Old 6th April 2015, 20:42   #16

Originally Posted by barcalad View Post
Congratulations! The choice of colour is excellent and literally a breath of fresh air.

I hope you're breaking in the engine well and not getting carried away. (as most of us eventually do )

Be careful on the road and treat her with utmost care. Your parents have given you a fantastic possession. Do update us with what gear you purchase as well as the photos of the beautiful machine which you own.

Ride safe!
Thank You!
There were 2 option other than this colour. Red-Black and Army colour. Black has a charm in itself. It is indeed tough to maintain a black colour vehicle as scratches are distinctly visible on the black colour but I was ready to take it.

My Fazer will complete a year on 27th May 2015. I completed the run-in period within 25 days(without crossing the given limit even once) of buying the bike, although Ranchi is a small town.

I try my level best to keep her maintained and I do take care of her. And yes! It's my prizes possession.

Swapnil
Old 11th April 2015, 02:38   #17

Re: My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer

The mirrors were causing problems initially as Fazer has broad mirrors. And a Hero Honda Super Splendor being my ex-bike, this was a pretty big bike for me. Got used to the mirrors within few days and was running fine.
Stayed in the limit till the running-in of the engine completed. Completed the bike’s run-in within 25 days of buying it. Ranchi is a small town, it’s not easy to complete the run-in by riding in the city(even if you ride everyday). So, did few highway runs which included a small mini meet of two TBHPians and me(was not a member back then).

Some pictures-

A visit to Dhurwa Dam, outskirts of Ranchi.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140607_180142.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140607_182053.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140607_183603.jpg
Trip to Hirni Falls(80kms from Ranchi). BHPian Saket77's Honda Stunner and //M's Royal Enfield Desert Storm with my Fazer. The travelogue can be found here: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...ls-ranchi.html
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140615_103210.jpg
//M's RE Desert Storm and my Fazer with Team-BHP stickers.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140615_142215.jpg
Me, //M and Saket77 on our machines before leaving Hirni falls.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-hirni-fallsbike-trip-34.jpg--
A solo trip to Devri Mandir(58kms from Ranchi). Bike was on TEMP number then.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140602_174334.jpg
Finally, the magical figures. The run-in completed!
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140622_184248.jpg
My bike being serviced at AUTOWINGS Yamaha workshop.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140624_121422.jpg
After completing the run-in, Did a road trip with Saket77 to Mandarmani, West Bengal(418kms each side). Link to the travelogue- http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...-2-wheels.html

Got to know the capabilities of my bike during this Highway trip. On the way, found a road which was straight, view was clear and there were no pedestrians or animals around. Whacked open the throttle, the bike reaches 90-95km/h without any problem. But after that it feels like the bike is pushing itself forcibly further. Went till 118km/h and the bike felt totally under control. Soon came to the normal speed that I was doing earlier. After that, I cruised at 65-80km/h comfortably. Completed the 418kms journey easily with no issues.
NOTE: I was wearing my riding gears and checked out the surroundings before testing the top speed.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140705_110957.jpg
First time went out of state on my bike.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140705_111710.jpg
Through the greenery of Odisha.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140705_130709.jpg
On the beach.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140706_120015.jpg
After coming back from Mandarmani, I gave my bike for a thorough wash as I rode my bike on the Mandarmani beach.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140709_095004.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140709_095331.jpg
The right headlight one is for LOW beam and the left one is for HIGH beam. This is the default setting. However, I changed the setting while taking the delivery i.e both the Headlights would lit up when I switch on the light and both would work for low beam and high beam. Installed a pair of white bulb, but swapped them with stock soon as Saket77 said the white lights were causing problem for the oncoming vehicles. And also reverted them back to the default setting as the biker inside me started realising that High end bikes with two separate headlights have the same setting.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_20141215_113953.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_20141215_114010.jpg

I’m in Kolkata since the last 9 months now. And the bike has completed 10 and a half months. I’ve got to ride the bike properly for just 1 and a half months. My dad didn’t allow me to bring the bike here as he’s not confident about the traffic conditions here. Moreover, I’m staying here in a place where I don’t have parking. I’m somehow not willing to keep my bike under open sky.

