Old 8th September 2014, 14:14   #76

Re: KTM RC390 - Launch in 2014

Booked the RC 390 yesterday. Manager confessed the alloys on the RC are going to be heavier thanks to all the complaints about them cracking at speed. He also said they are designed to crack so it does'nt send any violent shocks through to the rider but the Indian junta did'nt recieve it that well.

Personally I would have thought making it stronger (forging) as opposed to injecting more material into the cast would have seen more benefits than this route that KTM has taken (..or could it be the brains behind Bajaj)

He also confessed the rear-sets, pillion foot pegs and mounts will be steel items against the alloy ones found on the export versions (highly disappointing). But then I am praying the manager is wrong about this .

Word is on facebook that there are going to be 3 different versions of the RC 390 alone for their respective markets.
nitro.1000bhp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th September 2014, 19:59   #77

Originally Posted by nitro.1000bhp View Post
Booked the RC 390 yesterday. Manager confessed the alloys on the RC are going to be heavier thanks to all the complaints about them cracking at speed. He also said they are designed to crack so it does'nt send any violent shocks through to the rider but the Indian junta did'nt recieve it that well.

Personally I would have thought making it stronger (forging) as opposed to injecting more material into the cast would have seen more benefits than this route that KTM has taken (..or could it be the brains behind Bajaj)

He also confessed the rear-sets, pillion foot pegs and mounts will be steel items against the alloy ones found on the export versions (highly disappointing). But then I am praying the manager is wrong about this .

Word is on facebook that there are going to be 3 different versions of the RC 390 alone for their respective markets.
Let me be the first to wish you. Congratulations.

Do you have any pricing details along with the different versions of RC.

It might be good to know.

Kailash
Old 8th September 2014, 20:38   #78

Originally Posted by nitro.1000bhp View Post
He also said they are designed to crack so it does'nt send any violent shocks through to the rider but the Indian junta did'nt recieve it that well.
He should have known by now that the Indian biking crowd is not dumb like he thinks for someone to buy that lame excuse.

So according to his information, everytime the rim takes a heavy impact, it cracks and then needs to be replaced.
tharian is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th September 2014, 22:18   #79

Originally Posted by kailashnj View Post
Let me be the first to wish you. Congratulations.

Do you have any pricing details along with the different versions of RC.

It might be good to know.

Kailash
Thank you Kailash.

We'll get to know the on-road price only after tomorrow's launch I guess. Might be around 2.4-2.5 mark me thinks.

The versions I spoke about earlier were for the different regions the RC 390 is to be sold in. Think they are each tailor made for EU, Asia-pacific and India. This is the info displayed on RC 390 official page on facebook. Apparently the changes are in the gearing...the EU model will retain the duke's gearing and the asian model will get taller gearing which is what we too will get but with the heavier wheels I guess.

Old 9th September 2014, 10:25   #80

Here is the live streaming URL
blue_pulsar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 12:32   #81

Shocker of a Price for this from Bajaj.

KTM RC390 - Now Launched for Rs. 2.05 lakhs-ktm.jpg
.sushilkumar is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 12:34   #82

Originally Posted by .sushilkumar View Post
Shocker of a Price for this from Bajaj.

Attachment 1284969
Brilliant pricing! Now does that leave the CBR250R squirming?

-Shivang Gandotra
MetalBuff is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 12:36   #83

Excellent prices! This makes other bikes really way overpriced. KTM has always priced its bikes very well, and this is no exception.
ani_meher is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 12:58   #84

Originally Posted by MetalBuff View Post
.... Now does that leave the CBR250R squirming...
I doubt it. After the initial hooplah the CBR fever anyways sort of fizzled out. The R15s, CBR250s, Dukes keep selling side by side.

For a hardcore sports tourer RC200/RC390 will never make proper sense as it has a puny tank of 9.5L(correct me if am wrong here) and the seating position is quite agressive leading to back & wrist pain. CBR250 or the now-sensibly-priced Suzuki Inazuma would make much more sense to them.

What the RCs have done is opened a new segment of powerful single-cylinder sports bikes at affordable prices.

Kudos to bajaj for tapping the market-void(between R15 and Ninja250/300) brilliantly striking a perfect chord with us desi-riders. Now they are present everywhere.

