Old 10th April 2013, 13:22   #61

Re: Ninja 300R and 400R to be launched. EDIT: SCOOP Pics on Pg 2

Any news about the on road price of 300 here in bangalore.
That red one looks superb, i am really tempted to get one .

Schoudhury is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 13:34   #62

Originally Posted by Schoudhury View Post

No red colour available in India.
Old 10th April 2013, 13:43   #63

The new Ninja 300 should cost around 4.2L on road in Blore. If you do get around to buying it, i'm first in line for a ride please

However, only green and white will be sold in India (non abs variant).
n_aditya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 13:46   #64

Ninja 300 launched at 3.5 Lacs Ex-Showroom New Delhi

At an event in Pune, Bajaj Auto has launched their all new superbike, Kawasaki Ninja 300 for a base price of Rs 3.50 lakhs, (ex-showroom, New Delhi). The press-conference was hosted by Mr Rajiv Bajaj.

Powered by a 296cc oil cooled parallel twin engine, the Ninja 300 puts out a respectable 39 bhp and 27 Nm of torque (about 20% more than the Ninja 250R). The engine is connected to a 6-speed gearbox via a slipper clutch.

The long stroke 8-valve DOHC engine is fed via a dual-throttle body electronic fuel injection system. The semi double-cradle chassis made up of high tensile steel has main tubes that are 150% more rigid than the 250R and employs square beam swing arm.

Stopping power comes from a 290 mm petal disc up front and a 220 mm petal disc at the rear. However, the India spec motorcycle doesn’t offer ABS. The front suspension is a traditional telescopic fork while the rear suspension adopts a 5 way adjustable mono shock.

The 17″ 10 spoke alloy wheels are shod with 110/70 R-17 up front and 140/70 R-17 at the rear. The bike measures 2,015mm in length, 715 mm in width and 1,110 mm in height. The wheels are set apart by 1,405 mm.

The Ninja 300 sports an analog tachometer and a multifunctional digital display which incorporates speedometer, odometer, dual trip meters, fuel gauge, digital clock and the usual tell tale lights. There is an Economical riding indicator (ECO) which helps the rider to maximize the fuel economy.

The Ninja 300 tips the scale at 172 kg making it much heavier than the KTM Duke 390, one of its perceived rival in the Indian market. The fuel tank can hold 17 litres. The motorcycle is available in two color option – Pearl Stardust While and Lime Green.
Ninja 300R & 400R to be launched. EDIT: Ninja 300 Launched @ Rs.3.5L exshowroom Delhi-kawasakininja300launch.jpg  

Ninja 300R & 400R to be launched. EDIT: Ninja 300 Launched @ Rs.3.5L exshowroom Delhi-ninja-300.jpg  

Last edited by djay99 : 10th April 2013 at 13:49.
djay99 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 13:54   #65

Re: Ninja 300 launched at 3.5 Lacs Ex-Showroom New Delhi

It maybe a great performer, but as far as the looks are concerned, I didn't like it one bit! :(
Old 10th April 2013, 14:09   #66

Re: Ninja 300R & 400R to be launched. EDIT: Ninja 300 Launched @ Rs.3.5L exshowroom D

Supriyo, let me know if you are visiting the KTM outlet one of these weekends. Even I want to visit some outlet to get more details and possibly see the bike in flesh. We can go together.

Originally Posted by n_aditya View Post
The new Ninja 300 should cost around 4.2L on road in Blore. If you do get around to buying it, i'm first in line for a ride please

However, only green and white will be sold in India (non abs variant).
4.2L on road for a Ninja 300, and 5.8L for Ninja 650! Me thinks they should have priced it a little lesser and given more cost gap between the 300 and 650.

KTM showroom guys don't give out any test rides of the Ninjas. How do they expect us to book or buy the bike without first testing (and liking) it?? Aditya sir, could we get any help in this aspect??

Last edited by KarthikK : 10th April 2013 at 14:10.
Old 10th April 2013, 14:23   #67

Re: Ninja 300R & 400R to be launched. EDIT: Ninja 300 Launched @ Rs.3.5L exshowroom D

Originally Posted by KarthikK View Post
4.2L on road for a Ninja 300, and 5.8L for Ninja 650! Me thinks they should have priced it a little lesser and given more cost gap between the 300 and 650.
Apparently this question on pricing was raised at the launch and the response from Kawasaki was:

"Ninja is always seen and perceived as a high quality brand in the mind of the customer and it will always remain like that. So a cheap Ninja was never on our mind. Number is second, first priority is to make a good product"

Source.