Before leaving for Kolkata in July, I bought a cover for the bike. Bought for Rs400/- from a local shop. Serves my purpose well. Not totally satisfied with the material though.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140712_194422.jpg

I visit Ranchi every 3 months, so I ride my bike regularly during that time. In the mean time when I'm not there, dad rides my bike(twice or thrice a week). He went to the workshop for all the servicings till date except the first one as I was there in Ranchi during the first servicing. Dad doesn't have any problem while riding the bike and he could handle the bike well, he's completely satisfied by the YAMAHA. He boasts about the brand YAMAHA whenever he can. He still misses his RX100 and regrets selling it. My bike's running is extremely low but it isn't sitting idle too.

My Fazer with my Dad's HH Super Splendor(The front visor sticker was put up by me when I was 17).
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_20150308_174829.jpg
A short trip to Canary Hills, Hazaribagh(100kms from Ranchi) with Saket77 when I went Ranchi during my Durga Puja break.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_20141005_141605.jpg
In the Canary Hills, Full of greenery
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_20141005_152530.jpg

Some random speedometer clicks-

Yaaay! That's my birth date. it's on 11th June.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20140630_143500.jpg
And that's my bike's regd. number.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_20141222_170328.jpg

The bike has done 3214kms so far and I'm looking forward to clock more and more kms as time passes.

Last edited by Swapnil_Alto : 11th April 2015 at 03:00. Reason: Adding Details
Old 13th April 2015, 23:32   #18

Firstly, congratulations on that awesome ride. As Saket said too, the joy of owning your first set of wheels is very very special, and a very emotional moment too. Something that is as special to a petrolhead, as the first date to any other common man.
Good writeup, however I wish pics were a bit better, but never mind, that beauty on the two wheels makes up for it

Wish you many more miles with the Fazer
Old 14th April 2015, 21:51   #19

Originally Posted by RevvMusic View Post
Firstly, congratulations on that awesome ride. As Saket said too, the joy of owning your first set of wheels is very very special, and a very emotional moment too. Something that is as special to a petrolhead, as the first date to any other common man.
Good writeup, however I wish pics were a bit better, but never mind, that beauty on the two wheels makes up for it

Wish you many more miles with the Fazer
Thank you RevvMusic.
Actually, most of the pics are clicked from my phone and the pics don't come up well..

Swapnil
Old 17th May 2015, 21:47   #20

The service updates as promised. I know I've taken too much time to update this and my sincere apologies for it.

Fazer has completed 5 services till date but I only have record for the 4 servicings as the 5th one was done recently when I was not in Ranchi and Dad took the bike for servicing.

First Servicing(24 June 2014)-

KMs Done- 1014Kms
1.Chain Cleaner- Rs.45.45
2.Element Assembly, Oil Cleaner- Rs.36.36
3.Chain Lube- Rs.45.45
4.Fuse-Rs.9.09
5.Gasket- Rs.1.82
6.Clip- Rs.0.91
7.YAMALUBE 4T 20W-40 SL, 1L- Rs.309
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.493(Including Vat)

Second Servicing(05 September 2014)-

KMs Done-2185Kms
3.Chain Lube- Rs45.45
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.100(Including Vat)

Third Servicing(15 November 2014)-

KMs done- 2826Kms
2.Element Assembly, Oil Cleaner- Rs.38.10
3.Chain Lube- Rs.45.45
4.Gasket- Rs.3.81
5.Clip- Rs.2.86
6.YAMALUBE 4T 20W-40 SL, 1L- Rs.309.09
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.487(Including VAT)

Fourth Servicing(24 January 2015)-

Kms done- 3214
3.Chain Lube- Rs.45.45
3.Pin Cotter- Rs.4.76
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.105

Yes, this is a proud BHPian's bike.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20150306_172913.jpg
Old 17th May 2015, 22:20   #21

Originally Posted by Swapnil_Alto View Post
Thank you RevvMusic.
Actually, most of the pics are clicked from my phone and the pics don't come up well..

Swapnil

Now that you've got yourself a Galaxy S4, we can now expect better pics of your beauty

Originally Posted by Swapnil_Alto View Post
The service updates as promised. I know I've taken too much time to update this and my sincere apologies for it.

Fazer has completed 5 services till date but I only have record for the 4 servicings as the 5th one was done recently when I was not in Ranchi and Dad took the bike for servicing.

