Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 14th August 2015, 12:23   #16
Senior - BHPian

Re: Story of Almighty Bruce! My Royal Enfield Thunderbird 500

Quote:
Originally Posted by trumpet View Post
Hi guys,

My Bruce has completed 3888 kms. I know it's a little slow. I was wondering about the pros and cons of having a free flow exhaust. This is a EFI 500 - Marine Blue Thunderbird we're talking of here. I just wanted to take the group's view on such a mod.

Experts, please chip in.
VJ/Trumpet
trumpet mate I am no expert but still my two cents about free flow exhaust. First you need to question why do you need a free flow exhaust is it for the sound(which will end up being noise for others around) or power(very marginal and hard to notice) or performance(mileage might go down). If you do long highway rides often then believe me mate you don't want the loud free flow silencer to bang your ears constantly for those hundreds of kms. Besides this it will also be a nuisance to others and you might end up being caught by the traffic police for noise pollution as is been witnessed in Bangalore and Pune especially targeting RE owners. I have serious reservations about the power bump from a free flow silencer which is disguised by increased back pressure on the engine. I have heard from riders using free flow exhaust complaining about low mileage.