And i agree on the quality aspect. After almost 3 years of owning my Ninja, i have absolutely nothing to complain about, even if i had to nitpick.

The price is high, yes, but quality does come at a price.

Comparing the 300 and 650 is normal (on the pricing front) but these are 2 very different segments.

If you're looking for a super comfy and economical tourer, then it's the 650.

The 300 is a track tool and of course, will perform brilliantly on the highways as well. It's a very good all rounder in terms of performance, handling and it's track capabilities, just like the earlier sibling, the 250R.

KTM showroom guys don't give out any test rides of the Ninjas. How do they expect us to book or buy the bike without first testing (and liking) it?? Aditya sir, could we get any help in this aspect??
They will have a test ride bike but not right away i guess.

When the 250R was launched, the test ride bike was available only after 8 months or a year IIRC.

If i manage to get around to taking the 300 for a spin, i will let you know
n_aditya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 14:31   #68

Does anybody have information on which tires are on Ninja 300 ?
Old 10th April 2013, 14:45   #69

The design looks like a bigger R15 from front and whats wrong with alloy design . Couldn't they come up with simple 5 spoke design ! . But 4.2 OTR is quite expensive , but for people who wants one ,nothing can stop .
Old 10th April 2013, 14:49   #70

Originally Posted by rk_sans View Post
Does anybody have information on which tires are on Ninja 300 ?
From the pics posted by djay99, it looks like the IRC Roadwinners to me.
Old 10th April 2013, 15:04   #71

Originally Posted by sameer kumar View Post
No red colour available in India.
The white one also looks nice.

If you do get around to buying it, i'm first in line for a ride please
Malik, even if i plan to book this baby, you will be the first one to be informed , obviously after home-ministry

Supriyo, let me know if you are visiting the KTM outlet one of these weekends. Even I want to visit some outlet to get more details and possibly see the bike in flesh. We can go together.
Ya man, lets go this sunday and check it out, what say ? Ya , but only if you don't have any 3M visit planned

Schoudhury is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 15:18   #72

From the pics posted by djay99, it looks like the IRC Roadwinners to me.
Both the front and rear specs matches the CBR250R, time to hunt for these tires. Finally some alternative for CBR from the regular Contigo, dunlop and Revz
Old 10th April 2013, 15:31   #73

Well well!!! INR 3.5L ex-showroom Delhi. So that means it'll be INR 3.7-3.8L here in Bangalore. The price is indeed a bummer. But i think it is justified - 20% more power than the 250 along with the additional features they've packed in.

I might probably be the last lucky customer to own the Ninja 250 when i bought it home last month and since then, many people have asked me as to why i did not wait for the 300.

Well, for one, when i first saw the pictures of the 300 on the net, i did not take a liking to the design. The 250 gave me an adrenaline rush when i first saw it and i was expecting the same from the 300. But it didn't. Yes,they've tried to emulate the bigger Ninjas, but in turn it has turned out like an overgrown R15 (not that the R15 looks bad,but a Ninja looking like an R15 is bad). I thought the design was a bit too fussy as if they've tried to do too many things at once (now,you might think i'm a hundred years old but i'm not.I'm still in my 20's).

Secondly, I was pretty sure that its gonna cost significantly more than the 250 which itself was overpriced (I bought it at the highest possible price for the 250 - INR 3.47L).

And, ECO mode on a 300cc,39bhp,27Nm,Parallel twin cylinder bike???Are you kidding me???

One thing for sure, as a product, it will be FANTASTIC.

PS: My comments are based on the pictures and the videos of the 300 i've seen online. It might look completely different and maybe gorgeous in the flesh!!!
Old 10th April 2013, 15:42   #74

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post
It might look completely different and maybe gorgeous in the flesh!!!
I love the alloy wheel design, the instrument console and the sporty rear tail piece (unlike the lengthy plastic mud flap on the outgoing 250R).
Old 10th April 2013, 16:17   #75

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
Expected. How much are the prices being quoted? Any web links where I can check these out?
Originally Posted by preetam_KORG View Post
-ditto-
I am interested as well. Could you please help us with some links Visaster?
Hi mates,
Sorry for the late reply.
One bike is my patient's and he is ready to let go of it for 2.3 I guess.

And the other bike is my yamaha mechanics friend who was ready for 2.1L.

Not online but in flesh.
If you need I could get you their phone numbers.
Visaster is offline   (1) Thanks