upgrade for Duke 200:
Have installed Diablo Rosso II tyre for my Duke 200's rear, availability seems to be an issue with these tyres, but ride has completely transformed now! rear now rarely locks up(big issue with old MRF), grip level on poor roads too seems to be better than expected(was expecting very tarmac focused performance). Highly recommend to anyone who loves cornering.

Front was changed to zapper c1, one found on 2016 Duke 200.
Old 16th January 2017, 20:28   #695

Originally Posted by Urban_Nomad View Post
Looking good there chief!

However, can't make from the pics but have you not raised the front fender? From the pics, it seems like the fender is literally sitting on the tyre. Get it done if you haven't already
Yup, haven't done it yet!

The tires were installed just the night before the impromptu ride... I will be getting it done this weekend.
Old 21st January 2017, 09:31   #696

Guys, I'm almost due to change the rear tyre (would buy a pair if I get a good deal) for my Versys

Rear tyre life is about 2000kms max

Front tyre has decent life left and can probably last for another 5000-6000kms

Rear : 160/60/R17
Front : 120/70/R17

As always the big bikes come with weird sizes and getting a good tyre for a reasonable cost is very difficult

I was evaluating between Metzeler M5 vs. Pirelli Angel GT for the rear tyre

Online price is cheaper than what I enquired locally (Btw, Didnt know CEAT are the India distributors for both Metzelers and Pirelli and I'm talking to the regional head)

http://www.changemytyre.com/tyres/mo...pincode=500029

Metzeler is 11.2K and Angel GT is 12.2K

What are your observations/recommendations? Appreciate some inputs
Old 25th January 2017, 16:09   #697

I need Front: 120/70 R19 Rear: 170/60 R17 tire for my GS, any help/reference on getting this is very much appreciated.

-Pramod
Old 25th January 2017, 17:53   #698

TKC Tyres are with a friend

Three sets of new/unused TKC Tyres are there in the left over spares imported for Raid de Himalaya 2016 by some riders. Tyres are in Delhi.

Size - 110/80/19 & 150/70/17

These were intended to be used with Triumph Tigers they were riding = but as the Raid got suspended after day 2, these remained unused

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
r_nairtvm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2017, 18:24   #699

Originally Posted by r_nairtvm View Post

Size - 110/80/19 & 150/70/17

Best Regards & Ride Safe

Ram
Thanks Ram, BMW LC GS's comes with 120/70 R19 & 170/60 R17, I will check the suitability of 110/80/19 & 150/70/17 over the OEM specs and let you know.
TKC are knobies and offroad biased, right ?

-Pramod
Old 25th January 2017, 18:30   #700

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Guys, I'm almost due to change the rear tyre (would buy a pair if I get a good deal) for my Versys

Online price is cheaper than what I enquired locally

http://www.changemytyre.com/tyres/mo...pincode=500029

Metzeler is 11.2K and Angel GT is 12.2K

What are your observations/recommendations? Appreciate some inputs
Please make sure of the manufacturing date of the tyre if you're buying online. Many online dealers are cheaper but pass off tyres that are about 2 years old.
On the tyres itself Angel GTis a better all-rounder. The M5 is softer and grippier but life is less as compared to GT's.
viper_711 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th January 2017, 18:47   #701

Originally Posted by pramods View Post
TKC are knobies and offroad biased, right ?

-Pramod
Yes Pramod - offroad biased, as they were intended for Raid de Himalaya

Best Regards & Thanks

Ram
Old 27th January 2017, 13:12   #702

Ram, K60 Scout in right OEM size are available (thanks Haroon for the ref and connect ) from Mumbai. Nonetheless I hope Tiger rider might be mightily interested in these TKC.
-Pramod
Old 30th January 2017, 15:35   #703

Hi Everyone,

I ride a Bajaj Pulsar 220, my bike has crossed the 21k mark and is still running on the stock MRF's, the tires surprisingly have a lot of life left in them, but for the interest of safety I would like to change both tires preference towards tires that offer the maximum grip in both dry and wet conditions. I am not satisfied with the stock front tire, as a while ago I had met with an accident due to traction loss while braking hard. I dont mind up-sizing or paying considerably more as long as the tires grip well, tire life is not a concern as well. Kindly recommend tires that are currently available in the market.
Old 3rd February 2017, 22:47   #704

Hello BHPians.

I am thinking of replacing my Honda Activa (2006) model tyres both front and rear.
In this attempt, I happened to stumble upon two tyre models and now in confusion about which is the best wet surface gripper for city use among those two tyre options.
Sometimes during driving, when the tyres come on the white paint that divides the road in separate lanes, I feel that the vehicle wobbles or vibrates as if it is going to skid right now. Has anyone ever felt it? or am I the one who is feeling it. Any advises on this.

Tyre size required is 90/100- 10 53J for both front and rear.

Option-1: Michelin City Pro 90/100-10 53J Tubeless Motorcycle Tyre

Option-2: MRF NyloGrip FE 90/100-10 53J Tubeless Motorcycle Tyre

Experts and seniors, kindly guide me with the best.
Old 3rd February 2017, 23:51   #705

Originally Posted by akshayhonda View Post
O
The speed rating of the newly launched tyres is H (<210KPH) as compared to higher speed rating of the OEM fitted M5 on Duke/RC 390. Also the new tyres are are Made in China as compared to the Made in Germany for M5 Interact.
Quoting an old post:

These H rated Metzeler M5s became OEM for KTM 390s sometime in 2015/2016 (not sure exactly when). My May 2016 RC 390 came with H rated tyres.

Sagar Sheldekar of Powerdrift in his first ride review of 2017 RC 390 mentioned that the H rated M5s give up a little early when riding on the edge compared to the W rated ones.

Here are the prices on Amazon (all from the same seller),

M5 150/60 ZR17 66W: 10,750/-
M5 110/70 ZR17 54W: 8,200/-
Front + Rear for W rated M5s: ~19k

M5 150/60 R17 66H: 7,650/-
M5 110/70 R17 54H: 6,115/-
Front + Rear for H rated M5s: ~13.8k

Bajaj has done a good 5k+ worth of cost cutting there

Pirelli Diablo Rosso II:
150/60 R17 66H: 7,500/-
110/70 R17 54H: 5,817/-
Front + Rear for H rated Rosso IIs: ~13.4k

Anyone has a first hand experience with both Rosso IIs and H rated Metzeler M5s?

Last edited by theredliner : 3rd February 2017 at 23:52.
theredliner is offline   (1) Thanks