Old 25th June 2013, 22:00   #46

re: The KTM Duke 390 Ownership Experience Thread

This seems to be a killer pricing for a bike rated @ 44 BHP with a body weight of 150 odd kilos. The pricing does make it even more attractive but somehow would have liked the bike to have slightly bigger petrol tank at around 14-16 liters. This would have made it a very good tourer but I think at this point in time an ideal traveller bike would still be the TBTS 500. For the rest KTM Duke 390 does seem to do a good job atleast on papers.

Couple of 200 Owners did mention of heating whilst crawling in city traffic (Bumper to Bumper) so need to see how the 390 would behave.

End of the day customer is getting spoilt for choices.
Old 25th June 2013, 22:17   #47

Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
Super awesome pricing. If there is one desi auto company that makes me proud, its Bajaj Auto. Kudos all around.
What do you say about your signature's first line. Does it apply in this case?
hellmet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 00:07   #48

For people looking for a tourer, I think the petrol tank capacity is not big enough.
11 liters, Hmm you anyway have to have at least a liter or so as reserve since this a fuel injected vehicle. If you really rip this bike on the highway, I guess you can expect 220- 250 Km range. Which is not good for tourer. If you ride sensibly you can mangage 300-340 Km. These are my guesstimate, lets wait for the real world range from fellow riders.

My CBR 250 gave 44Km/l(Over a distance of 460 Km, 90% highway, 10% Ghats) when I restricted my cruising speed to 80- 90 Kmph.
The worst mileage I got so far is 29 Km/l, when I really ripped it on the highway.
ecenandu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 00:20   #49

Note: Mods please delete/move if OT or inappropriate

The Duke 390 is 2.13 Lakhs OTR Bangalore.
If recent history is anything to go by, the Pulsar 375 that will follow in about 6 months, will be priced at least 30K cheaper than this and honestly I still think that is a very conservative thought.

That means, the Pulsar 375 ABS will overlap with the current Duke 200 and the CBR 250R. Also the Pulsar 375 will most definitely have a non-ABS version as well, the pricing of which might even overlap with the likes of the R15 and CBR 150R.

With rumours clearly stating that the Pulsar 375 will be a full faired motorcycle, it will be very interesting to see what part of the competition can match up to what Bajaj-KTM is offering.

Coming back to the Duke 390 pricing, I guess there isn't much to say in terms of what the turnaround is going to be. The traffic signals might as well be changed to Red-Amber-Orange!
preetam_KORG is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 00:49   #50

More updates from the event:

KTM brand targets 200 thousand motorcycles in the coming years (by FY 2020); 100 thousand KTMs will be produced from Chakan going forward considering this objective. This is to achieve the numero uno position as a motorcycle manufacturer.

More than 20-25k Dukes exported till now.

2000 KTM bikes exported / month produced in Chakan.

390 exports from Chakan have already made their way to Europe.

Rajiv Bajaj honestly mentions that he won't bring in the extreme KTMs in India, wants to focus on the evolving segment.

1290 Superduke-R will be a CBU.

Significant cost advantage in producing the bike here than in Austria. Major reason being the economies of scale shared by Bajaj's Pulsar range.

Last edited by parrys : 26th June 2013 at 00:53.
parrys is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 03:23   #51

It seems my pricing thoughts were bang on with minimal variance. Kudos Bajaj.
Quote from the earlier 390 thread
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...ml#post3102318

If I had factored in around 5-7k for better Metzeler tyres, I would have projected the exact ex-showroom absolutely bang-on.

Now when the 200 costs 4200 pounds in UK and the 390 4500 pounds i.e less than 10% over the 200; why is KTM India planning to charge a near 40 % over the 200 especially since over 80% of the bike is carried forward from the 200 + ABS

I understand they cannot charge 10% over the 200, but if they go ballistic like the rumored numbers, I am wondering how much premium margin they are planning to make from the 390.

Also since the 390 is slated to be launched in multiple countries, KTM must try to price the bike in lines in global strategies and proportional global price variances.

Technically the 390 should be in the range of 170k ex-showroom (133k for the 200 + 15k for ABS = 148k. Add 15% to this).
Old 26th June 2013, 07:20   #52

Originally Posted by hiren.mistry View Post
Well done Bajaj and KTM, brilliant pricing.
Will buy/book the day I come back.

Quite like the fly screen but what happened to the Akra exhaust that was seen in the posters stuck to the showroom glass?

Call me old school but quite like the sight of a meaty exhaust pipe as compared to the under belly ones. The wait begins ...
At 1.8L ex-showroom - with almost 300 PS/ton, standard ABS and grippy Metzelers- I'd take one even if it came in pink instead of orange.

Its got all the basics right- meaty exhausts can be imported later, and there should be multiple international vendors available online.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 09:47   #53

I d buy one just out of respect for Bajaj! No other automobile manufacturer in India listens and caters to the needs of enthusiasts like Bajaj does. Absolute killer stuff.
vroomsome is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 10:06   #54

Absolutely superb pricing. This not only makes many current bikes look expensive but also means even lower pricing (compared to Duke 390) for Pulsar 375.
I also wonder if resale prices of CBR250, Ninja 300 go down due to killer pricing of Duke 390.
Old 26th June 2013, 10:15   #55
SDP

Originally Posted by sukiwa View Post
I also wonder if resale prices of CBR250, Ninja 300 go down due to killer pricing of Duke 390.
That's a good point. I was thinking about the same. Even I do believe that resale values of many bikes would take massive hits.

I also believe that Duke200's sales would get canibalized.
Old 26th June 2013, 10:30   #56

At 1.8L ex-showroom - with almost 300 PS/ton, standard ABS and grippy Metzelers- I'd take one even if it came in pink instead of orange.
Ha ha ha.. Good one I am grinning ear to ear!

I am terribly excited about the pricing too. Hats off to Bajaj for setting the performance biking segment on fire.
Old 26th June 2013, 10:32   #57

Just out of the showroom after booking the bike. No. 7 in queue. Delivery in second week of July. On road price of 2.1 lakhs in Hyderabad

By the way they are saying the prices will shoot up by at least 40-50k in the next 3 months

Last edited by indian21r : 26th June 2013 at 10:35.
Old 26th June 2013, 10:46   #58

Was expecting a long queue when I visited KTM Indiranagar but that was not the case. They opened at 7am and they started accepting bookings on the dot at 8am. Not too many folks. I am number fourteen. The dealer name is Khivraj Motors. 30K booking amount which is fully refundable. No word on delivery. The usual 90 days. Being among the first to book the motor cyle, the bike may turn up a lot sooner is what I was told. No display motorcycle too. I tried sitting on the 200. The hard seat and pimple grips were the first thing that got my attention. I find the seating acceptable. It is just a matter of getting used to it. A word on the introductory pricing which is 2.12lac on road. This can increase and folks who have booked the motorcycle will also have to cough up the increased amount. This is clearly mentioned in writing on the application form. The application form says no cancellation charge in one paragraph and in another, mentions a Rs. 4000 cancellation charge. I have confirmed that this is a typo mistake.

Last edited by sandeepmohan : 26th June 2013 at 10:49.
sandeepmohan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th June 2013, 10:50   #59

I just got back from Indiranagar KTM. The bookings done. The agonizing wait begins. How many weeks before the first lot ships? There was a tbhp member with stickers on his black helmet. Hope we get the bikes soon man!
Old 26th June 2013, 11:01   #60

Originally Posted by imp! View Post
There was a tbhp member with stickers on his black helmet. Hope we get the bikes soon man!
That was me. When you see a fellow team bhpian; please say Hello :-). It is good to meet with the tribe once in a while.