Old 29th December 2012, 03:24   #1

Harley-Davidson to produce an India-market bike for 2014 ?

Note from Mod: Please continue the discussion in this thread link

---------

Harley-Davidson Made-for-India model by 2014?

The Indian automotive site Zigwheels reports that Harley-Davidson plans to develop and produce a new model in India for the country's buyers.

The article says Harley-Davidson officials from US and India have been visiting Indian vendors with a goal to set up a manufacturing unit and a vendor base for a new line-up of Harley motorcycles that is likely to be introduced at the 2014 Auto Expo in New Delhi.

Developing a new cost-effective motorcycle for the Indian market can take a year or two. The new Harley-Davidson motorcycle is expected to feature a V-twin engine in the 400 cc to 500 cc bracket.

The motorcycle will be built exclusively for the Indian market, will be fully localized and will come with a price tag of Rs. 3.5 lakhs to take on entry level premium machines like the Kawasaki Ninja 250R, Hyosung GT250R and the upcoming KTM 390 Duke.

Link to the ZigWheels Report : http://www.zigwheels.com/news-featur...in-2014/14923/

Last edited by Rehaan : 10th January 2014 at 17:17. Reason: Adding closing note.
rubicon is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 31st December 2012, 12:04   #2

Re: Harley-Davidson to produce an India-market bike for 2014 ?

Heck, that's awesome news. Thanks for sharing.

HD has a huge fan following in India but their motorcycles are horrendously expensive and often WAYY out of budget for the average joe.

If they indeed get a fully localised bike for the Indian market, the segment is gonna heat up for sure. To succeed though,

1) They must price the product well
2) Not compromise on build quality, fit and finish (india spec products normally land up with shoddy fit and finish to cut costs)
3) Back up with good sales service and affordable parts.

If in case there's a concrete confirmation of this news, I might hang on and shelve my plans of booking a RE Classic 500 .

Last edited by ironshark : 31st December 2012 at 12:05.
ironshark is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st December 2012, 13:34   #3

That's good news!

RE will now feel the heat

Considering, the premium motor cycle brand that Harley already is, I don't think they would lower it's make quality for India.

Also, we can't expect them to price this alongside the RE because it IS a premium bike maker and would not want it's bikes to be so regular on the roads.

A$$ if improved, will definitely act as a plus for boosting sales in India.

Last edited by MetalBuff : 31st December 2012 at 13:35.
Old 31st December 2012, 18:21   #4

I can confirm that Harley is coming up with an Indian (designed for India and made in India completely) bike. Will be a 500cc and one with a smaller engine as well. Ex-showroom price will be about 3 lakhs.

Have seen the designs and drawings of the bike and it looks ok! Nothing great sadly.
Old 3rd November 2013, 22:48   #5

A Made In India Harley by 2014

Harley Davidson has been glowing, given the good and warm response it has received in the Indian market.

It has plans to market a "Made in India" cruiser model with local content. The 750cc, 53 bhp, 150 kmph top speed bike will boast of Indian contents.

More on this link:

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...ls-362738.aspx

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 3rd November 2013 at 22:51.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2013, 23:48   #6

Re: A Made In India Harley by 2014

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
Harley Davidson has been glowing, given the good and warm response it has received in the Indian market.

It has plans to market a "Made in India" cruiser model with local content. The 750cc, 53 bhp, 150 kmph top speed bike will boast of Indian contents.

More on this link:

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...ls-362738.aspx
Interesting news Anjaan! Thanks for the same. Couple of things that caught my attention

750cc - 50+ BHP.

The Iron is 883 cc - close to the same BHP.

Secondly -- I hope there is no compromise on the quality of parts (We know the KTM/Bajaj story - with some quality issues)
Shubz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2013, 10:34   #7

Seems like it's going to be 2 bikes, Street 500 & 750, which will be showcased @EICMA

http://www.motociclismo.it/scoop-har...quo-moto-56801

Link is Italian, so pasting the translated version.

Scoop! Harley-Davidson at EICMA with two new "small"

2014 is a crucial year in the long history of Harley-Davidson. After 110 years the U.S. House definitely change gear, opening the liquid cooling and electronics. All with the Project Rushmore , applied to the range Touring. But of all this we have already thoroughly discussed during the presentation in the U.S. and we also already tested the bike. Do you remember that these are rumors on the arrival of Harley-Davidson motorcycles with small engines and made ​​with great attention to savings in production and the purchase by the customer? Until now it was known that will come in 2014 and is manufactured by India , with a displacement of 500 cc. But now the news is that this bike will be presented at EICMA 2013 , c ome shows the photo you sent us a reader. Indeed, the image also gives us other important information: the bikes are two and have engines with different displacements, one is 500 cc and the other of 750 cc. Finally the name: they will call Street.

Since there are no other news (but look in gallery disguised prototypes), we have to postpone the speech just a few days. We'll know Tuesday morning (and if it was before?)
21Archer84 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th November 2013, 02:50   #8

Here you go.. The pics courtesy Overdrive.

OD Pics on FB

So is this the same bike that is rumored to be manufactured in India?

For those who cannot access FB at work, I'm attaching a pic.
Harley-Davidson to produce an India-market bike for 2014 ?-529485_10152015799294095_350472919_n.jpg  

Last edited by dreamseller : 5th November 2013 at 02:52.
dreamseller is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th November 2013, 03:15   #9

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further. We request you to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 5th November 2013 at 13:23.
Majumdarda is offline   Received Infraction
Old 5th November 2013, 07:16   #10

Originally Posted by dreamseller View Post
Here you go.. The pics courtesy Overdrive.

OD Pics on FB

So is this the same bike that is rumored to be manufactured in India?

For those who cannot access FB at work, I'm attaching a pic.
Looks beautiful except for the stupid headlamp design, which looks removable though.

But if 750 is making only approx 50 bhp, what are the specs for the 500?
Old 5th November 2013, 09:00   #11

Looks beautiful except for the stupid headlamp design, which looks removable though.

As per news floating in the net, 500 should deliver 40bhp of power and 45Nm of torque.
Old 5th November 2013, 10:41   #12

If its really priced below 4 lacs, many of us can bring home a harley and fulfill our motorcycling fantasies at half the cost of a new swift and without burning a hole in the pocket.

Looks like that green Ninja will have to wait.
microaubin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th November 2013, 11:45   #13

More pictures in following article.

http://indianautosblog.com/2013/11/h...evealed-102543
Old 5th November 2013, 12:54   #14

To give you a perspective, the Iron 883 makes about 47HP at the rear wheel. These are undersquare engines. Outright power is not their forte, torque is.

In any case, the Harley is more of a lifestyle brand than a motorcycle. And this model would make the marque more affordable to Indian motorcyclists.

P.S. Now to wait for a concrete launch from a certain British company.

Last edited by dreamseller : 5th November 2013 at 12:59.
dreamseller is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2013, 00:15   #15

This is great news for someone like me who just wants to own the Harley Davidson brand.

Frankly I have few expectations from the bike: lots of chrome, a HOG membership and that famous exhaust sound. I don't think I want to go above 60 kph and hence the 500 should do just fine.

Harley Davidson has just come up with a new showroom in Turbhe Navi Mumbai on Thane Belapur Road next to ibis hotel near the S.K. Wheels Maruti showroom. What timing!

I can finally see that Harley dream taking shape