First Servicing(24 June 2014)-

KMs Done- 1014Kms
2.Element Assembly, Oil Cleaner- Rs.36.36
3.Chain Lube- Rs.45.45
4.Fuse-Rs.9.09
5.Gasket- Rs.1.82
6.Clip- Rs.0.91
7.YAMALUBE 4T 20W-40 SL, 1L- Rs.309
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.493(Including Vat)

Second Servicing(05 September 2014)-

KMs Done-2185Kms
3.Chain Lube- Rs45.45
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.100(Including Vat)

Third Servicing(15 November 2014)-

KMs done- 2826Kms
2.Element Assembly, Oil Cleaner- Rs.38.10
3.Chain Lube- Rs.45.45
4.Gasket- Rs.3.81
5.Clip- Rs.2.86
6.YAMALUBE 4T 20W-40 SL, 1L- Rs.309.09
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.487(Including VAT)

Fourth Servicing(24 January 2015)-

Kms done- 3214
3.Chain Lube- Rs.45.45
3.Pin Cotter- Rs.4.76
GRAND TOTAL- Rs.105

Yes, this is a proud BHPian's bike.
Attachment 1371561
That's one comprehensive record!! I also kept very detailed log of my bike's service history, but off-late haven't been able to do so due to load of higher studies.

Wish you many more happy miles with your Fazer!!
Leoshashi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2016, 00:27   #22

So, My Fazer has completed 2yrs recently and has nearly 6.5k kms on the ODO, and have christened my Fazer Eleanor. All the Free Services are over now and the bike is given for periodic services when needed. Initially we were following up the time schedule provided by Yamaha after the free services were over, but then Eleanor doesn't even run so much that it needs periodic servicings so frequently. As I stay in Kolkata and visit home every 3-4 months, my Dad uses the bike during my absence. But he hardly rides it for 6-7kms in a week or so. Everything's running fine and Eleanor has been a faithful companion till date. I've done few trips in this duration, went to Chaibasa(Jharkhand) and Bishnupur(West Bengal). Eleanor also has two new additions, hazard lights and HID(6000k). I'll let the pictures do the talking now.

Chaibasa Trip(140kms one side):

During July '15, me and bhpian Saket77 were planning for a short bike trip and initially thought to visit Mccluskieganj(Jharkhand) and we were almost ready to start the trip but then all of a sudden, Saket Bhaiya said- "Let's drop the Mccluskieganj plan and go to Chaibasa". And there we go, Chaibasa it was! En-route Chaibasa, there was a ghat section which had tight bends. Upon noticing the corners, didn't leave the chance of cornering . Eleanor was stable around the turns and not for once did I get nervous. Sometimes I did pull on the straight roads when there was minimal traffic and no pedestrians or animals around. And Eleanor pulled up brilliantly. The bike has a lot of potential within itself and I got to know about it even further when We reached Chaibasa and Saket Bhaiya's relative took us to a place named Lupungutu. It was kind of a hill and had certain amount of inclination, Eleanor didn't disappoint me for even once.

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20150712_141631.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20150712_174619.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20150712_181919.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20150713_060921.jpg

Bishnupur Trip(235kms one side):

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20151226_133746.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20151226_141115.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20151227_085909.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20151227_104539.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20151227_143221.jpg

HID(6000k):

Ordered an HID for Rs.900/- from Snapdeal and Installed it myself on the Low beam. Initially the beam was in such a setting, the low beam was too high and was surely a problem for the oncoming traffic. I adjusted the low beam to the lowest setting possible and it was good to go. The illumination is way better than the stock bulbs.

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_0351_2.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_0360_2.jpg

Hazrd lights:

Ordered a Hazard light switch from Aliexpress for Rs.130/- and got it installed by a local mechanic. To use the Hazard lights, I need to switch on the indicators(Right or Left) and then Switch on the Hazard light switch.

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_0351.jpg

Some random clicks:

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-img_0360.jpg

My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20151020_11553211.jpg

Your's Truly . And that's my '04 Alto christened Sylvester.
My first bike: The 2014 Yamaha Fazer-20150620_1553144.jpg
Swapnil_Alto is offline   (6) Thanks