<1L segment you have the Pulsars.
1L-2.5L segment you have the KTMs(Duke 200/390, RC 200/390).
2.5+ segment you have the awesome kwackers.

Basically be it any segment , a rider will have to pay a visit to the Bajaj showrooms

P.S : Only if they could change the awful auto-ish exhaust note on the dukes(specially at lower revs)
SoumenD is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 13:37   #85

Originally Posted by SoumenD View Post
I doubt it. After the initial hooplah the CBR fever anyways sort of fizzled out. The R15s, CBR250s, Dukes keep selling side by side.

For a hardcore sports tourer RC200/RC390 will never make proper sense as it has a puny tank of 9.5L(correct me if am wrong here) and the seating position is quite agressive leading to back & wrist pain. CBR250 or the now-sensibly-priced Suzuki Inazuma would make much more sense to them.

What the RCs have done is opened a new segment of powerful single-cylinder sports bikes at affordable prices.

Kudos to bajaj for tapping the market-void(between R15 and Ninja250/300) brilliantly striking a perfect chord with us desi-riders. Now they are present everywhere.

<1L segment you have the Pulsars.
1L-2.5L segment you have the KTMs(Duke 200/390, RC 200/390).
2.5+ segment you have the awesome kwackers.

Basically be it any segment , a rider will have to pay a visit to the Bajaj showrooms

P.S : Only if they could change the awful auto-ish exhaust note on the dukes(specially at lower revs)
Just to be clear, the RC 390 doesn't slot in between R15 and N300 at all. In all international markets, RC 390 competes bang on with N300. in many markets, it is priced/likely to be priced higher than N300. Just that since it is manufactured in India by Bajaj, the price at which it is offered is super.

Can I replace the handlebar with a less aggressive ones? Something like raised up clip-ons..I have back/neck pain which can aggravated by aggressive driving posture. But otherwise, I like everything about the bike.
Abhi_Automobile is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 13:39   #86

Re: KTM RC390 - Now Launched for Rs. 2.05 lakhs

This is really quite a shocker!

If the RC390 is priced at 2.05L ex-showroom, how much then is the Duke 390 priced at (ex showroom)?
Old 9th September 2014, 13:46   #87

Originally Posted by Abhi_Automobile View Post
Just to be clear, the RC 390 doesn't slot in between R15 and N300 at all. In all international markets, RC 390 competes bang on with N300. in many markets, it is priced/likely to be priced higher than N300. Just that since it is manufactured in India by Bajaj, the price at which it is offered is super...
With all due respect brother, probably you missed my point. Am talking about the indian market. Not international. And the gap I was talking about is the price gap. Atleast, I don't see a proper sports bike(track-oriented) available between R15 and N300 in India(or am I missing something here? ). Which I believe the RC twins will bridge in now.

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
If the RC390 is priced at 2.05L ex-showroom, how much then is the Duke 390 priced at (ex showroom)?
Around 1.85L ex showroom bangalore.

Last edited by SoumenD : 9th September 2014 at 13:47.
SoumenD is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 13:47   #88

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
I think the Duke 390 is around 1.86 lacs ex-showroom Delhi. That makes the RC 390 command a premium of 20k, which is in line with what the predictions were, prior to the launch.

Also, I remember my Hyderabad KTM salesman saying that some banks offer 100% loan on the On-Road price of premium bikes. Is this true? And is this applicable for the RC 390 as well?

Last edited by nishsingh : 9th September 2014 at 13:48. Reason: Grammar
nishsingh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 13:51   #89

Originally Posted by SoumenD View Post

Around 1.85L ex showroom bangalore.
So that is around 2.40l on road Bangalore for RC390.
A good price, especially when compared to the N300.
Old 9th September 2014, 14:38   #90

Originally Posted by nishsingh View Post
Also, I remember my Hyderabad KTM salesman saying that some banks offer 100% loan on the On-Road price of premium bikes. Is this true? And is this applicable for the RC 390 as well?
I dont think thats true of banks financing 100% OTR of a bike.

Industry norm is 80% maximum loan and 20% downpayment

But, if your a good customer or they know you well as someone having a good credit history they will extend to 90% but, that 10% you will still have to shell down

And, oh yeah thats indeed a shocking price for RC390......