Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th March 2010, 20:28   #1
BHPian

GPS Navigation for Bikes

Hi,

Any one using a GPS on your bike. Are Motorcycle mounts available in India. Need a GPS for long rides and rally so need a device that can last and is rugged. Garmin motorcycle devices seem to be very expencive are their any other options ?

Rajnish
Old 20th March 2010, 23:46   #2
BHPian

MapmyIndia TrailBlazer : First Bike GPS navigator in India| Loaded with all India maps

Check it out man. But I guess it is pretty expensive!!!
Old 21st March 2010, 06:34   #3
BHPian

I have been using a Garmin 76CSx for over 3 years now. Its an overkill for purely bike based navigation, but i use it for my forest work as well.

I have an excellent basemap covering over 400 towns and cities and can get turn by turn directions in the smallest of towns.

A basic Garmin GPS of the eTrex series is more than enough. if you are ok with a monochrome LCD you could get one for around 7k, perhaps even lesser.

For use as a touring navigator, the key really is to have a good basemap. That i cant discuss online! PM karo.

Last edited by COUGAR : 21st March 2010 at 06:36.
Old 28th June 2013, 10:07   #4
Senior - BHPian

GPS Navigator for Bikes launched by MapMyIndia

Quote:
The device has an 8.9-inch touch-screen and features such as music, pictures and movies. It is pre-loaded with a 'Don’t Panic' software which is a brand-new GPS interface by MapmyIndia.

Drawing charge directly from the bike's battery, the device comes with a special bike clamp mount to hold the gadget steadily against the handlebar. Riders or pillion riders within a range of 3 metres from the device can listen to the voice instructions via a Bluetooth headset.